My Pre-Owned Tata Safari 3.0 - Ownership Review

Nice pic's umalkars.. I can see only 4k rpm (red line), but in many other cars I could see upto 6-8k mark. BTW when will the turbo kick in (RPM)?

Sorry I don't know much about these stuff, correct me if I am wrong.

Thread Starter #78
Nice pic's umalkars.. I can see only 4k rpm (red line), but in many other cars I could see upto 6-8k mark. BTW when will the turbo kick in (RPM)?

Sorry I don't know much about these stuff, correct me if I am wrong.
Thanks Varun. It's a 2005 model so I guess 4K was the max RPM for this model then.

As far as turbo is concerned, as per what I have read so far, its around 2K that it gets activated. In my case, I have never been able to figure out as to when it gets / got activated. It's just once / twice that the RPM went above 2K in top gear. I am not a very fast driver, usually try to maintain the speed around 90-100 km/h (if the road/traffic permits) and the RPM is below 2K in such speeds.

Not sure if turbo is activated even in lower gears as RPM often crosses 2K in 1,2 and 3 gears.

Would be be nice if someone could provide details about this turbo functionality. How do we figure out if its activated?

I have heard a different type of noise (It would be like, some thing like air gushing inside) when the turbo is activated, I haven't heard it in Safari though.

I have heard this is in the latest sumo, Scorpio etc

Nice pictures there. BTW, is the engine still stock or has been rebuilt? This engine can go as far as 5 Lacs Kms. Also, I please confirm if there is any erratic idling problem with your 3.0 motor. My Safari 3.0 rpm fluctuates, the mechanic has told it tobe a fuel pump problem.

Thread Starter #83
Nice pictures there. BTW, is the engine still stock or has been rebuilt? This engine can go as far as 5 Lacs Kms. Also, I please confirm if there is any erratic idling problem with your 3.0 motor. My Safari 3.0 rpm fluctuates, the mechanic has told it tobe a fuel pump problem.
The engine has not been rebuilt yet. Yes, there's a minor(?) issue with the idling. Like, if its in neutral, the idling slowly goes down and come up again. Do you think it requires immediate attention?

Also, often during cold starts (I guess that's what we call it when we start the engine first time in the morning), there's no response to the acceleration. Either I have to restart the engine or engage into first/any gear and jerk the vehicle to make it working. Have you faced similar issue any time?

The engine has not been rebuilt yet. Yes, there's a minor(?) issue with the idling. Like, if its in neutral, the idling slowly goes down and come up again. Do you think it requires immediate attention?

Also, often during cold starts (I guess that's what we call it when we start the engine first time in the morning), there's no response to the acceleration. Either I have to restart the engine or engage into first/any gear and jerk the vehicle to make it working. Have you faced similar issue any time?
The erratic idling problem has been there since long in my car and it does'nt need any immediate attention as of now, told to me by mechanic. The accelerator problem happened with me once, but it has not came back since then. It might be a brake switch or fuse issue. It might also be caused by Throttle Position Sensor Check that.

@umalkars:Erratic idling and no-acceleration on a cold engine - you are a brave man to have ventured out on long trips with your family in a Safari that behaves like this. Kudos!

This is a 3.0 Dicor engine with a 3000rpm redline. The turbo kicks in at around 1950 rpm in all gears. You can sense the turbo kicking in by listening carefully for a 'whoosh' or a faint whistling sound whenever the engine crosses 2000 rpm. You will also feel a surge in acceleration everytime the engine crosses 2000 rpm which is another indication of the turbo kicking in.

I do not know how the previous owner has treated this vehicle but it is advisaable to idle the engine for around 30 seconds before switching it off. This allows the engine oil to lubricate the fast rotating turbocharger before it comes to a halt. Please religiously follow this practice.

Thread Starter #86
@umalkars:Erratic idling and no-acceleration on a cold engine - you are a brave man to have ventured out on long trips with your family in a Safari that behaves like this. Kudos!

This is a 3.0 Dicor engine with a 3000rpm redline. The turbo kicks in at around 1950 rpm in all gears. You can sense the turbo kicking in by listening carefully for a 'whoosh' or a faint whistling sound whenever the engine crosses 2000 rpm. You will also feel a surge in acceleration everytime the engine crosses 2000 rpm which is another indication of the turbo kicking in.

I do not know how the previous owner has treated this vehicle but it is advisaable to idle the engine for around 30 seconds before switching it off. This allows the engine oil to lubricate the fast rotating turbocharger before it comes to a halt. Please religiously follow this practice.
Hey Sam, I trust TATA [:)] Jokes apart, if you are in Pune and available some time, I would be happy to show you the vehicle and get your valuable feedback and inputs.

Thanks. We will surely meet someday. I am not in Pune presently but am planning a trip there sometime in December this year. Let's see what transpires.

And yes, I envy your luck with this Safari :biggrin:. Sometime back even I was looking at buying a used Safari - came across a 3.0 LX model. Silver colour, reasonably good shape, all electricals working apart from ORVM adjustment, single owner,75000 kms done, asking price Rs. 3.75 lakhs (I think I could have easily convinced him for Rs. 75000 less). But somehow I could never muster the confidence to go for it. Till this day I feel "man, should've gone for it."

Take care of your Safari. All the best and keep updating!

I was about answer varun question but you answered better then me could answer.

Well good thing about safari is that it never leave middle of road. If it has to show problem then it will show when you are about to start journey or at end .

Now about early morning start problem get your fuse checked somehow it is loose somewhere

Thread Starter #89
Guys, had been to Bhimashankar on Saturday (Jul 28) and as usual the drive in Safari was awesome. The weather was just cool - complete fog with visibility of just around 50 mtr. Posting few snaps.