lxi.

Re: The BIG Debate: Sedans v/s SUVs

One more like ,
Status Symbol.
And, available in a wide range also. (Hehe. I dont know whether it is a nice point.)
i mean, Within 10 L, We can get almost 5-10 Sedans choices.
But there are only 3-5 SUVs within 10L.

Driving in UP is really an issue but with upcoming highways its becoming easy now a days.

About sedans,they are the cars of we people,enough grunt to munch miles in no time,about safety,my view is just opposite to you buddy.
That's right buddy the highways are coming up nice, but people don't have driving sense. When i used to drive from Delhi to Moradabad. the highway is almost 4 lanes but i see trucks, taxi, tractor coming in the opposite direction.

And that path from Moradabad to Delhi is under construction for more than 10 years now. Last time i drove there it was still under construction but that was 4 years back. and after that i came to US, so i will be seeing that highway in October now almost after 4 years as i am coming home[:)]

And buddy i respect your views, but you can grunt miles in a SUV too and i feel more comfortable in a SUV rather than in a sedan on long drives. And i have seen some accidents and after that i always prefer a SUV bro.

As a matter of fact i used to drive a lot to Merrut to see my mosi and bua.

lxi.

That route to meerut is very bad. Full oftraffic after 5.30 and Its sure that you will hit someone 100% guarantee. I have gone 2 times and bumped other cars 2 times and once bumped by one car.
Have you also got hit by someone?

OT: Same pinch, My mosi also lives in meerut!

That route to meerut is very bad. Full oftraffic after 5.30 and Its sure that you will hit someone 100% guarantee. I have gone 2 times and bumped other cars 2 times and once bumped by one car.
Have you also got hit by someone?

OT: Same pinch, My mosi also lives in meerut!
luckily i have never been hit by anyone and neither i hit anybody though. [:)]

lxi.

I have hit a M800(He stopped immediately, Reason- For putting Seatbelt because of checking :lol!:) and a Pulsar(My fault, Misjudged the area of the car and took a tight right turn!). And I have been rear ended once by an indica (No fault of mine, The man hit the accelerator instead of brake:lol!:). Luckily, the man was very silly, I stood in front of him and showed some dolle sholle (Actually, I am not big! I am 5'7" and he was 5'4", I think), he was afraid and gave my Rs.2000 and I gave him 4-5 friendly gaalis and sent him on his way! Actually, The total damage repair came to be Rs.1500! Hehe.

One time i was going with my friend and we were in a Safari and a stupid guy in a verna over took us and then suddenly applied brakes[gun]. so my friend was driving the Safari, he slammed the brakes but since we were at 100 we couldn't stop and there was not much gap also. so our Safari hit the verna and verna went spining and hit the divider and stopped.

we both were so mad we came out and checked if everyone was okay. Once we confirmed they were ok my friend slapped the guy (one driving the verna). That stupid pushed his brakes instead of the accelerator .

and his car went spinning because as soon as our car hit the verna, the guy pushed the accelerator. I was like what the hell.

lxi.

Hehe.Very funny! :lol!:
When the guys needed to apply Accelerater, He applied brakes.
And when Brakes, The mad guy applied Accelerater!

Haha.

I know man. i went crazy when he was telling his story. I was like are you stupid or what. And i hope you know what you are saying dude[anger]

Thread Starter #144

Great debate going. As for me iam trying hard to convince my family for a suv or whatever people call it here , but my family is just about 4 people dad,me,wife and bro. I won't be doing any offroading , nor I have to visit any broken roads ,nor I have some luggage to carry but still I want a suv why ? Iam right now in bandra sipping coffee and just now 1 Audi a6 passed and a land rover free Lander now I asked myself in which I would love to sit and drive it was no doubt land rover . So sometimes it is also about a childhood dream ,something which you think will make you feel top of the world when you fullfill it. For me its is rangerover evoque for my wife it is jag xf .it is all about liking . Now i really won't mind people calling me a wannabe, goon, son of a politician my next car will be a safari,ecosport or duster for sure.and i don't care id it is muv,UV,suv,muplus or whatever.
I am a bug SUV fan but it's not that i don't like sedan's. But truly speaking you need to have a SUV if you driving in UP or near by.

And SUV gives you the "King of the Road" kinda feeling and i always find it safe than a sedan.
I agree. However, the Fortuner feels like a king travelling on the road.
All the posts above indicate one simple thing :-

Artificial creation of ' Big Image '. If you have already experienced good about what you are in reality, you will feel the same, be it SUV or bicycle.

If SUV or UV feels that you are BIG, it psychologically means that you crave for being big which you aren't in reality, hence the need to use SUVs.

It maybe for the above reason that many wannabe politicos drive SUVs so as to give them big feeling, while those who run the show from behind the scenes, prefer saloons.

Eg. Any head of state, big shot corporate baron will be found driving big cars; while 'Bahubali' netas will be driving around SUVs.

As said before, I never liked UVs....I mean its just a box on 4 wheels or a pick-up truck with roof.

The image of what has been mentioned above is created by car cos to attract buyers......Eg. "Make Your Own Road' (safari), ' Nothing Else Will Do ' (scorpio), ' Why buy a car when you can buy --------', ' World Is Mine ' (New Fortuner), 'Magnify The Adventure ' (Endy) & so on.

The worst part of SUVs is getting in & out is very bad. The new Fortuner is classic eg. of that. A lady wearing hill sandal is surely going to find it hard to climb down.[;)]

BTW, not a single SUV can beat the size, shape, performance, safety & looks of this :-

@S CLASS: So you think the beauties posted can travel on the grounds similar to the SUVs? Let it be any of it mentioned in this thread.

The big point here is not what you want to demonstrate to the world around but preference as well. If person A likes to go off roads more for pleasure than being chauffered along on e-way, he can not do without SUV and vice versa. Do you agree?

If SUV or UV feels that you are BIG, it psychologically means that you crave for being big which you aren't in reality, hence the need to use SUVs.
It is more to do with personal preferences which are derived by ones personality and nature than trying to show what one is or is not.

The worst part of SUVs is getting in & out is very bad. The new Fortuner is classic eg. of that. A lady wearing hill sandal is surely going to find it hard to climb down.
That surely is not the attire for UV's let it be LC Prado[;)] just to close in on the price range as it off course matters!

BTW, not a single SUV can beat the size, shape, performance, safety & looks of this
And surely these can not do any stuff on off road as any UV starting Bolero.

These are dream machines for all of us petrolheads, but only to be driven on the Autobahn's and Freeways!

And surely these can not do any stuff on off road as any UV starting Bolero.

These are dream machines for all of us petrolheads, but only to be driven on the Autobahn's and Freeways!
A picture of Luxury Car in one's mind is always a Sedan and not a SUV. People driving UV's may stare on a classic Sedan while those who are in a Sedan will even never look onto a UV. UV's are cheap looking when compared to equally or less priced Sedans. For me UV's are like a minibus or a rent car.

How said that buddy that a luxury car can only be a sedan. And i disagree with your statement that "a person driving a classic sedan will never look onto a SUV"

Well no matter what sedan you drive but if these Beasts cross you, they will definitely look at them.

All the posts above indicate one simple thing :-

Artificial creation of ' Big Image '. If you have already experienced good about what you are in reality, you will feel the same, be it SUV or bicycle.
It's has nothing to do with creating a false image, It's all about the personal preferences.

]It maybe for the above reason that many wannabe politicos drive SUVs so as to give them big feeling, while those who run the show from behind the scenes, prefer saloons.
They are already big and people know them, that's the reason they are politician. you and me can't just buy a SUV and become a politician. So they don't need a SUV to prove.

The reason is that during campaigns you have to go to places where i guess a 1 Crore sedan might not be able to go but a 8L SUV can do well there.

Eg. Any head of state, big shot corporate baron will be found driving big cars; while 'Bahubali' netas will be driving around SUVs.
But most of them are guarded by SUV's. Why??

As said before, I never liked UVs....I mean its just a box on 4 wheels or a pick-up truck with roof.
Sedans are also a box on 4 wheels.

The image of what has been mentioned above is created by car cos to attract buyers......Eg. "Make Your Own Road' (safari), ' Nothing Else Will Do ' (scorpio), ' Why buy a car when you can buy --------', ' World Is Mine ' (New Fortuner), 'Magnify The Adventure ' (Endy) & so on.
This is called Advertising bro.

BTW, not a single SUV can beat the size, shape, performance, safety & looks of this :-
tl2.jpg
And i guess no sedan can do this. but this very SUV can perform like a sedan on a straight road.

And i guess no sedan can give you comfort and space like this
Inter.jpg

No SUV can have this much of classic looks
Certainly not! As said earlier UV's are not meant to have classic looks.

There are these categories in the industry for some reason, isn't it!

If you expect the orange & apple taste the same and look the same why would there be two fruits in first place!!

The person who likes apple shall only eat apples or do whatever he feels like doing with it, why say oranges are not as good/bad as apples [;)] There is no point in the debate.

The topic of the thread should be "What do you prefer Sedan or SUV".

There is nothing common in these two segments, the requirements are different, the engineering is different and the behavior also.

If you would like to see what SUV's are capable of, just search "FJ Cruiser" on youtube and get overwhelmed by the capacity of this UV. I need not say anything about Sedans/saloons as you are in love with the beauties already [;)]

Am also a big fan of Sedans but my preference is UV's. I do not hate any car enough to say the least. Yes, my love for for cars/segments is not the same for all.

Requirements deal with the menu on plate, nothing else. If I am hungry I will opt for Apple if I am thirsty I will go for Orange juice [;)] As simple as that.

However, if someone ask what you love/like the most one need to answer very specific, that's about it! If someone says both, then he lacks decision making.