Replacement For 2012 VW Vento TDI

Check used CRV.
Anyways, have you TD WRV?
As an ex-owner of a CRV, I agree
Used ones are usually low run and shouldnt have any issues except low KMPL(5-7) and expensive tyres (one time change may be required for used ones), costs 60k

Thread Starter #154
Folks,I'm getting Vento HL TDI MT 110HP Dec 2016 one for Rs.12,80,000 from showroom after 10% discount.The colours available with him are Silk Blue,Toffee Brown and Silver colour.The present OTR is Rs.13,95,000 and after 10% discount,I'm getting it for Rs.12,80,000.

And,the same dealer is offering Rs.14,14,000 on Vento DSG TDI HL 2016 Dec one.These are available in stock as per the dealer and they are not TD vehicles.Might go for Vento only as dad is still hell bent on Vento again.

BTW,saw the W-RV at Honda dealer and it looks like a Jazz with increased GC.Rs.12L for this car is big no.Instead,we will go for Vento TDI Highline at Rs.12,80,000.Cars we are considering now is Vento TDI Highline,City VMT Diesel(as top end is 15L+) or VMT Petrol,Ciaz Alpha Diesel or Creta 1.4S+ or 1.6 SX.

Tough call , all 4 cars appeal to different kinds of people
Best to TD all and see
If petrol - City IVTEC and Vento
If diesel- Ciaz DDiS(Excellent for city runs and manageable on highway) , Creta CRDI (Easily the most refined of the lot) , Vento TDI (but clutch is hard and DSG is not reliable, turbo lag and poor low end but its mid range and top is strong!!) , City IDTEC (Good engine but lacks refinement compared to IVTEC)

Thread Starter #156
Back to square one.My dad has almost decided to buy Nexa Ciaz Alpha Diesel as it costs ₹12.5L and it has low maintenance and gives better FE compared to its rivals.But,I'm dead against Ciaz as I hate Marutis.But instead of calling it as a Maruti,I'll call Ciaz as a Nexa vehicle as the brand itself is premium.He is in the verge of booking the Ciaz only due to above factors but told him to look at Honda City once as its my dream vehicle since it's launch.I have a dream of having a Honda or Hyundai car in our garage but dad hates Hyundai(except Creta)due to personal reasons and Honda due to lack of availability of Petrol(now Diesel is available in Honda).Was considering Rapid once again but ₹16L for DSG Style is way overpriced.So,my dad's feeling was why not buy Ciaz by saving nearly ₹3L as it costs just about ₹12.5-13L on road and spend bit and buy Honda City VMT Diesel as it has features of VX and ZX except sunroof,6 airbags,leather seats and it costs ₹14L on road.

My reason for saying no to Ciaz is its a Maruti and all of my cousins and friends own Maruti vehicles like Swift,Alto,Dzire,Eritga,Brezza,Celerio,Ritz,WagonR and Nexa S-Cross.Almost all bought these except Baleno and Ignis as they are in Nexa.If we buy a Maruti vehicle,I'll be feeling cheaply as all of my dad's friends own Hyundais mostly.So,why not try something new like Hyundai or Honda instead of trying Maruti?The only Maruti(that too Nexa)which I like is S-Cross due to its build quality and avaiablility of 1600CC.While everyone in my dad's circle owns different branded vehicles but my dad still wants to buy a Maruti brand car,which looks like tin can.Even we owned different brands cars apart from Maruti like VW Vento,Ford Ikon,Toyota Qualis and now,we use Innova as our daily ride.Innova satisfies us due to its unmatchable comfort and space,reliability but being big became a problem for dad as he always feel tired while driving Innova in city traffic most of the time.So,we are in need for a second car now and it should be Sedan as per my mom as she doesn't want an SUV so that she could drive the car.

As a fellow Innova and City owner with similar scenario at home
Id say get the City IVTEC CVT , satisfies all your needs and will give peace of mind driving

Next best option is Creta Diesel AT, doesnt feel SUV-ish at all and my mom doesnt have any complaints after 2 TDs of the same whereas she hates our Innova steering and clutch

Ciaz AT isnt bad either btw, I wouldnt term Ciaz,S Cross as tin cans in the general sense, they are very well made cars and dont feel "Maruti" except in maintenance bills[lol]

@Musicswift,why are you hating Maruti blindly? And why do you think Ciaz built quality tin can? IIRC, CIAZ is built of boron steel.
I agree, Innova is pain in city, especially narrow lanes of Hyderabad. If that's your only grouse against Toyota, you can check used petrol Altis.

Thread Starter #159
Bharath Sir-I'm hating Maruti coz all of my cousins own the same branded cars.For my dad,it's an Indian brand and as per him,we should buy Indian branded vehicles only.So,thats the reason I wanted to stay away from Maruti.On Saturday,had checked Ciaz in Nexa Kalyani showroom and had seen the differences between old Ciaz and new Ciaz.New Ciaz felt better in terms of build quality.Thats the reason I had waited for Nexa Ciaz these days and another grouse for me with Ciaz is lack of highway performance as it's tuned for FE only.Said dad,why not spend another ₹50K and buy S-Cross Alpha as it has cruise control,auto HID's and better build than Ciaz.But,if it is S-Cross,I'll straightaway prefer 1.6 one only.

And,I had seen VW is offering Vento TSI HL for just ₹9.88L.Is it a good offer or go for Ciaz or S-Cross?

@Musicswift,why are you hating Maruti blindly?
+1

Bharath Sir-I'm hating Maruti coz all of my cousins own the same branded cars.For my dad,it's an Indian brand and as per him,we should buy Indian branded vehicles only.So,thats the reason I wanted to stay away from Maruti.
I agree with Tornado, there should be a substantial reason to not choose / own a particular brand. Your reason to be honest is not at all substantial. I think your dad is correct on his part since it will be mostly driven by him. Also, if you want to exclude Maruti Suzuki like me from the list, let me tell you, my observations, my experience with their ASC, the views of my family are very very different. My nature towards choosing a new car is very different than yours because of slightly high exposure to the cars buddy. I chose Tigor over others only because I wanted to invest my faith in TATA and understand as to why do people often criticize this brand even with a good product line up. Also, It is my personal decision to not opt for Maruti because I already owned it for 10.5 years and as of now, no engine of Maruti Suzuki is as abuse friendly as they use to be a decade back in cars like 1st Swift, Baleno Sedan, Esteem, SX4 etc. Just because there are Maruti vehicles in the family doesn't mean you can't buy it for yourself. You need to evaluate the product and brand as per your requirement. As your dad is inclined to buy Indian cars only, suggest him a TATA. I would love to suggest Mahindra but they do not have a sedan as of now and secondly you own an Innova.

On Saturday,had checked Ciaz in Nexa Kalyani showroom and had seen the differences between old Ciaz and new Ciaz.New Ciaz felt better in terms of build quality.Thats the reason I had waited for Nexa Ciaz these days and another grouse for me with Ciaz is lack of highway performance as it's tuned for FE only.Said dad,why not spend another ₹50K and buy S-Cross Alpha as it has cruise control,auto HID's and better build than Ciaz.But,if it is S-Cross,I'll straightaway prefer 1.6 one only.
If you aren't good with CIAZ, go for CITY I-Vtec. My biggest reason to reject the CIAZ was the owning of CITY. I have owned an SX4, Optra and Esteem but I liked only Ivtec CITY and Esteem's engine. SX4 drank too much fuel but was a great driving car with good road presence. As far as CIAZ's build quality is concerned, in general, except for the present crop like Brezza, S-Cross rest all have average built quality.

And,I had seen VW is offering Vento TSI HL for just ₹9.88L.Is it a good offer or go for Ciaz or S-Cross?
Yaar, in 2 years, even the story of Baahubali got concluded. Why Katappa killed Baahubali, that question is also answered but still bigger question than that, Why have you not Zeroed on a particular car still remains a mystery! Bigger mystery than, Why Katappa killed Baahubali!

Agreed bhai. I think thread should be closed until some serious decision is made. Suggested this earlier too.

Bharath Sir-I'm hating Maruti coz all of my cousins own the same branded cars.For my dad,it's an Indian brand and as per him,we should buy Indian branded vehicles only.So,thats the reason I wanted to stay away from Maruti.On Saturday,had checked Ciaz in Nexa Kalyani showroom and had seen the differences between old Ciaz and new Ciaz.New Ciaz felt better in terms of build quality.Thats the reason I had waited for Nexa Ciaz these days and another grouse for me with Ciaz is lack of highway performance as it's tuned for FE only.Said dad,why not spend another ₹50K and buy S-Cross Alpha as it has cruise control,auto HID's and better build than Ciaz.But,if it is S-Cross,I'll straightaway prefer 1.6 one only.

VW service and DSG/Mechatronic replacement costs are on expensive side. If you can bear the maintenance then Vento TSI is a superb car and perfect for hyderabad traffic. Instead of Ciaz, S-cross why don't you check out 2017 Dzire ZDI+ AMT. It has got good space, performance, features, Diesel automatic which is a total VFM in my opinion.

Ciaz and S Cross are a whole segment above the Dzire in terms of transmission(Ciaz AT) and 1.6 MJD in S Cross as well as legroom, build etc

That being said, Dzire AMT is perfectly alright but not at the level of S Cross and Ciaz

Thread Starter #165
Today,had a TD of Vento TDI DSG as the SP had come to the home and was thinking to buy that Demo car.But,after seeing the condition of the vehicle,decided to drop it due to the condition of the vehicle and he offered me Rs.13.3L on it and I got an offer of Rs.12.70L on Highline MT 110 BHP,which is very tempting and available in Silk Blue(Ameo colour).But,dad didn't get convinced with the colour and convincing him hard to buy this as this offer is tempting.