New Honda Brio SMT - Ownership Review

Hey Guys,
Hit the pillar last night at my car parking area [cry]. Left fronf bumper got the hit, and has got scratches on it [anger]. Not so serious though. But, scratches are like straight lines (10 lines may be), and i can see them from some distance. Should i go for bory paint, as my 1st service is due i couple of weeks time. Also i heard that wehave some after market markers kind of stuff which can be used on these scratches to disppear them. Kindly advice.

PS: I click a photo on my mobile, since there is no light in parking area.

If the scratces are mild i.e. they are not deep gashes where paint has been removed alongwith the scatch, they can be lightened by a rubbing compound (Rs.100 - Waxpol). Please post a few snaps to ascertain the damage.

Thread Starter #378
Hello Everybody,

Firstly, I must begin saying that I haven't been able to keep up to speed on the forum because of a few unavoidable circumstances including relocation from Gurgaon to Bangalore coupled up with a hectic travel schedule.
Finally I have brought my 'Blue Baby' to Bangalore.

A few members have thanked me for the thread, and I would like to say that I just created the thread, but the thread wouldn't have been successful without all your contribution. Thanks to all the active members of the thread.

Next, I would like to congratulate all the new owners of Brio.
alif_diesel, car001, anilkumargurla, Ragin_Ice, racer_gun, dr80 (pardon me if I have missed any one) . My heartiest congrats to all of you on your new buy. I wish you all many many happy miles ahead & do keep updating us with your experiences.

Even though I haven't replied that often, but I made it a point to read each and every post, and I was very happy with the way the active members have helped other members with their doubts & queries. I would especially like to thank nitin_k, Sam Dinkar, santoclauz, itsmejohnhcl for their efforts and not letting any query go unanswered. Again, I do apologize if I have missed a name.

Its such a pleasure to see the number of Brio owners on TAI shoot up so high in such a small time. [clap]

Lastly, thank you all once again for your contribution for making this ownership review thread so popular on the internet.
Lets keep up the amazing work you all have been already doing and I will ensure that I contribute every bit I can.

Cheers !!

I am waiting for the AT, seems V AT is also coming. The expected date of launch is either the 17th or 19th of October.

Since Brio does not comes with insulated tinted glass, so what all effective options are available to keep away the heat?

During summers, especially in the north, mercury rises so hard that you need some kind of insulation to make the AC effective and drive more cost effective.
Your location says Noida, stay away from any sun films unless you want the thullas to take it off for you and also pay Rs 100 fine.

Guys, some time back i have read one article in one of the motor forums about the Run-in period, and it is to my suprise, this is for Honda City iVTEC, ---
"The engine is already run in in the factory, you have to mesh in the engine with the gears clutch and many other engine driven parts. This is best done by varying the rpm. Go up come down in all gears 2 to 5. I took the car to 170 kmph just touched in 5th gear and down to 30 kmph. Running in the engine at 2500 rpm is not enough. Now after the first 5000 k, I get a kpl of 16.9. That is because of correct run in of the engine. I have read posts here from defensive drivers that after first serving this noise that issue, all because they kept 1000 kms at 2.5 k rpm. Naturally the small metal particals kept going in the sump when they actually started to rip the car. Better all metal particals be dumped after first engine/g box oil change. Now what happens if you run in at only 2500 rpm is that the meshing in of gears with the engines is only half done. Revving up to 7 k rpm (albeith for a few seconds only) and then down to 2 k rpm, the meshing in takes place properly. Also temprature varies and plays a great role in thinning down the oil viscosity which in turn causes small metal particles to lodge off the gears and get drained into the sump. What people do is run in at 2.5 k RPM and then rip the car...big problems crop up and engine life reduces. KPL/FE reduces."

Please share your ideas as well on this. Thank You.

i agree with what u posted !

i spoke to a service engineer before hitting the highway, he told me all this rpm control is bullshit and be free to rev the engine as much i like. for max mileage he told me to stick to the green light, and on 5th gear i got green light at 120kms as well. Before 1k kms, i was getting a petty FE of 11.1 to 13.1, after the 1st free service and revving the engine occasionally , now i get 18 to 20 easily in moderate traffic with ac on.

Which dealer offered you this deal?

I also have doubts in this.
it is all over in newspaper advertisements

Honda is offering loan of Rs. 3 lakh to be paid back in 3 years at 0 per cent interest plus insurance free. OR you can have insurance free plus LED tv plus road side assistance plus extended warranty.