Following are some of the promising features in Micra:

m1.jpg

m2.jpg

m3.jpg

Here comes the Spec & features:

m4.jpg

m5.jpg

I would have preferred ABS+EBD+BA in XL instead of that single airbag!

@350Z- Great detailed report. Nissan Micra looks promising entrant to me. Lets see how it performs which can experienced only after a td.

I can't really see the point in the Micra. It is not that competitively priced, has all the stand-out features only on the top end variant (which will easily cross the Rs.6 lakh barrier on-road) and has nothing really to set it apart from its much stronger competitiors. I mean, who will chuck the established, trusty, fun Swift (or for that matter any other Suzuki) for a car which hasn't even hit the road yet and is sold by a handful of dealers all across the nation! Think of just one dealer in a crucial metropolis like Mumbai and you will get my point. And Nissan's ownership costs are unchartered territory still, so for me, the Micra is just going to do what it is supposed to do- Be a niche car for the domestic market, and focus more on the export markets.

Thread Starter #217

I’m not too happy with the pricing either. Rs.3.5 Lakhs Ex showroom would have better worked. It is not as competitive as Figo, whose base currently costs merely 3.8 Lakhs On Road, Delhi. Rather it is going to Punto category and I don’t see a reason why would one prefer opting for the hatch which looks tiny and comes at a price, Well but then, Maybe it is some of those first in class features which have forced Nissan to push the price upwards. Anyways, Let us sit back on those sofas and watch the game of new entrant in the hatchback segment called “Micra”.

+1 to you, If base model with single airbag comes for 3.99 Lakh then how come top model is 1.3 lac more, it does not have even Alloys, audio controls on steering, bluetooth connectivity among others. I think its little too expensive.

I can't really see the point in the Micra. It is not that competitively priced, has all the stand-out features only on the top end variant (which will easily cross the Rs.6 lakh barrier on-road) and has nothing really to set it apart from its much stronger competitiors. I mean, who will chuck the established, trusty, fun Swift (or for that matter any other Suzuki) for a car which hasn't even hit the road yet and is sold by a handful of dealers all across the nation! Think of just one dealer in a crucial metropolis like Mumbai and you will get my point. And Nissan's ownership costs are unchartered territory still, so for me, the Micra is just going to do what it is supposed to do- Be a niche car for the domestic market, and focus more on the export markets.
Exactly.Nissan has got it completely wrong as pricing is concerned. Though they tried to differentiate the product by giving some unique features like Start/ Stop button, automatic folding OVRM, superb keyless entry feature, ACC but all these features come in the top most variant. These features are good to have but in my opinion they are no way DEAL MAKERS. 6+ (OTR)...it cannot be justified in any sense.

The other variants (even the lower one) have driver airbag & tilt steering. Good feature but again 20-30K more pricey.

+1 to that. I don't think Micra can compete with Maruti Swift at any day. What Micra missed here an opportunity to give sleepless nights to Figo & Beat if it was priced completely.

Even they should have launched Micra Diesel as they already have proven Logan engine. They should have cashed on it. So they missed another opportunity here. I am sure they must have a valid reason here.

I am not sure how they are going to keep the price tag of Diesel version. The petrol version is already priced higher to the liking of the mass.

Thread Starter #221

Even they should have launched Micra Diesel as they already have proven Logan engine. They should have cashed on it. So they missed another opportunity here. I am sure they must have a valid reason here.
Nissan Micra with diesel engine will probably come by September this year.

Exactly.Nissan has got it completely wrong as pricing is concerned. Though they tried to differentiate the product by giving some unique features like Start/ Stop button, automatic folding OVRM, superb keyless entry feature, ACC but all these features come in the top most variant. These features are good to have but in my opinion they are no way DEAL MAKERS. 6+ (OTR)...it cannot be justified in any sense.

The other variants (even the lower one) have driver airbag & tilt steering. Good feature but again 20-30K more pricey.
That Engine Start button looks cool, but I will not pay an extra Rs.1.3 lakh for what is essentially a stupid little plastic button which starts an engine which honestly, is not the most powerful in its class. Yes, the driver airbag in the base variant is a nice touch, but apart from that, the Micra doesn't really look appealing. At least not to me. I will not risk horrendous aftersales and ridiculously high priced spare parts for one airbag! Better invest some more and buy a Figo Titanium!

Nissan Micra with diesel engine will probably come by September this year.

Thats nice but they already had a proven engine and they can afford to launch both the variants toghether. This will give them a chance to fight with Figo TDCi . My point was that if they have launched the Diesel version at now only then they might get more customers. Going by the pricing of petrol hatch the response seems to be lack lustre.

That Engine Start button looks cool, but I will not pay an extra Rs.1.3 lakh for what is essentially a stupid little plastic button which starts an engine which honestly, is not the most powerful in its class. Yes, the driver airbag in the base variant is a nice touch, but apart from that, the Micra doesn't really look appealing. At least not to me. I will not risk horrendous aftersales and ridiculously high priced spare parts for one airbag! Better invest some more and buy a Figo Titanium!
+1 to that. I also think on the above lines. Differentiation is always welcome but the question is at what price ? Still want to see the car in flesh to pass the judgement on the looks front. Pictures are deceptive sometime.