Renault Duster Now Launched at Rs.7.19 Lakh (Coverage – Pg.19)

Re: Renault Duster Now Launched at Rs.7.19 Lakh (Coverage – Pg.20)

@Ankx: Forget about Brazil mate,in India Ecosport has already created great market buzz(just like W201/XUV from Mahindra did).I think it will be a roaring success for Ford and it will make Duster lick the dust once it's officially launched here in India!

Let ford price them right first.
They have enough lessons of their own why a Figo worked and why a much better equipped fiesta did not.

Let ford price them right first.
They have enough lessons of their own why a Figo worked and why a much better equipped fiesta did not.
Even worse, why the wonderfully capable Fusion met it's fate. If Ford prices ES higher that base versions of Duster/Storme then it surely will fail. I would like to see ES in the territory of Ertiga and Quanto to be a hot seller.

freakdude.

Duster prices again under revision.[shock] Rumors are the prices have gone further up by Rs.30,000 for 2013 onwards manufactured models. Renault India is getting way too greedy on its only successful car here.[anger] On the flip side, it has given more room for Ford Ecosport to be priced lower than the Duster if at all the Guru's sitting in the Ford management are smart enough and don't blunder the prices of Ecosport as they did earlier with the Global Fiesta.

Duster Price

Hi All

Duster and Ecosport are two different and similar vehicle in terms of India.

ES pricing will be much more competative than Duster, due to the following reasons
1.) ES is under 4 mts in lenght and hence attracts lesser (12%) tax whereas Duster has to deal with 24% tax. A differenc of 12% is lot when you consider Base price of Around 7L which translate to net effect of around 90K.

2.) As per latest reports Ford is betting on high level of localisation of the components which agian will help Ford to keep prices in check from day 1.

In my view ford will keep the base petrol variant under 6L (introductory) and diesel under 7.5L ex showroom.

Note: Regarding the price revision of duster, they might reduce the prices. Just a mere speculation.

Hi All

Note: Regarding the price revision of duster, they might reduce the prices. Just a mere speculation.
Has a auto company in India ever reduced prices...I don't think so. Its going up, whatever may be the reason.

I guess you've forgotten what happened to the leader in sedans - The City. Also , the very same company Honda faced intense heat in the hatchback segment for Jazz and reduced, sorry, super slashed the priced.

freakdude.

Hi All

Duster and Ecosport are two different and similar vehicle in terms of India.

ES pricing will be much more competative than Duster, due to the following reasons
1.) ES is under 4 mts in lenght and hence attracts lesser (12%) tax whereas Duster has to deal with 24% tax. A differenc of 12% is lot when you consider Base price of Around 7L which translate to net effect of around 90K.

2.) As per latest reports Ford is betting on high level of localisation of the components which agian will help Ford to keep prices in check from day 1.

In my view ford will keep the base petrol variant under 6L (introductory) and diesel under 7.5L ex showroom.

I highly doubt they will be reducing the prices. My family is on a lookout for an SUV and we have considered the Storme and Duster. Had taken a test drive of both few days back. Yesterday the Renault SE called up and said prices of the Duster are being increased for 2013 manufactured cars by 2-2.5% across the range. Counts upto 25-30k for the top end variants. The Rxl(O) 85 variant which was initially priced for 9.99Lacs ex showroom is now gonna cost around approx 10.8Lacs ex showroom in a span of just 7 months.[frustration]

Regarding the prices of Ecosport, only time will tell if Ford management has learnt its lessons. Even i expect the base diesel to be priced below 7.5Lacs ex-showroom. If they can manage that, they sure do have a winner in their hands.

I guess you've forgotten what happened to the leader in sedans - The City. Also , the very same company Honda faced intense heat in the hatchback segment for Jazz and reduced, sorry, super slashed the priced.

freakdude.
Yes its true that Honda did slash the prices of City and Jazz and that too drastically. But it was done when both of them were not selling upto the levels which Honda had been doing initially. I remember City doing 4-5k sales monthly during 2009-2010. But when the dieselisation of the market started happening and with launches of the VW Vento and Fluidic Verna, the sales started slipping and went down below 1.5k mark and that's the time when they decided to cut the prices.
In this context, Renault are doing some really healthy numbers saleswise in regard to Duster clocking close to 4-5k sales monthly. With the launch of Ecosport,if these number do start slipping down,then Renault might think of slashing the prices, but not at present for sure.
Right now Duster is enjoying the early bird status in this particular segment and Renault is cashing big on that.

Guys renault is taking us for a ride and a royal one , even though I like the duster I feel its not worth spending so much money on it .

The Rxl(O) 85 variant which was initially priced for 9.99Lacs ex showroom is now gonna cost around approx 10.8Lacs ex showroom in a span of just 7 months
[surprise] Din Dahade loot machi hai (They are looting us in daylight). 10.8 Ex showroom for duster 85.

I would rather opt for Ertiga Zdi, which makes more sense overall and why not Scropio Sle or Storme LX. [;)]

Guys renault is taking us for a ride and a royal one , even though I like the duster I feel its not worth spending so much money on it .
+1 to that.

[surprise] Din Dahade loot machi hai (They are looting us in daylight). 10.8 Ex showroom for duster 85.

I would rather opt for Ertiga Zdi, which makes more sense overall and why not Scropio Sle or Storme LX. [;)]
Absolute daylight robbery. Yes although i liked the Duster overall, i guess i'll have to start looking seriously at other options too.

I mean, it is a good car, but not that good, where I will shell out 13Lacs OTR for 85 PS vehicle.

With such prices on duster, I will straight way go for storme lx.

Renault Duster Diesel Variants Become Pricier[anger]

The diesel variants have now become pricier by INR 20,000-50,000. The prices of the petrol variants have been left untouched owing to an already low demand of the petrol powered models.

2013 Renault Duster Diesel New Price List-

Variant Old Price New Price

RxE 85 INR 873,645 INR 902,490

RxL 85 INR 978,704 INR 1,007,549

RxL(O) 85 INR 1,083,763 INR 1,133,621

RxL 110 INR 1,083,763 INR 1,112,608

RxZ 110 INR 1,188,835 INR 1,207,161

RxZ(O) 110 INR 1,220,339 INR 1,259,692

At this rate Renault Duster will start competing with Fortuner in probably an year's time. Reanult is surely playing a dirty game in our market.