My Pre-Owned Tata Safari 3.0 - Ownership Review

Thread Starter #211
Please check the image. The first arrow shows the gap that I noticed. I assume that if the water goes in through that gap, then it may land on inside the door, on the mat, through the place indicated by the second arrow (the bottom one). I may be wrong but that's what my guess was.

Thread Starter #212
Sad news .. the water continues to accumulate inside the vehicle. Wonder if I should drill few holes to the floor so at least the water would go out.

@umalkars:Congrats for the Beast you got. Enjoy the drive with your beast. Get it serviced never be late. Post few snaps
once again congrats.

Dear Sudhanshu,

Nice snaps. Your Hippopotamus certainly doesn't look like its done 1.5 lakh kilometres.

How bad was the water seepage on this trip? Any new niggles or just smooth sailing all along?

Man, look at the smile on that face in the last pic. You sure are enjoying the Safari.

Take care,
Sam

My Safari too is suffering from water seepage heavily. My old Safari had the same problem. Don't know where it is coming from. I am currently using newspapers to soak the water.

Same leakage used to happen in my 3.0 water drops used to fall from co passenger side leg ac blower directly on my legs
But water drops used to fall like one drop now and the other drop would arrive after 10-15 seconds or so,kindly check near the leg ac blower of both ends for leakages

Thread Starter #218
Thanks Sam. No major issues whatsoever, as always, the drive was beautiful. Rains and clouds just made it more memorable. Driving through Tamhini ghat and again through the ghat that touches Mahabaleshwar (while coming from Poladpur) was once in a lifetime experience. It was drizzling, there was mist around and the visibility of just 10-15 meters. It was simply awesome.

Anyway, the water continues to flow in, and now I am damn sure that its coming in through some gap below the wiper area (the snaps that I pasted earlier). M-seal didn't help or may be I didn't fix all the areas required. Welding at the right places could be the only solution.

I did took out the plug / cap from the hole below the mat (on driver side), so at least the water won't accumulate inside the cabin. Otherwise, I was getting a water pool inside my car. Its raining continuously in Pune for more than a month now and its sort of a routine exercise for me to try to keep the mats as much dry as possible (or rather as less wet ... )

Here's an interesting irony - I am struggling to keep the water out of my car and at the same time I got a new issue of coolant (its water ultimately) leaking out. I got leaks in hose pipe(s) and also the water pump I guess. Called Tata SA yesterday to check the estimate for replacing water pump and hose pipes, its around 5K (that includes coolant as well.) Planning to get this done in a week or two.

Thread Starter #219
Same leakage used to happen in my 3.0 water drops used to fall from co passenger side leg ac blower directly on my legs
But water drops used to fall like one drop now and the other drop would arrive after 10-15 seconds or so,kindly check near the leg ac blower of both ends for leakages
This one is due to loose AC drain pipe. I had a similar issue, had to put the drain pipe in place properly.

My Safari too is suffering from water seepage heavily. My old Safari had the same problem. Don't know where it is coming from. I am currently using newspapers to soak the water.
Anyway, the water continues to flow in, and now I am damn sure that its coming in through some gap below the wiper area (the snaps that I pasted earlier). M-seal didn't help or may be I didn't fix all the areas required. Welding at the right places could be the only solution.
Strange. Never heard of the same problem in the 2.2s.

Maybe the best place to own a 3.0 Dicor is the Thar desert.

OT: @mercedised: Long time since you updated your thread. How's the Hulk doing?

Strange. Never heard of the same problem in the 2.2s.
Maybe the best place to own a 3.0 Dicor is the Thar desert.
OT: @mercedised: Long time since you updated your thread. How's the Hulk doing?
The safari is doing well except the water issue no problems have reached 1.3L Kms till now.

@Sam please check the snaps - marked in red to indicate where it gets wet. One is for the driver seat and the other behind it.
The floor which used to get wet are you still facing the same problem this monsoon?
Was the problem of AC condensor or was rain water coming from door?

To my surprise this happend in my safari storme,was parked in rain last night

Today my i just took the floor mats for cleaning n to my surprise i found the surface was wet ,what is to be done this case

Sudhanshu,

Read your story at one go. Amazing story I must admit of a man in love with his machine.
Excellent pics and narration so far, please continue the great job.

Wish you many more happy miles with your hippo!

Thread Starter #224
The floor which used to get wet are you still facing the same problem this monsoon?
Was the problem of AC condensor or was rain water coming from door?

To my surprise this happend in my safari storme,was parked in rain last night

Today my i just took the floor mats for cleaning n to my surprise i found the surface was wet ,what is to be done this case
If its due to AC, you should see the water seeping in drop-by-drop while you are driving (when the AC is on).

If the mats are wet while the vehicle was not driven for a day or two, and because it was parked in the rains, then certainly the water is coming in through some gap. My guess is that its coming through some opening/gap below the wiper area.

Thread Starter #225
Sudhanshu,

Read your story at one go. Amazing story I must admit of a man in love with his machine.
Excellent pics and narration so far, please continue the great job.

Wish you many more happy miles with your hippo!
Thanks @TheG2 [:)]