Powered By M-Hawk: Mahindra Scorpio SLE. 7 Years and 118,000+ Kms

Thread Starter #181
Re: Powered By M-Hawk: Mahindra Scorpio SLE. 6 Years and 88,000+ Kms

Update : [ If of any use to anyone at all ]
ODO: 99,200 km

Back home after another major trip yesterday covering 2000+ km.
Palakkad- Bangalore- Hyderabad and back. Returned home via Mysore/Bandipur. Was badly needing a break from the 4-Laned roads, hence the Bandipur route. [:)]

The Scorp performed at its best with no glitches but a couple of sore points:
  • A flying stone from a Truck hit left bottom of the front windshield = An immediate crack that slowly expanded to about 15 cm long over time until it settled visibly. Drove about 1000 km after the incident though. The cost of windshield replacement should be around Rs.12,000 at the A.S.S, but will not hurry if the crack doesn’t expand anymore. If needed a replacement, I am thinking of making an insurance claim. Currently I do enjoy the NCB and it was just in the last month I paid the insurance premium. Suggestions are appreciated.
  • Left rear Yoko doesn’t seem to hold air. Will take it out to check for any puncture @Track, my tyre expert this afternoon.

DSC_3099.jpg

Thread Starter #183

if your ncb is more than 15k, it's better to pay up in cash.
Currently I get a 50 % NCB, since I haven't made any claim, which is transferable to a new car to get a nearly 50 % discount on the insurance premium then.

I called up Windsheild Experts @ Coimbatore who quoted a much less amount for the windshield replacement = Rs.8,6xx. These convince me to pay up from my pocket this time around.

Hi manoj, Yes in your case I guess paying from your pocket makes sense rather than going in for insurance claim especially since you can get it done from outside of ASS. Even my Swift has a small crack in the windshield courtesy of a flying stone from a truck. It is quite small and have been driving for the last 1 year with it without it becoming bigger. Since yours is SLE model you can easily get it done from other sources as it does not have sensors. When I casually enquired some time back, I was informed that if I were to get my windshield replaced, I will have to get the sensors replaced as well thereby forcing anyone who is owning a VLX model to get it done through ASS only.

Thread Starter #185

Since yours is SLE model you can easily get it done from other sources as it does not have sensors. When I casually enquired some time back, I was informed that if I were to get my windshield replaced, I will have to get the sensors replaced as well thereby forcing anyone who is owning a VLX model to get it done through ASS only.
It was not for the cost alone that I preferred "Windshield Experts", but for the overall better quality work when it comes to anything related to windshield. They have the same OE windshield and they do also have the one with sensor for your VLX in case.

I left their place, after having the windshield replaced, exactly after 3 hrs I arrived there. Approximately 1 hour for the work + 2 hour for the glue to settle.

Also got a pair of Bosch wiper blades fitted.
Total damage: Rs. 9220

Thread Starter #186
10,0000 km update

Oops !

I wanted to take an image with 100000 km on the odometer. Missed it and now it reads 100230 km.

100000 km update !

Not that it was a bullet-proof ownership but loved every bit of maintaining, driving and owning this beast. In this six years of running, ‘Scorp’ did face a failed slave [Clutch] cylinder and a radiator fan with no prior warning. But the very supportive customer care base stood by, whenever it mattered the most.

This vehicle is built to last. The integrity of the entire body shell/cage, the sheet metal used, the quality of paint and the quality of materials used in general for the premium it commanded is definitely worth a praise.

Earlier ‘Scorp’ did face some trouble with the functioning/malfunctioning of it’s ABS which gave it some headache but eventually resolved thanks to a great gesture by Mahindra who replaced the entire ABS control module free of cost, even when the vehicle was out of the warranty period. Though ABS kicked in many a times whenever required, it was a couple of days back the ABS sign showed up once again after two years or so. But then yesterday it didn’t show up though I was driving the whole day.

‘Scorp’ remains underused for most part of the year in my absence. It’s only around 3 months/year it gets used. Even then, it goes on and on cruising @ 120 km/hr the whole day with no glitches, rattles or niggles every single time its out on long drives/trips. [thumbsup]

Though 6 years is unbelievable for me, achieving a 10,0000 km milestone is an exciting moment indeed.

I feel “Scorp” is in for a longer haul [:)]

DSC_3093.jpg

Thread Starter #187
Re: Powered By M-Hawk: Mahindra Scorpio SLE. 6 Years and 1,00,000+ Kms,

Update: Interesting !!!
Odo: 102500 km

Almost 3 months of some exercise for ‘Scorp’ is coming to an end shortly, with me flying out in a couple of days.

• Covered approximately 14,000 kms during this period.
  • Highest FE returned : 13.2 kmpL
  • Good average FE around 11.5-12.0 kmpL
  • Number of break-downs: 3

1+2/3 :Engine overheat issue –Twice
Firstly identified [ at A.S.C] as a failed viscous fan which was replaced with ‘Scorp’ spending 2 days at an A.S.C. The engine overheat warning sign showed up again when a similar [ to the first incident] situation was duplicated. Wrote to Mahindra CC, following that the vehicle was picked up for a thorough inspection, for which ‘Scorp’ had to spend another 3 days at the A.S.C. A very co-operative team @Eram motors, Trissur had their inspection done and dropped the vehicle back home. They changed one of the slightly leaking/ sweating hoses, cleaned the temperature reading sensor, inspected associated electrical components. The issue seemed to have settled for time being, as I had done a couple of trips duplicating similar driving conditions= hot day + AC + stop/Go traffic for an hour or so. Earlier, I wasn’t happy since their exercise of changing the Viscous fan [ first time around] to address the overheat issue didn’t prove right and I expressed my displeasure while communicating with Mahindra.

3/3 :Clutch failure:
Happened yesterday, due to a failed sleeve cylinder, as told at the A.S.C. A second one of this sort, the first time being some years back as posted by me earlier.
It was yesterday I was driving to Velankanni via Bodi and Theni. On the Theni Ghat, the clutch pedal hesitated to return after having it depressed twice. Knew it straight away, hence drove in just 2nd Gear to safety and it was easy in the early morning. Near Theni city, tried changing gears and found things normal, but found some oil mark under the Gearbox. Decided to get it checked at the Mahindra A.S.C which was about 4 kms from there before proceeding any further. Drove in to Hotel Western Ghats for an early breakfast thinking of taking it to the A.S.C by 9.00 am. But at the parking area of the restaurant, the clutch failed completely. Customer care/Mahindra got the vehicle towed to the A.S.C after coordinating with the Theni dealership. I was lucky that it happened near a place which is not so remote with an available A.S.C in the vicinity.

In an hour and half, the vehicle reached A.S.C. The technician and SM arrived by 10.30 and changed the sleeve cylinder after opening the Gearbox. The vehicle was ready by 1.30 pm after having the sleeve cylinder replaced and brake oil topped up. I thought that was quick.
Meanwhile a Lady called up from Mahindra if I needed any more help. Earlier I had written an email to CC/Mahindra and Regional CC Manager /Kochi, narrating the entire episode of the fate of my “Scorp” considering the way the vehicle gets inspected/Serviced on a regular basis at Mahindra A.S.Cs as part of my “Preventive Maintenance”. I am yet to get a reply this time around.

Sleeve cylinder + I L oil = Rs. 3845
Labour : 3319 which includes the towing charge around RS.350, I guess.
Total damage: Rs. 7164

Maintaining a Mahindra isn’t getting any cheap. Isn’t it ? Especially that Labour charge.[:)]
We reached home safely this morning and I do feel for my “Scorp” and family for the troubles experienced off-late.

Wow
Mannoj thats some rough adventure you had.

I don't know if its a design fault, but my Tunderbolt XUV also suffered a sudden clutch failure (same issue as yours) at 40k Kms. Although everything was covered in warranty, it wasted our day and spoiled the Pilgrimage.

I've also written many emails to them Including all india CSC head, However their replies are not concrete. Just apologies and general stuff.

Thread Starter #189

Wow
Mannoj thats some rough adventure you had.

I don't know if its a design fault, but my Tunderbolt XUV also suffered a sudden clutch failure (same issue as yours) at 40k Kms. Although everything was covered in warranty, it wasted our day and spoiled the Pilgrimage.

I've also written many emails to them Including all india CSC head, However their replies are not concrete. Just apologies and general .
AFAIK, this sudden failure of "sleeve cylinder"= clutch mechanism is common amongst mhawks. The trouble is worsened due to the fact that this part is placed inside the gearbox assembly. While a skilled technician can do it in about 2-3 hours, most of the time it can take much more. Unavailability of the part = more delay.

In my case, luckly they did have the specific part in stock and it happened near a township.Shudder to think this happening on stretches like after Dhule on NH 3 in dark with your family on board.

Thread Starter #190

ODO: 103xxx km

The Scorp got back to his usual self once again and covered another 1000 odd kilometers after the clutch failure. Smooth and strong.[thumbsup]

It was “Onam” season and I spent most of the days at home with parents before taking off for another few months away from them and Scorp. [:)]

_DSC4850.jpg

wonderful journey with your scorpio so far.

6 years and a lac kms, isnt it time to look for an update?[;)]

Thread Starter #192

wonderful journey with your scorpio so far.

6 years and a lac kms, isnt it time to look for an update?
You have the answer in your post itself.[;)]

Barring those couple of odd incidents, my “Scorp” feels, looks drives like new, even better than some newer TD vehicles/SUVs that I drove in the recent past. As of now, Scorp stays. [:)]

Missing this home of mine these days [:)]
DSC_2592.jpg

Thread Starter #193

Update:
By July this year, 'Scorp' will be 7 years old, on paper [:)]
  • Did 1 Lakh km
  • Got a new battery
  • Got a set of 4 Michelin ATX2 in place of my Yokos
  • An ABS sensor was replaced under warranty
  • The clutch slave cylinder replaced recently was found leaking = replaced it with a new one under warranty

Further update:

Covered some 1500 ood km after the major service. Typing this from Hyderabad.
The ‘Scorp’ seem back to its very best. The Michelins are definitely silent and when driven at 110-119 kmph, I simply don’t hear anything including that from under the hood except for that additive soft whistle, beyond 120 kmph the engine starts to become audible but I hardly push beyond that.[thumbswink]

A recent DIY job before my Hyderabad trip here:

Thread Starter #194

ODO: 108xxx km
Issues since the recent service: NONE

The vehicle drives absolutely immaculately. Back in town from Hyderabad. Steering is effortless and the ride and handling seem to be at its very best, thanks to the new Michelins and the 1 lakh service. The FE has definitely improved further, didn’t calculate it though.

Spending more time with a new member in the family - my little baby angel- these days, hence no long drives or birding trips planned.:)
_DSC9430-4.jpg