Renault Kwid Now Launched @ Rs.2.56 Lakh

Re: Renault Kwid Sub-4 Lakh Car Launching This Festive Season

The car is also displayed here in Chandigarh at Elante mall. Looks good in real and was generating a lot of crowd towards it. Price it aggressively and I'm sure Renault can get some serious numbers here. Sorry didn't click any pics as was in much of a hurry.

Is anyone getting any clues regarding the AMT launch schedule? Will it follow this year itself?

Also one question. I hope this isn't made on the datsun go platform or have the pathetic unstable structure like the go ?

Going by the size, expected price and weight; I am quite sure of very flimsy build. Hence I have my own set of doubts regarding the safety aspects in this car.

I too hope its not. But we need a crash testing to make sure it's not the same build quality. Every manufacturer assures their product has best safety at the time of launch and we see 0 rating for every hatch in India. So wait for a while, let the first surge of foot fall to showroom stop, so that we can have the reviews from owners. Also I think ncap might do a crash test for this car soon.

Friends, I believe if a video of KWID crash test can be uploaded, many things would become clear. It can provide a fair understanding at-least on it's strength.

Like all of you i too think it won't be having a good build quality. Let's wait for a video.

Going by the size, expected price and weight; I am quite sure of very flimsy build. Hence I have my own set of doubts regarding the safety aspects in this car.
Guys I dont understand this. Very few (if at all) India made cars of various manufacturers have even passed the NCAP tests whenever conducted. Even the much vaunted VW Polo had to revise its standard and provide dual airbags as standard. So how do you expect a Renault offering of around 3-4 lacs to be exceptionally sturdy/safe ?
It weighs 660 kg because in that category, Renault cannot sell a car that consumes 6 litres for 100 km , ie , 13-14 kmpl. That would be a disaster.
And we the consumers are to be blamed for this "Kitna Deti Hai" mindset. No one will post a single word of praise on this and other forums if Renault launches a sturdy, high quality build KWID weighing 1000 kgs, keeping a slightly uprated engine configuration, gives it 4 airbags and markets it as a true baby SUV with a price tag of 10 lacs+. People will look for the "VFM " TUV300 instead. Renault is simply catering to market sentiment.

Guys I dont understand this. Very few (if at all) India made cars of various manufacturers have even passed the NCAP tests whenever conducted. Even the much vaunted VW Polo had to revise its standard and provide dual airbags as standard. So how do you expect a Renault offering of around 3-4 lacs to be exceptionally sturdy/safe ?
It weighs 660 kg because in that category, Renault cannot sell a car that consumes 6 litres for 100 km , ie , 13-14 kmpl. That would be a disaster.
And we the consumers are to be blamed for this "Kitna Deti Hai" mindset. No one will post a single word of praise on this and other forums if Renault launches a sturdy, high quality build KWID weighing 1000 kgs, keeping a slightly uprated engine configuration, gives it 4 airbags and markets it as a true baby SUV with a price tag of 10 lacs . People will look for the "VFM " TUV300 instead. Renault is simply catering to market sentiment.
The problem is the weight of 660kg is lower than smallest car (nano). And the 3 bolt wheel nut instead of 4 in all cars makes us frightened. We all know its going to be launched in A segment in India with none having even a single star rating. Problem is whether this will be more flimsy built than nano and alto is my doubt. The looks are great and the mileage is also best in segment. If Renault can somehow prove the structure is stable,I can assure you kwid will be blockbuster hit eating the sales from A to B1 segments and first time in India will throw alto from the top.(and I personally wish someone to do this)

And we the consumers are to be blamed for this "Kitna Deti Hai" mindset. No one will post a single word of praise on this and other forums if Renault launches a sturdy, high quality build KWID weighing 1000 kgs, keeping a slightly uprated engine configuration, gives it 4 airbags and markets it as a true baby SUV with a price tag of 10 lacs+. People will look for the "VFM " TUV300 instead. Renault is simply catering to market sentiment.
It's a new product. The datsun was supposed to do good , look at it and i am sure the people will say this.

Datsun failed a crash test
- don't buy this tin can.

Alto failed the crash test
- no car in this segment have passed it.

Well this difference in attitude is because of the mindset of people for a product which is a top seller and another which will debut.

Renault knows the indian mentality , we like big looking cars and that's what they have done.
But for the sake of renault i hope it's not as bad as the datsun go.

I'm really waiting for the fight between Renault kwid and Tata kite. Both will have automatic transmission, segment first features like touch screen etc.. One thing is sure both are really competent cars and never can be compared to the vast popular alto. Beware Suzuki.

It's a new product. The datsun was supposed to do good , look at it and i am sure the people will say this.

Datsun failed a crash test
- don't buy this tin can.

Alto failed the crash test
- no car in this segment have passed it.

Well this difference in attitude is because of the mindset of people for a product which is a top seller and another which will debut.

Renault knows the indian mentality , we like big looking cars and that's what they have done.
But for the sake of renault i hope it's not as bad as the datsun go.
I really dont think Datsun is not selling because of its tin-can design. If that were so, it would not have recorded 1000+ sales. That means there are some buyers who see value in a Datsun each month. Its more to do with brand reach. Even Renault, with its slightly larger reach and brand awareness, will not be able to destabilize the Alto. What we may see is a cross-cannibalization between Alto, Eon and Datsun Go. Taking about 300-500 units from each, Kwid will sell about 2000-3000 per month at best.

The problem is the weight of 660kg is lower than smallest car (nano). And the 3 bolt wheel nut instead of 4 in all cars makes us frightened.
Its another reminder that cars from these segments are really not meant to be driven at high speeds of above 80 kph. I am absolutely flabbergasted when I see Altos and WRs darting about the expressway at over 100 kph.

Renault Kwid launch on September 24, 2015. Actually I'm waiting for the 1L engine launch with AMT transmission. Bring that asap Renault.