My Italian Horse in Bossa Nova White - Fiat Punto 90HP

Thread Starter #286
@raj

Buddy one of my close relatives is looking for 6-7 diesel hatchback, currently he is confused between Vista and Punto, so if you don't mind I have few questions to you about your Punto errr..Pintu [:)]
Of course, for sure. Ask him to have a look at other diesel cars like Figo, Swift & i20 also.

1] Kitna deti hai?
14-15 kmpl in city traffic with 100% AC, 18 kmpl on highways. With very light foot, add +2 kmpl to the figures.

2] Any niggles so far?
None. Only some slight rattling but that can be because of my ICEing.

3] Are you satisfied with the car as a package?
Very much. Brilliantly styled & a joy to drive. Performance could have been much better though, for the price I paid.

4] The after sales of Punto, any worries there, heard abt parts not available for Punto?
In mumbai, no worries as such. Tata's A.S.S. is bad but I give my car to fortune motors who have a separate dedicated team for FIAT cars, they are little better. I have not needed any parts as such but I had asked for a new rear bumper once (not replaced in my car) & the part was available in stock.

5] The engine performance and ride of the car, are you happy with it?
Ride - the best

Performance - turbo lag is annoying sometimes, especially when you are in the wrong gear. More than the engine, it is the fault of the gearing. 2nd gear is too tall. So if you shift from 1st too soon, there is a dead spot & if you are on an incline, then you are left with no option than shift to 1st again, rev harder & shift to 2nd. 3rd & 4th gear is good. though it has no push in the back feeling of the i20, it has a nice linear pull.

Hope you don't mind a tata fan bumping on to your thread.Cheers[:)]
Nopes, I dont discriminate. [thumbsup]

Raj I must car is standing out now after detailing. That is a great work done by 3M.

It looks great.
Thank you mate. Glad to hear the time & money is not wasted!

@Raj

I am facing one strange problem related to Punto ICE (which is factory fitted). Sometimes ICE shutdown (display becomes blank) and again start automatically. Also in FM mode sometimes start autosearching and shutdown and again start automatically. After some observations i realized this problem occurred in mornings where temperature gauge is more towards 'C'. But still i am not convinced the relation ICE and low temperature.

Hi Raj, great to know that went with 3M for exterior detailing. These guys are of the best in the business who takes good care of the car while on job. I got the restoration job done for my car with 3M Bangalore and their job was top notch

@Raj, agree that 3M prices are premium. Even I felt the same during my visit. But as of now, they are the leading or the only player in this space. Hence enjoying the premium tag! But at the end of the day, I was satisfied with their work. So stopped thinking about the spend [:D]

After the rickshaw guy scraped my car's front bonnet a week back, today an aunty in a getz scraped the rear bonnet. My car was stationary in a signal. I was on my way to 3M car care for exterior detailing.

3M guys did their best to make the scratches less visible.

Here are the pics after detailing -
I could not respond earlier but nevertheless, congratulations now. The difference is indeed noticeable. Your car keeps shining like new and I am sure it always will. :smile:

Thread Starter #297
Thread Starter #298
Looks like FIAT has updated the Punto w.e.f June 2011. the changes are -

* Altered gear knob
* better gear shift
* lighter steering
* revised gear ratios (no more turbo lag)
* better NVH
* better fit & finish of cabin
* better mapping of clutch & gearbox to avoid jerks
* refinement at higher RPMs
* better acceleration (said that 0-100 kmph has improved by 2 secs approx)
* feels tightly screwed & solidly built

My brother Informed same, 2 weeks back. but I Ignored it considering it would be his imagination sitting in a brand new car.but now it is making sense.

Btw Iam wondering shall I feel happy or sad with my one year old punto against new ones?LOL