My First Car: Tata Zest XT QJD Pristine White

Hello Everyone,

I was not sure if to start my own thread or to continue with existing ownership review but here I am, with a new thread

This is going to be my first ownership review ever, hence bear with me and share your comments pls.

It all started 6 months back, when we (me and my wife) decided to buy our first car, I was super excited and was equally confused with so many options. Just like everybody, I was confused between a Petrol or a Diesel engine? Though my monthly run won`t be more than 1000km but looking at my Petrol car owner friends who don’t take their car out just because it would cost, I decided to go with Diesel engine, that too, now the Diesels being regularized just like petrol. I started the hunt by reading various Official Review / Ownership Review and Test drive Review from TAI and Team BHP (thanks to each one you, without which it would have been very difficult :)

After various research and TD`ing, I decided to go with Vista. Believe me, I decided to go with Vista above Polo. Somehow I felt VW overpriced their products even though their quality is unmatched. Many of my friends did not agree with my decision, because the perception TATA has created “Tata ?.... Woh taxi gaadi?” (believe me, I still get that questions). Somehow we overcome that and went ahead with our decision. We felt Vista was VFM, with so many feature and at a reasonable price. The hunt was closed, until my friend suggested to look at Amaze. Till then sub 4 meter was out of my mind. I agreed and asked the SA from Capital Honda for TD and I received a very good response from them. When I sat inside the car, I was in love immediately. Wow… what a caaaaaaar!

But few things did not made me to go with it like the NVH level, the build quality and features (though dashboard was of good quality, I still like the ‘tak’ sound when you close that AC vent). The decision to buy Amaze postponed. Vista was out of scope now, since we believed sub 4 meter makes sense, esp. when we are planning to have a long relation with our first car.

Waited for a month for Xcent to launch and after launch, I still preferred Amaze. Then came the news from TML launching sub 4 meter.
We were super excited after reading various features it hold and of course it’s TATA again. As it is said ‘all which starts well, ends well’, in my case, it started with TATA and end with TATA The wait was over on 12th August and I did the TD immediately. I won’t say I fell in love immediately but it was like Rahman`s music which you love over a period of listening.

We stopped our hunt on 30 Aug when we made the initial booking amount of 21k to Concorde Motors, Guindy, Chennai. Had very good experience with Concorde showroom, SA were polite and knowledge (I am not saying well knowledge here) but helped with all my queries and did not push for the purchase (I think, they might have seen the excitement on my face). Booking was done and expected date of delivery was 15th oct.

Came 9th oct and I got call from the showroom that my XT Diesel sky grey has arrived. Have already mentioned my first look experience at test drive thread.
After various discussion with my wife, we decided not to go with sky grey color, considering the safety during night drive. We informed our decision to the SA from Concorde motors and they were completely ok with it. They understood our concern and agreed to help as much as possible. The other color option we gave were white and silver.
They initially informed us that it would take another 8 weeks to get a new color but came a surprise call on 31st Oct when they had received a Prestine White Zest which was booked for another customer but since there was some delay from customer end, they were ok if I take up the car.

Again, I was super excited, took a day off from office, went to SBI bank, completed final formalities and there I go, all payments done on 31st. Being first car, we wanted in shubh din and that was 11th Nov (I know its long but I was not the deciding person here, being WE it had to be SHE). The day came, we went to the showroom, all docs were ready and the SA was waiting for our signature. All procedure completed in an hr time and during that time, they kept our car ready. Everything done with little delay and we drove off with a big smile, ofcourse not a single penny was reduced and no free accessories

One thing to point out….. pls pls…while performing pooja, do not put chandan anywhere in the car -specially on car body (I remember somebody pointed out this in earlier thread but I am re-iterating this). Mine being white, I am not able to remove it completely. Even 3M guys could not do so. What best you can do is, remove the chandan immediately after it is applied. I did the mistake by keeping it overnight.

Overall…. I am a happy customer and would rate 4/5 with my initial interaction with TATA motors. Frankly, i am continue to get the support from the showroom team even after the purchase. Special thanks to Shobana (TL) and Senthil (TSM) of Concorde Motors.

Accessories I opted for: Zest logo carpet, Mudflaps and Car cover. Have also opted for gold AMC and extended warranty. Haven`t got any booklet for extended warranty but I have received a receipt kind of thing, confirming extended warranty has been attached to my car They said, their system is updated and the ASS systems would also be updated. Hence, I don’t have to worry.

My input (both pros and cons) about this car other than what already has been said:-

#NVH is much far better than any other diesel car. Won`t say it is silent inside the cabin but its best in the segment.

#Have driven 200 km till now inside the city and haven’t felt any gear vibration (in all the gears)

#The ‘A’ pillar near the driver seat is pretty broad, that would create a blind spot when you take right.

#I felt, shifting to 3rd gear is not smooth, it was like shifting gear with half clutch.

#Reverse sensor are good. Both extreme side sensors covers the maximum possible angle

#I did not feel hot air coming in, when internal circulation was switched off

#Phone Bluetooth with the ICE works flawless

#Though the horn pad is little hard to press, I love the horn sound and is loud. I can feel the dual horn and is perfect for Chennai city.

#Putting reverse gear is little tricky than other gear. You have to press clutch complete down and have to pull the gear knob with little force, half gear though pull the car down but will create some noise

#After running 200km, I can see the clutch is not smooth, though is not something to worry about since it will be taken care during the first service

Liked the changes 1) 18 spoke alloy wheel (the one given for lower end model) is now given for XT variant; and 2) the pad color on the door was previously beige and brown and now it`s changed to complete brown. From the beginning I was wondering how to keep that place clean specially with light color.

The car cover provided by the showroom fits perfectly like a lamination sheet. About car cover:-

#Cover has space for both the mirrors. Hence you don’t have to close the mirror

#Antenna is covered perfectly

#Has TATA logo at back and Zest written on the front; and finally the part I love

#Car cover is equipped with a big zip at driver’s side . Which means, in case you want to get inside the car after car cover is placed, you don’t have to remove the cover completely, just upzip and you can open the door (great idea).

My plan is to keep this thread as active as possible for years to come. So that’s it.

Thanks again to all and would love to see other Zestians on road and will sure respond with some sign (might be two blink of a high beam) btw, haven’t seen a single Zest on Chennai highway yet. I am travelling daily 23 km from Velacherry to Perungalathur.

** If I have left anything to cover, pls let me know, would love to share up things.
Hi!

Congrats on your new Zest!!

Wish you many safe miles in it!!

I own Zest XT Quadrajet in Bangalore and I am in love with it.

Zest is the Best!!

Thread Starter #62
Hi!

Zest is the Best!!
great.. tell me what is the tyre pressure you maintain in your car though the manual says 32
and where did you buy your car body cover? the one i bought with the car from showroom last only 10 months

Congrats on your buy. How about a Zest owner's club?

1. Tyre pressure is on the sticker in the driver side doorwell - 32 psi. I prefer to fill it to 33 though, and check it every 15 days. If you go on long trips. try r
2. Have you tried the coverwell or automax custom sized cover? It's sold through ebay, and they have a large range - all custom done, with ORVM pockets and antenna grommet. Do call and confirm before you order. I too had bought one from the dealer, but dont use it as the material leaves marks on the waxed surface quite easily. I found the body covers were over-priced on FK, despite a 40% off on the day
Hope this helps.
thanks bhaiyya :)
let me try reducing the tyre pressure to 33
and thanks for the ebay too.. willl check immediately
if you have link, pls share

Hi Sudarmani
The recommended pressure is 34 and not 32. The decals on the cars manufactured before Jan 2015 says 32 psi, however, post Jan production vehicles recommend 34 psi. The dealers are supposed to update decals on pre jan cars and keep the users informed.
Looks like the dealers are doing their work properly!

Thread Starter #64
Hello Everyone,
Soon i will celebrate 1 year of my Zest and would say, it has been a wonderful year with my Zest.
Recently traveled from chennai to Krishnagiri with 370km one way. Good things first
1. Mileage was 22.4 from end to end, which include 20% of city drive and 100% AC
2. In city under b2b traffic, i get around 13-14 klm/l
3. Handling is very good. I never crosssed 110km in highways but car is smooth
4. AC is super cool
5. Music plays flawless with every option and Bluetooth too

Things to improve
1. I find cabin little noisy. Don`t know it its because of tyre pressure
2. I find 4th gear lag a bit (feel like somebody holding the car from behind)
3. Car shakes in bad roads, don`t know if i am missing anything

Overall, i am a very happy customer.
P.S - Crossed 8k KM till now

Hello Everyone,
Soon i will celebrate 1 year of my Zest and would say, it has been a wonderful year with my Zest.
Recently traveled from chennai to Krishnagiri with 370km one way. Good things first
1. Mileage was 22.4 from end to end, which include 20% of city drive and 100% AC
2. In city under b2b traffic, i get around 13-14 klm/l
3. Handling is very good. I never crosssed 110km in highways but car is smooth
4. AC is super cool
5. Music plays flawless with every option and Bluetooth too

Things to improve

[clap]
Congratulations.
Good to see you are satisfied with the vehicle.
But with 8K kms of running, would petrol be suitable for that mileage.
May be it would have saved you on ROI return on investment.

Thread Starter #66
Hello everyone,
Its XT is now 1 year old with 11k run. It is due to for its 2nd service. Renewed my insurance from TATA AIG to New India. The reason being, TATA AIG is no more list of TATA motors group insurance. Paid 19k for Zero Dep.
Till now the car is running good with avg mileage of 15 in city and 21 highways. Everything is smooth till now with no major issue
Things i am planning
1. stick door guard
2. low beam are not strong for city drive. Might look at changing it
nothing more.

Hi!

Zest is the Best!!
Please do not quote long messages just to wish. Use Thumbs-up Feature at right hand.

Hello Everyone,

Things to improve

Could be due to OEM inferior tyres. Changing to a softer tyre shall improve Noise and Shakes. Other thing you can do for noise is install floor insulation and hood insulation.

Hello everyone,

2. low beam are not strong for city drive. Might look at changing it
nothing more.
Please read my 4300K HID kit review and guide.

Hi Sudarmani,
congrats on completing fuzz free ownership of Zest diesel. could you please let me know more details about the mileage you are getting in city and highway ?

I am planning for one but many have posted less mileage figures, so confused [confused]

Hi Sudarmani,
congrats on completing fuzz free ownership of Zest diesel. could you please let me know more details about the mileage you are getting in city and highway ?

I am planning for one but many have posted less mileage figures, so confused [confused]

Zest diesel uses the same fiat engine that most of the cars including maruti uses for its cars although each has thier own tweaking done. So for Diesel you don't need to worry it will give you good mileage and fuss free ownership.

Thread Starter #70
Hello Everyone,
It`s been 1.5 years with 12500 KM and my car is going as smooth as it was initially. Till now i have not faced any major issues. Driving is comfortable and mileage is not bad. After 1st service, i get city 17 and highway 21 with 100% AC.

Recently did level 1 detailing from Car Cares (OMR) to remove very small scratches, tyre marks and tar. The output was really good with no marks in my car except for major dent [;)]
They charged 4500.

Today i got call from Srilakshmi Cars and said they have been appointed by TATA Motors to perform free interior cleaning to selected customer. They will be cleaning 4 doors, seats and floor matts. I hope the service is good [clap]

how to connect iphone to tata zest?

the aaplication mentioned isnt there in the istore...

kindly assist!!!

dealers said we can play phone music library and it can search thru our contact for help calling? is this true even for the iPhone?

Thread Starter #72
Hi Nish,
Sorry i missed your quote. Yes you can connect your iphone for music and taking calls. It even reads my messages. I connect both my Iphone 4 and 5s and it works flawless.

Its been long i gave any update and i waiting for a long drive and it is still pending but would like to tell that i am planning to change my lamps. As i said earlier, the low beams were very bad for city drive and was waiting to replace it. Suddenly my friend was coming from US and i asked him to buy Philips X-treme Vision +130%.
My earlier plan was to change Low beam (H7) alone but looking at cost in $, i also purchased High beam (H1) [clap]

Philips X-treme Vision +130% Headlight Bulbs (Pack of 2) (H1 55W): Amazon.in: Car & Motorbike

Will do the replacement my self this weekend and will update my experience.
fingers crossed [confused]

Hi Nish,
Sorry i missed your quote. Yes you can connect your iphone for music and taking calls. It even reads my messages. I connect both my Iphone 4 and 5s and it works flawless.

Its been long i gave any update and i waiting for a long drive and it is still pending but would like to tell that i am planning to change my lamps. As i said earlier, the low beams were very bad for city drive and was waiting to replace it. Suddenly my friend was coming from US and i asked him to buy Philips X-treme Vision +130%.
My earlier plan was to change Low beam (H7) alone but looking at cost in $, i also purchased High beam (H1) [clap]

Philips X-treme Vision +130% Headlight Bulbs (Pack of 2) (H1 55W): Amazon.in: Car & Motorbike

Will do the replacement my self this weekend and will update my experience.
fingers crossed [confused]
Hi Sudarmani
The low beam is surely pathetic and needs some improvement. I am limited in knowledge when it comes to light upgrades- can you please tell me if this upgrade can have an impact on the projector lens or wiring for that matter? I understand that both the stock bulbs and these Philips ones are 55 W but there must be some difference between them and thus the high cost?

Thread Starter #74
Hi Tarik,
I too dont have good knowledge but there are 2 options/
1) either go with same volts /watts better bulbs (like what i am doing) - it is 12V 55W. By doing this, you are just replacing the bulbs by not touch any wiring or impact on batter. With this, you have limited bulbs. The bulb i am replacing is completely new to India market and cost 4800 per pair.
2. The other option, you can go for higher volts but would require electrical work. If you do this, you will loose your warranty but the output will be good. But again, you have to go for higher battery.

If you want to understand more about lamps, i suggest, go thru the below forum. It is very good

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...-hid-kit-technical-review-install-w-pics.html

Hello, with regard to the extended warranty from tata motors on zest vehicles sir, did you receive any documentation from them stating so, while buying your vehicle. Moreover are you using this service app, if not so by using this fellow zest owners can have their vehicle details handy.