New Hyundai i20 Known as 'Elite i20'. Now Launched! (Details: Pg.8)

maybe someone should share the interior and exterior pics of ERA,MAGNA and SPORTZ varients as one will able to see how elite i20 looks in steel wheels,without the acc etc

as only pictures of ASTA varient are available on the internet

Hello all,

I have booked Elite i20 Asta (Diesel) model on 16/08, also took a TD and was very impressed. Quality does feel premium.

Can someone please clarify, that strips on headlamps, is it illuminated or something like LED ? If you go to a showroom for checkout. please let me know in comments.

Some points for readers of this post -

1. Body Metal feels seriously strong. Open the bonnet and if you aren't a regular gymmer, it might take two hands to open it up. It's heavy. No under-bonnet covering. SA says noise is kept minumum and heavy metal mitigates the requirement of bonnet dampening.

2. Full wheel cladding in front tyres, (Very impressed) and Half wheel cladding in rear wheel arches.

3. Rear bommerang shaped tailamps looks very European when lit.

4. Has only 1 rear fog lamp, (Right Side of rear bumper)

5. Has sunglass holder.

6. Asta has 2 power outlets and are well spaced in between for AUX, USB connector ports.

7. Dead Pedal present and can well accomdate a foot size 12 as well. (I'm size 10)

8. Doors shut with a thud sound. (Superlike)

9. Glovebox is chilled.

10. Climate Controlled A/C is very impressive, performs well above expectations and chills the cabin in a minute or two. Rear A/C vents are promising too. Rear power outlet is missing. Hyundai should have provided one at rear too. ;)

11. Boot space is adequate. Shouldn't be a trouble in long journeys.

12. Those 195/55/16 are very macho looking and sexy alloys. I was floored upon first look. Market first 16" in this segment. Tyres are Apollo Alnac. Will run 10k-15k on them and then upgrade with 205/50/17 for a beasty look.

13. Hyundai should have provided projectors on top trim, but they missed. Anyways, light o/p was very good and spread was wide enough. I will install HID's though ;)

14. A/C vents have a Volvo look and really liked that. Can be shut off completely too.

15. Floor hump at rear isn't very large and shouldn't be a trouble to 5th occupant.

16. One touch glass up-down ONLY available for driver's glass.

17. ECM rear view mirror. Also projects your steering path.

18. Spare wheel is a 195/55/16 too, Obviously a non-alloy.

19. Car can hold 1 litre water bottles in door pockets with ease.

20. Instrument cluster is very sweet. The way 'Hyundai' shows up after you press Start/Stop ignition switch and it fades, ohh dear! I'm impressed!

Does hyundai any where mention of EBD along with ABS. I do not see this any where in the brochure.
Yes, it's equipped. EBD is always coupled along with ABS.

Great Photos 350Z
Eagerly waiting for your test drive and review on the new Hyundai Elite i20.
Try to get some interior shots of the Era and the Magna Variants to showcase the manually regulated AC knobs.
Sure. Only if those variants are available at the event. Normally manufacturers prefer using top-end for media drives.

Few questions for the review:
1. Length is close to 4 mtrs but i do not see any significant gain in the legroom for back seat passangers. Can you confrim if this is the case?
2. Looks like under thigh support for all seats has been increased. Please confirm.
3. The white stript in headlamps looks good, but is it illuminated or serves like LED?
4. LED near fog lamp looks missing which is available in current i20. Please confirm.
5. ICE Head Unit looks out of date on dashboard and does not look that premium. (Even Zest has better HU). How does it function at least?
6. Any advantage having Sportz'O' trim between Sportz and Asta?
Thanks for the questions. Much appreciated. I'm driving the car tomorrow. Keep a check on this thread for live updates.

I have booked Elite i20 Asta (Diesel) model on 16/08, also took a TD and was very impressed. Quality does feel premium.
Congrats and welcome back to the forum. When is the delivery scheduled?

Unlike Mobilio, looks like there are lot of takers for this 'Elite i20' even before any official auto review is out. The earlier i20 became a instant hit for its VFM feature list and the sales were helped by awkwardly kept price by Honda for its compititor 'Jazz' then.
The external looks for this Elite i20 looks killer but not sure how much the interior design would lure customers who have seen Grand i10 & tata Zest interiors/features at much lesser price. Things have changed you see. And also the new Jazz is around the corner with more features this time and hope with better price composition.

Unlike Mobilio, looks like there are lot of takers for this 'Elite i20' even before any official auto review is out. The earlier i20 became a instant hit for its VFM feature list and the sales were helped by awkwardly kept price by Honda for its compititor 'Jazz' then.
The external looks for this Elite i20 looks killer but not sure how much the interior design would lure customers who have seen Grand i10 & tata Zest interiors/features at much lesser price. Things have changed you see. And also the new Jazz is around the corner with more features this time and hope with better price composition.
I wont say its fair to compare a compact sedan with a premium hatch when you talk about zest. Bolt would demand an apt comparason but seems Tata wants to gets the numbers with zest unlike honda which launched brio first and then went along with amaze and now mobilio.

The interiors of the elite i20 all ooze premiumness. IMHO, Grand i10 will cannabalize more of i10 sales while i20 is all premium in size as well as in comfort. The steering wheel is super uber light. The rear seat was very comfortable and the ac much more effective than the grand.

Overall its an excellent package and I dont think any other hatchback can come even close to the overall package this elite i20 offers.

I wont say its fair to compare a compact sedan with a premium hatch when you talk about zest. Bolt would demand an apt comparason but seems Tata wants to gets the numbers with zest unlike honda which launched brio first and then went along with amaze and now mobilio.
Rightly said, one should not compare a compact sedan with a hatch but the Indian buyers think otherway round, else we would have not seen lakhs of Dzire and Amaze on road.
Between, i was mainly comparing the features & interiors of i10 grand & Zest over 'Elite i20' which might look better VFM at the end than Elite i20. This is from the normal buyers perspective and for the auto enthusiasts like us, mostly the pick would be 'Elite i20'. Hope, you got my point[:)]

Congrats and welcome back to the forum. When is the delivery scheduled?
Thanks Vibhor! Been away from car world from quite some years. Hoping to return back now.

SA says I can pickup anyday after 11/09, but sharad season would be going on that time and it's not auspicious to buy metal in sharad.

I'm looking forward to pick it up on 25/09, first Navratra Day [clap]

For those who asked whether the white stripe on top of the headlamps illuminates or not: the answer is no. It's only a style element. More details coming in our review.

my mom booked Asta petrol in red today.
delivery they say will take a month though i feel we will receive it earlier. With shrads coming soon, either it has to be before them or during the navratras.
on road its coming to 6.43 lacs , will save a few thousands by transferring insurance from her old car.

dont understand why Hyundai left out the Average Fuel Consumption reading which is more of a standard nowadays. Seems they are not confident of the mileage their cars give.

and next week they are increasing the prices. Was told by the SE who had come to collect the cheque.