Renault Duster Now Launched at Rs.7.19 Lakh (Coverage – Pg.19)

Result Duster coming to dealers on 25th June 2012

I just got a call from Chandigarh Renault dealership and I asked them about the Duster. The executive told me that it will be available on display in showroom on 24th or 25th June 2012. [clap]

Seems the Renault is launching the Duster at the correct time. I just hope they get the pricing right!

Re: New Renault Duster To Hit Showrooms in June 2012

Over the next few weeks, Renault India dealers are expected to begin accepting bookings for the French automaker’s fourth and latest product in the Indian market, the Duster SUV. The Renault Duster SUV, whose launch is now imminent is a 5 seater, and was first displayed at the 2012 Indian Auto Expo. The 2012 Duster SUV, according to our sources will be available in both petrol as well as diesel guises. The diesel engined variant of the Duster SUV will feature the 1.5 Liter K9K turbo diesel engine, albeit in two state of tunes.

The 1.5 Liter K9K engine with the fixed geometry turbocharger will produce 85 Bhp of peak power and 200 Nm of peak torque while the more powerful variable geometry turbocharger equipped 1.5 Liter K9K unit will produce 110 Bhp of peak power and 240 Nm of peak torque. These engines are incidentally already available on two Renault-Nissan products in India, in the form of the Nissan Sunny and the Renault Fluence respectively. The petrol engine will be a four cylinder, 1.6 Liter unit good for generating 100 Bhp and 160 Nm. Both the petrol and diesel engines will be ,mated to a five speed manual gearbox.

Coming to the fuel economy of these engines, the diesels are expected to come with ARAI certified tags with 20.46 Kmpl and 19.01 Kmpl. The petrol engined Duster’s fuel economy though, is nothing to really harp about, with a figure of 13.24 Kmpl. The Duster SUV is expected to be available in front wheel drive and 4 wheel drive guises although it remains to be seen whether the petrol engined model will get a 4WD option considering the fact that the petrol engined will be positioned as an entry level model mainly to drive interest around this SUV than actually delivering majority of the volumes.

The 2012 Renault Duster SUV could be launched with two engines and 9 variants | IndianCarsBikes.in

Going by what Renault has done in India till date, everything may turn out to be a mere speculation till the time they actually launch the Duster. I just hope they don't do sometning stupid by pricing it over Rs. 8-9 lakhs.

pulse the top end model ends somewhere at around 7.50 so iam sure the duster will start over and above that iam taking here about Oil burner so in my view they will start around 8 well upto 10 ex showroom .

If its price more than Ertiga then it will be a no go for me, as ertiga becomes more vfm than this.

Re: Renault Duster To Hit Showrooms in June 2012

Guys, Much awaited first drive report is published in overdrive.

Here u go!!

Renault India is now ready to launch their first genuine volume product, the Duster SUV, in India. Driving it today in India, it came home to me how much the car has changed in the last two years since Bert and I drove it across Europe. As I wrote then, the car needed to come to India looking and feeling different to appeal to Indian sensibilities and I believe Renault has made critical but smart choices in the final specification of the SUV. Which in turn leads me to believe that the pricing will be great as well - good news if you are in the market for an entry-level SUV.

The car I drove was the top model with the 110PS 1.5-litre dCI diesel engine. Since I last drove it, Renault has made significant improvements to the overall refinement levels and the cabin is quieter, engine clatter at idle and noise at speed is well controlled. In its segment, this will be one of the quieter cabins. Driving at 130kmph on the European highways was a noisy, slightly strenuous affair on the part of the engine but at Renault's test track within the Oragadam plant (near Chennai) the car proved quiet. Also improved is the gearshift which still feels a little long in throw but shifts are neat and positive and an engine with a long spread of torque makes driving the Duster easy. We also got to experience for a short stint the 85PS version of the dCI engine which impressed with its spread of torque though the power deficit is immediately obvious. Being a monocoque the Duster also offered great ride and assured handling with just a little body roll, certainly head and shoulders above its ladder framed competition.

But like we noted in the European version back then, the interiors is where the Duster needed to focus and Renault have. The beige and black looks neat and you don't really mind the expanse of hard plastics. The music system looks smart and is integrated neatly into a flatter, smarter looking centre console. Below that are rotary dials for the aircon. Crucially, the power windows switches have moved to the door, a good move. The mirror adjustment remains just forward of the hand brake lever but once you know that is where it is, you don't mind it too much. The steering mounted audio controls, similarly, are placed in a Renault usual place, behind the steering wheel on the right. It takes a bit of getting used to but become second nature once you do. While fabric selection is good, the fabric inserts in the door pad mouldings etc are welcome, the really neat touch is the rear seat aircon, which connects to the extra large compressor under the hood but the actual cooling unit is mounted between the front seats and the air that comes out of the single vent (controlled by a knob right below the vent) is instantly cold, a good call.

The Duster was always a spacious vehicle and this attribute remains. It looks squat and muscular outside and seats four in great comfort while a fifth passenger will be easily accommodated.

Renault will announce prices shortly and will have a series of variants. The variant trims are divided into three levels. The petrol and the 85PS diesel will get the base and intermediate (the latter gets an option pack to extend equipment) while the top diesel will get the intermediate and top trims with a still further extension pack also going to be on offer. Renault is expected to price the Duster close to the Scorpio and at those prices, this will be serious competition. If the Duster clicks, and we believe it will, it will establish Renault as a player in the volume end of the SUV market. Hell, they might even be able to say a few years down the line, done and Duster.

Source link:

Renault Duster first drive - Overdrive

5 variants for the Duster coming.
3 in petrol and 2 in Diesel.
85 BHP Diesel would be about 9 ex showroom and the 110 would be about 10 lacs. And this is for the 4 X 2. The 4 X 4 would be launched at a later date.
Hoping that he safety features are common on all variants.

Doc

Launch Date is 4 July = Hormazd Sorabjee ‏
ACI review - http://www.autocarindia.com/Review/305530,renault-duster-review-test-drive.aspx

Our Duster review has created quite a (dust?) storm! Lots of you asking about launch date. Can confirm its July 4th. http://ow.ly/bFLWH

Renault Duster Diesel – RxE, Rxl, RxZ variants (RxL will be available in both 85PS and 110PS versions)

Displacement – 1,461cc

Power – 85PS @ 3,750 RPM on RxE and RxL; 110PS @ 3,900 RPM on RxL & RxZ

Torque – 200Nm @ 1,900 RPM on RxE and RxL; 248Nm @ 2,250 RPM on RxL & RxZ

Transmission – 5-speed manual for the 85PS variants and 6-speed manual for the 110PS variants

Fuel efficiency 20.46kpl for the 85PS variants and 19.01kpl for the 110PS variants

Renault Duster Petrol – RxE and RxL variants

Displacement – 1,598cc

Power – 102PS @ 5,850 RPM

Torque – 145Nm @ 3,750 RPM

Transmission – 5-speed manual

Fuel efficiency – 13.24 kpl

Source: Renault Duster to be launched in RxE, RxL & RxZ trims

Look's like Scorpio will have a tough time from now on,and I hope TATA's better price their upcoming Storme sensibly.

Renault please get it right this time. Don't go the Fulence/Pulse/Koleos way. You have a winner in your hands provided you price it right.

Price the Duster right and I will buy one. :please: