New White Ritz VDi ABS - My Pegasus

Hello Folks,

Backgroud: Since past 2 years i had this thing to buy a brand new spanky car, though was more of a biker and still feel nothing beats the adrenaline levels that one gets on cornering a bike. But after getting married and inevitable social life needed a car more as a requirement than a luxury.

I am a guy who believes in simple equation Spend 50% of what you earn and save 50% whatsoever and this equation really always keeps me happy. But on the flip side in early days made me compromise on spendings per se on choosing a new car.

Due to my budget constraints i couldn't afford anything but Good old Alto and Alto K10 (Could stretch a little for A-Star). Back then in 2011 didn't really wanted to get into Loan/EMI's and saved enough cash. And went to Autofin (Bowenpally, Medchal Highway) and gave more than a couple of looks for all the 3 cars and finally settled for the Alto K10 sun light copper. Paid a booking amount and left. But unfortunately, due to financial crisis in the family had to cancel the booking in the short period and had to put the money for a better use.

What else, my dream for a new car was short lived but never really felt bad about it. May be because i never really was interested back then and Biker in me really never let me get to the other side of the world.

Fast Forward : Happily Married for over 2.5 year now [surprise] and been blessed with a wonderful little devil. Oh Boy and the CAR thing again started to sting. Did lot of research and asked for advises and finally settled down on Indica Vista VX. Due to a job change had to put the idea aside. A few months later a friend of mine bought a Pre - Owned Skoda Octavia Elegance. I Know my head is kinda Unstable or what? When i got in it, Wow why not a pre-owned car?

Started all kind of Research on Pre-owned cars. To be specific on Octavia and read about the Tank Like Build qulity and those interiors spoilt me (He bought it for 3 Lakhs-single owner). But also heard about the reliability issues with spares and their over the head expensive prices. Still decided to live with it and started searching for Pre-Owned Octavia just about anywhere. Hyderabad is filled with them. Finally shortlisted couple of them in good condition and as alternatives shortlisted 2 Punto Emotion & Emotion packs as well. Armed with cash was about to leave the house and then the whole drama started with my parents and better half. After a long brain wash, that's it dropped my decision.

** I know this has been a long story and too much of state of confusion in mind. But that's just me.

And the next day, My wife sat back with me and she started convincing me to go for a new car if i am spending 3-3.5 lakhs on a decade old car. She gave me a proper understanding of benefits of owning a new car, peace of mind that it accompanies and finally the Budget (She's from Accounting Background). Once in a lifetime had to agree with her.

The calculations were perfectly matching with my PRIME equations to happiness. If i had to opt for a Loan apart from Downpayment. The EMI's and my monthly inevitable expenses were together within 50% mark. So i gave it a go. Everyone were happy with the decision.

My Wife's Brother entered the scene started suggesting all Mid-Sized cars from Skoda Rapid, Fiat Linea to Ford Ecosport. But i didn't wanted to spend big on my first car and wanted to settle for a small - practical hatch. TIP : Never reveal to anyone how much you earn/save, this makes them influence you to go for unwanted luxuries.

Choosing/Shortlisting the Car Now :

1. Needed a Practical Hatch.

2. ABS is a must. Can live without Air Bags.

3. Should be easy on the pockets in the longer runs as i am not going to sell it.

4. Proven Engine and has to be Diesel. Economy on the Radar.

5. Easy drivability, my wife will be using it too.

6. After Sales Service is the name of the game.

Most of my requirements pulled me towards Maruti. You can say a typical Indian, well may be i am in a way.

Again, been to Autofin. This time decided to be in my limits and to gain control over my head checked nothing else but SWIFT and RITZ. I did not like the seating position in the swift and it supposedly was not a liker for my wife for the same reason. Then tried RITZ , the airy cabin and SUV like seating position made our decision easier. The pricing difference was not justified between Swift and Ritz to me.

Now, we compared the ZDi and VDi variants. Although ZDi was a wise choice. We did not like the types of Music player, speakers, Alloys and so on that were offered in ZDi variant. But we wanted ABS at any cost. So we finalized on RITZ VDI ABS, So that we can customize the rest to our taste later. Mom gave an option to either Choose Red/White. [evil] I wanted to mess around in the near future with the looks and felt white will be the best in Ritz for such mayhem. White it is.

Booking/Payment/Delivery:

Paid Booking amount of 5,000 INR and booked Ritz VDI ABS. Insisted the sales person that i needed just the most recent manufactured vehicle possible. Got a call next day with the information & VIN of a white VDI ABS model. They received the stock on same day. Got the VIN # checked and verified it to be JULY 2013 Manufactured. Went to the stockyard and re-verified the VIN# on the car and was genuine.

Armed with the PDI Checklist, saw the vehicle in raw again the ODO meter was at 9.0 KMS and continued with the inspection. Was totally immaculate. Gave the sales person a go and finally agreed on the vehicle. Got the loan approved from Axis Bank, have a salary account with them and got it approved quickly.

Below are the OTR price Break up:

Ex-Showroom : 611,385
Life-Tax : 73,370
Insurance : 18,799
Perm Reg : 2,750
Facility chrgs : 3,950
Autocard chrg: 337
Temp Reg : 250
--------------------------------
OTR : 710,841
4th Yr Warranty: 8,230
Altogether : 719,071
Discount : 25,000 (Cash Discount)
TOTAL : 694,071

No Corporate discount from Autofin. This was strange as i work for a Public listed company in India and NASDAQ listed in USA. But Maruti has their own database that showed my company name but no discount in their discount column. Didn't bother much.

Accessories offered by Autofin: Matting, Mud Flaps, Car Perfume, Ganesha Idol, Car Cover, Tissue Box. (tried for Under body rust coat with no luck).

TIP : get hold of sales guy's at the month ending. They have targets and this is when they really are desperate to get the process done swiftly.

Paid Down payment of 3.0 Lakhs and got the rest 4.0 Lakhs from Axis Bank @ 10.50% (Fixed) interest rate. Monthly EMI about 8523 INR. 0% Pre-closure charges after 18 Months and 2 Part Payments allowed every year. 5 Years Loan tenure. 1 Advance EMI.

I feel have had a good Deal in terms of loan with Axis Bank.

Over all Dealer experience was very good. No Delays, No Drama. Pleasant and polite staff. Delivery was within 4 days from booking. RAKESH from Autofin was very helpful from start till the delivery - a very good chap. Gave him a Parker Vector Metalix as a small gift and couple of hundreds for cleaning guys and they took a snap of the cap with me and my better half and gave it to us framed. Said thanks to everyone and left the dealer showroom with all the papers in hand.

ICE : Within an hour delivery. Reached Minister road. Road beside Bowl-O-China begumpet opposite to Ford. Been to Car Fashions (Known to my cousin) an Ex-Serviceman run shop. This guy is very polite contrary to most of these shop owners. Got a quick quote for Front Component, Rear Co-Axial speakers and Head Unit and bargained hard and got the best out of him along with Door Guards (i-PoP), USB Phone car charger, Bumper front and back beadings, Car perfume, Central/Remote Lock.

Total Damages ~ 23,000.

Front Components : JBL CS-6C (wanted GTO 609C, But weren't available)
Rear Co-Axials: Infinity Harmans 9603is (Wanted JBL GTO 949's but felt Infinity as better)
Head Unit : Pioneer 759BT (was fixed onto this Due to Bluetooth capabilities and iPhone Compatibility. Never fancied touch screens so this was the best for me).
Remote Locking : Crosslink wheels.

And Oh Boy! the Quality of the Music was awesome. I am more than satisfied at the ICE Setup i choose. Did my research before choosing this setup and it didn't go to waste. Will added Amp when i feel i need more out of it.

What's left for now: Alloy Wheels, Parking Sensors, Leather seats with steering cover.

I have Bridgestone's so for now not going change its shoes.

Been too late to take some snaps and was really tired. But will get those today and post the same.

Tried to be as detailed as possible, Mods & Members please excuse my mistakes if there are any as this is the first time i am posting a ownership review and all your advices as whole heartedly welcome.
Hi levronstyle212.. Firstly Congratulations for your Ritz.. a complete detailed review. ritz is vfm car. i too personally like ritz rather than the swift. It looks awesome if you paint the door handles & ORVM in white.. post few more pics

Thread Starter #47
Hello Friends,

Hope everyone's having a safe ride..!

Just wanted to share my experience with Pegasus in the past couple of weeks and need some suggestions too.

Looks : Well Day by Day i started to like the looks of the car. Even the Back [;)] . And White always keeps its classy and always it had the sporty DNA in the looks department at least for me.

Paint & Plastics : I know Maruti Used Dupont - Standox Paint, which i believe is a great product. But it depends on how many coats they use it on each car. And i can bet the paint quality is a bit below standards on Ritz at least another coat would made it look far better. Again that's my opinion.

Plastics quality is utterly ridiculous. And didn't expect them to be this bad. My 10 Month's old son managed to create 2-3 deep scratched on left side passenger door panel with bare hands. And i could find similar but less dramatic lines all over at the bottom line of Dashboard and Rear seat passenger foot level area's. May be i have to choose and use Armorall products to keep the Interior plastics safer till some extent.

Ride Quality : Most of the time it feels "ok". But on some roads (Highways) i could feel even the smallest of uneven surfaces (I have Bridgestone's). Couldn't conclude if it has something to do with the Stock suspension or the Air Pressure in the tyres or something else.

Engine & Performance: Still in the Run-in. First service is due in a week. I am treating her sensually. No High speeds, No rash driving or anything that would affect the engine or makes it stressful. But i feel the Engine Noise is a tad higher and i can hear it filtering into the cabin at times. And when we get out of the vehicle its like an Old Jeep [No offence to Jeep lovers]. Is it like this with all Ritz models? So far no complains about the Performance though 1st Gear it practically useless. Breaking for me definitely is Good.

Fuel Economy: As per the MID i am constantly getting 17.5 KMPL Average . No complaints on that part.

* Not uploading any pic's as there are no changes externally/internally till date.

Suggestions Needed:

1. I pulled out the Engine oil Stick just to check the Oil level's as i suspected it may be the reason for the Engine sound being High. Viscosity is good but couldn't justify the oil level's as i could feel the oil only at the bottom (3-5 centimetres) dipped in oil. Is this the level of Oil normally? And can any Ritz owners suggest how the engine sound will be reduced or is this normal before 1st Service.

2. My Gear Lever feels Notchy at times. Is this because the rubbers inside need to settled down in the new car? or has it to be rectified in the 1st service?

3. Anyone tried Armorall Interior Protection products before? Any Feedbacks.

4. Should the engine oil be changed at 1st service? Though the manual do not indicate doing so, just worried about the Engine.

5. Washing the vehicle. Any products you suggest to keep this Whitey clean.

Thanks..! Will update the thread with some pictures after 1st service with pictures and upgrades.

Ride Quality : Most of the time it feels "ok". But on some roads (Highways) i could feel even the smallest of uneven surfaces (I have Bridgestone's). Couldn't conclude if it has something to do with the Stock suspension or the Air Pressure in the tyres or something else.
Do check the tyre pressures if you havnt done so after taking delivery.The showroom people recieve cars at over 40psi from the factory and they never bother to correct it before delivery.

My Gear Lever feels Notchy at times. Is this because the rubbers inside need to settled down in the new car? or has it to be rectified in the 1st service?
A known problem in ritz.Learn to live with it.Be extra careful while engaging reverse so that you dont half-slot it.

. Should the engine oil be changed at 1st service? Though the manual do not indicate doing so, just worried about the Engine.
Was thinking of doing the same in my car but finally decided against it.It seemed bit of an overkill.
Also do remember since ddis uses synthetic we are taliking about an expenditure of 3k , i guess.

Washing the vehicle. Any products you suggest to keep this Whitey clean.
Well IMO basics are-
1 jopasu duster -500/-
2 A good car shampoo-300/-
3 A waterless wash with sprayer such as ONR-700/-
4 a good wax/sealant like collinite 845 - 1200 /-
5 some MF cloths -300/-

And an hour every week.

Thread Starter #49
Thanks, Petroholic.

Those are some good answers that will help me out.

Any suggestions on Engine Noise are highly appreciated.

Do check the tyre pressures if you havnt done so after taking delivery.The showroom people recieve cars at over 40psi from the factory and they never bother to correct it before delivery.

A known problem in ritz.Learn to live with it.Be extra careful while engaging reverse so that you dont half-slot it.

Was thinking of doing the same in my car but finally decided against it.It seemed bit of an overkill.
Also do remember since ddis uses synthetic we are taliking about an expenditure of 3k , i guess.

Well IMO basics are-
1 jopasu duster -500/-
2 A good car shampoo-300/-
3 A waterless wash with sprayer such as ONR-700/-
4 a good wax/sealant like collinite 845 - 1200 /-
5 some MF cloths -300/-

And an hour every week.

levronstyle212 said:
1. I pulled out the Engine oil Stick just to check the Oil level's as i suspected it may be the reason for the Engine sound being High. Viscosity is good but couldn't justify the oil level's as i could feel the oil only at the bottom (3-5 centimetres) dipped in oil. Is this the level of Oil normally? And can any Ritz owners suggest how the engine sound will be reduced or is this normal before 1st Service.
Yes....bottom dipped in 3-5 cm is the correct position, make sure your vehicles parked in level surface and engine in cool condition. Remove the dipstick - Wipe of the oil with clean cloth - Reinstall and then remove & check - That is the actual reading.

Just completed my VDI's 1st Service on last Sat 24/8 & they just wash the vehicles and inspect the pointers given on the service coupon. Thats all.

For me Engine Sound is the same before & after servicing....no change at all.

Install AC filter & Wiper Shampoo , Total Bill 421/-

Else it will be 0/-

Hai frnds, Congrats on your new ride, I like the color, You can check my owner ship review and Pics for painting, handle etc it may also help you to select an alloy
Happy motoring ....

Thread Starter #52
Hi Arijitb,

Thanks, that gave me peace of mind.

Yes....bottom dipped in 3-5 cm is the correct position, make sure your vehicles parked in level surface and engine in cool condition. Remove the dipstick - Wipe of the oil with clean cloth - Reinstall and then remove & check - That is the actual reading.

Just completed my VDI's 1st Service on last Sat 24/8 & they just wash the vehicles and inspect the pointers given on the service coupon. Thats all.

For me Engine Sound is the same before & after servicing....no change at all.

Install AC filter & Wiper Shampoo , Total Bill 421/-

Else it will be 0/-

Thread Starter #53
Hi sbtrajesh,

Good going bro..,

I do read your thread occasionally. Have similar Infinity speakers. Got my ICE installed outside Dealer network. We get reasonable prices.

Painting Handles and Door mirrors wanted to get it done at Dealers place. But they were quoting more than double the normal price outside (read in other threads). So left it aside for now.

But will get it done soon. Occupied with others priorities for now.

Cheers..!

Hai frnds, Congrats on your new ride, I like the color, You can check my owner ship review and Pics for painting, handle etc it may also help you to select an alloy
Happy motoring ....

Thread Starter #54
Hi Guys,

Totally forgot to post!

Received a call from Autofin Today in the evening. The lady asked me about current Odo Meter Reading. It was close to the service mark. She said she will call again in a week to find out if it reached the mark for 1st Free Service. I said Ok.

Then she says "Service guys will come to my Home and will do the 1st free service". Those were her exact words. I cross checked that no i prefer dropping my vehicle for service but she says no sir vehicle will be serviced at your home.

Now i know that @ 1st Free service there wont be much but few checkpoints performed by service guys. But is this normal? Please share your views/suggestions/experiences as i am visiting the dealership tomorrow to collect the Permanent Number plates.

Adios..!

Hi Guys,

Totally forgot to post!

Received a call from Autofin Today in the evening. The lady asked me about current Odo Meter Reading. It was close to the service mark. She said she will call again in a week to find out if it reached the mark for 1st Free Service. I said Ok.

Then she says "Service guys will come to my Home and will do the 1st free service". Those were her exact words. I cross checked that no i prefer dropping my vehicle for service but she says no sir vehicle will be serviced at your home.

Now i know that @ 1st Free service there wont be much but few checkpoints performed by service guys. But is this normal? Please share your views/suggestions/experiences as i am visiting the dealership tomorrow to collect the Permanent Number plates.

Adios..!
I suggest you to take your ride to the any Authorized Mass of your choice / Dealer SVC who accept Free Service Coupon and get it done there [All details listed MASS/SVC booklet comes with your Car]. During the whole period stick with your vehicle and watch, if not possible for you make some one (friends or other family members). Don't opt for Dealer side Pick 'n' Drop facility.

My question how they going to wash your vehicles by pressure jet if it serviced at your home (Under Body) ? Other than this 1st Inspection Check (Free Service) can be done at your place too.

Looks : Well Day by Day i started to like the looks of the car. Even the Back . And White always keeps its classy and always it had the sporty DNA in the looks department at least for me.
In 2009 when it was launched I felt that this is one of the most ugliest car(rear portion) and after two years I bought the same car and I like it more and more every day[lol]

Paint & Plastics : I know Maruti Used Dupont - Standox Paint, which i believe is a great product. But it depends on how many coats they use it on each car. And i can bet the paint quality is a bit below standards on Ritz at least another coat would made it look far better. Again that's my opinion.
+100, Yes paint is not so great and looks like a coat might require as it get scratches very easily. May be maruti tried to reduce the paint weight for their famous "kitna deti hai" achievement.

Plastics quality is utterly ridiculous. And didn't expect them to be this bad. My 10 Month's old son managed to create 2-3 deep scratched on left side passenger door panel with bare hands. And i could find similar but less dramatic lines all over at the bottom line of Dashboard and Rear seat passenger foot level area's. May be i have to choose and use Armorall products to keep the Interior plastics safer till some extent.
I agree with you for some extent, but it is not that bad. Yes my daughter can make scratches on the plastic very easily.

I get the same feeling and yes it is because of its suspension as well the tyre pressure. Please always follow recommended tyre pressures which are visible on the driver side door area(when you open the door see there a sticker at door locking area)

Engine & Performance: Still in the Run-in. First service is due in a week. I am treating her sensually. No High speeds, No rash driving or anything that would affect the engine or makes it stressful. But i feel the Engine Noise is a tad higher and i can hear it filtering into the cabin at times. And when we get out of the vehicle its like an Old Jeep [No offence to Jeep lovers]. Is it like this with all Ritz models? So far no complains about the Performance though 1st Gear it practically useless. Breaking for me definitely is Good.
My dear it is a diesel mill so we cannot expect a super silent engine, BUT yes the cabin noise looks to be more as Maruti have not dampened it properly. From out side it is better than Fabia and Polo. Yes the noise gets smoother after atleast 2 services.

Fuel Economy: As per the MID i am constantly getting 17.5 KMPL Average . No complaints on that part.
Yes no doubt it returns good FE, for me it is between 17-18 in city with AC.

Suggestions Needed:

Please do not worry on this, just leave the job to the service guys and follow the maintenance intervals strictly. To check the oil level first you need to see whether the vehicle is parked on a flat place. That 3-5 centimetres is normal.

2. My Gear Lever feels Notchy at times. Is this because the rubbers inside need to settled down in the new car? or has it to be rectified in the 1st service?
This will improve after 1st service for sure

3. Anyone tried Armorall Interior Protection products before? Any Feedbacks.
No Idea on this

4. Should the engine oil be changed at 1st service? Though the manual do not indicate doing so, just worried about the Engine.
Just follow the manual and do nothing except that

5. Washing the vehicle. Any products you suggest to keep this Whitey clean.
I always give it for a complete wash.

Apart from the above, would like to suggest something which is not as per manual. Do WA,WB,Tyre rotation for every 5000km[:)]

Want to see how other Ritz is running, then visit my thread below

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...ip-review-2-years-20-000-kms-zero-issues.html

Thread Starter #57
Hi Gurrala74,

Thanks for the valuable information. Yes, i read your thread and almost all the threads on TAI regularly. [:D]

In 2009 when it was launched I felt that this is one of the most ugliest car(rear portion) and after two years I bought the same car and I like it more and more every day[lol]

+100, Yes paint is not so great and looks like a coat might require as it get scratches very easily. May be maruti tried to reduce the paint weight for their famous "kitna deti hai" achievement.

I agree with you for some extent, but it is not that bad. Yes my daughter can make scratches on the plastic very easily.

I get the same feeling and yes it is because of its suspension as well the tyre pressure. Please always follow recommended tyre pressures which are visible on the driver side door area(when you open the door see there a sticker at door locking area)

My dear it is a diesel mill so we cannot expect a super silent engine, BUT yes the cabin noise looks to be more as Maruti have not dampened it properly. From out side it is better than Fabia and Polo. Yes the noise gets smoother after atleast 2 services.

Yes no doubt it returns good FE, for me it is between 17-18 in city with AC.

Please do not worry on this, just leave the job to the service guys and follow the maintenance intervals strictly. To check the oil level first you need to see whether the vehicle is parked on a flat place. That 3-5 centimetres is normal.

This will improve after 1st service for sure

No Idea on this

Just follow the manual and do nothing except that

I always give it for a complete wash.

Apart from the above, would like to suggest something which is not as per manual. Do WA,WB,Tyre rotation for every 5000km[:)]

Want to see how other Ritz is running, then visit my thread below

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...ip-review-2-years-20-000-kms-zero-issues.html

Thread Starter #58
Thanks, Arijitb,

Yes Autofin is a MASS and very near to my place. i will better take my vehicle to the service center personally then they do it at my place. But i know their wash quality is pathetic from previous experince on friends vehicle. [They were TATA Authorised Dealers/Service guys]. But apart from that the regular Engine related service guys are good.

I suggest you to take your ride to the any Authorized Mass of your choice / Dealer SVC who accept Free Service Coupon and get it done there [All details listed MASS/SVC booklet comes with your Car]. During the whole period stick with your vehicle and watch, if not possible for you make some one (friends or other family members). Don't opt for Dealer side Pick 'n' Drop facility.

My question how they going to wash your vehicles by pressure jet if it serviced at your home (Under Body) ? Other than this 1st Inspection Check (Free Service) can be done at your place too.

Thread Starter #60
Hi Arijitb,

Just a moment ago went to the parking.

And checked the engine bay. And it looks exactly the same as the pic that you've posted on your thread. And i think it's not something that you should be worried about. Anyways i am going for 1st Service this weekend i will confirm with the MASS and let you know.

Hi, levronstyle212

Did you find any rust issue in your Ritz's engine bay similar to link given below ?

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...ars-20-000-kms-zero-issues-20.html#post320562

Can you take a look @ engine bay of your car and confirm ?

Thanks.....