Renault Kwid Now Launched @ Rs.2.56 Lakh

TATA NANO seems little bit danger zone due to Renaul KWID price its almost just 60K price higher then nano and offering bang for bucks lets see how sales charge output will change

Re: Renault Kwid Sub-4 Lakh Car Launching This Festive Season

Hi Vishwas, In my conversation with Renault's personnel their, I asked about the query you had, I am informed that it is after alot of innovative thinking that Renault Kwid sports 3 nuts in wheel. I am told, F1 cars have 1 nut so accordingly, KWID has 3 and there won't be any issue while driving as with 3 nuts, the car has been extensively tested on various terrains.

Great coverage Akash! Having seen the vehicle in flesh, what is your initial impression about Kwid? How is the overall build quality? Since the car weighs 660kg, the sheet metal thickness will be the point of discussion. Your views are welcome here.

I am actually a bit disappointed with the Kwid.
No standard safety features, no power steering in mid variant, only one single wiper and whole lots of cost cutting, extremely light weight and average Renault A.S.S.
I don't think this will be a big hit to the Alto. The Kwid is priced in between Alto 800 and Eon 800. So there won't be a big threat to the Nano.

Buddies, May I have your kind ATTENTION[clap][clap][glasses]. Below are a couple of videos which I made at Renault Kwid's launch today.​

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0VgJqwqcGiw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uLtjTLUhPaA

The above videos are only for The Automotive India. Any Re-use of them needs full credit to TAI.

PS: Quoting post for reply

Having seen the vehicle in flesh, what is your initial impression about Kwid? How is the overall build quality? Since the car weighs 660kg, the sheet metal thickness will be the point of discussion. Your views are welcome here.
Well, being an entry level hatch, it stands above the entry level hatch backs of Maruti to be brutally honest. Be it Alto twins or to some extent even Wagon R, this Kwid stands as stiff competition on them. I can surely say, built is better than Maruti and doors are heavier than Maruti. Also, though I haven't experienced Eon but yet I will say, on the looks, Kwid scores more points than it.

My two bits: The nano will be hit hard-this is bigger,much bigger boot; looks better. the similarity to the Duster will win some buyers-then if cost of ownership is low as claimed-i feel this will do 5-6 K sales a month-mostly at the expense of the lower end Alto, the nano and a bit of the Eon.

Great Design and Obviously Great Pricing by Renault. Was expecting it to be around 3.5 - 5 lacs range but Renault surprises us with mind blowing prices of starting range which is just 2.57 lacs.

As far as competition is concerned, Young buyer who prefer to buy bikes in the range of 2 - 3 lacs like Honda CBR 250 / Kawasaki Ninja 350 / Hyosung may also give a thought.

Nano GenX is another beauty from TATA, i dont think it will get impacted much. Thanks to its sleek design, AMT option and compact size. It will still remain lovable through the masses especially women's and new learners. Its a perfect smart city car.

KWID looks like a mini compact SUV to me and more of a off roading vehicle and not Hatch. As rightly said by someone mini DUSTER. its gonna definitely attract many buyers considering to buy EON, Alto and even DATSUN go.

Also with launch of new FORD FIGO hatch with awesome pricing Renault should drop price of PULSE also.

Good luck Renault!!

Great pricing by Renault.It should bring more than 10000 to the Renault numbers.This 2-3 months has seen lot of new launches starting from 2.5 L to 13 lakhs.All this launches are very promising & will be interesting to see how they fare in the festive season

Car looks promising and looks are good in pictures.
Spot on pricing.

Everything seems to be right except the market mindset.

Not likely to bring large volumes.

It is very difficult to trespass the Maruti fort into Alto customers. Some sales diverted from Eon could form the base.

For new Figo, there is whole lot of IT brigade and others who powered the first Figo into places. That kind of support won't be there for this segment and positioning of Kwid.

Around 5000 to 6000 nos per month could be a reasonable target.

remember how ZEST has flopped [frustration]
Well not to mention about that Vaibhav. When I test drove the zest recently, I understood why it became a sales dud. The SA's be like they are not intersted in selling one. Also our people's mentality is like "Tata means cab.". Even many people in my office feels the same[frustration]. They don't care the features provided by zest.

Lets wait and watch what happens..

I find it surprising that people are suddenly concerned about the 660 kg weight of the Kwid, the thickness of body panels etc. I never saw such a concern when people happily go for cars like Swift, W-R, Grand I-10, even Honda City, vis-a-vis a Punto or a Linea or a Fiesta. Here, people are concerned about brand image, resale value etc.
Let us accept the product for what it is. There seem to be 1000 ways to save weight and deliver a working automobile for intents and purposes. Renault has adopted the 1001'st way also. Thats all. 99% of the public never care to understand those 1001 ways.

Saw the car at MGF mall gurgaon this weekend. Looks quite good in person and best in class. Finish and fit seemed ok but nothing amazing. They were not letting people in the car so couldn't get a good idea of spaciousness. Booking amount was 5000 refundable fully.

The Kwid hasn't reached the dealerships yet in Bangalore, got to know from through a friend that it will be coming here only in October. For the price it has been launched, expect the showrooms be flodded with many potential alto buyers.

With Kwid, Renault is all set to repeat the history of Duster. Our Indian manufacturers should seriously learn some lessons from their foreign competitors like Renault and Ford.