Maruti Suzuki Ertiga ZDi Bought: Ownership Review

Got my Dusky Brown ZDI today.

overall fit and finish look good. after i brought the car to home i found 2 screws near the USB area and when i inspected i see that near the bonet release hook there are to empty slots for 2 screws.

any idea if the dealer does some checksin that area as part of PDI

Got my Dusky Brown ZDI today.

overall fit and finish look good. after i brought the car to home i found 2 screws near the USB area and when i inspected i see that near the bonet release hook there are to empty slots for 2 screws.

any idea if the dealer does some checksin that area as part of PDI
I guess there is a set of fuse in that area which SA would have checked and forgot to put the screws back.

My friend is willing to purchase 2012 model Ertiga VDI. He is getting very good price deal. Almost 1 lakh rs Discount. Dealer is saying vehicle is in very good condition.

My question is : I have not seen stock yard. I Don't no about how they maintain the vehicles. Can any one enlighten me on, is it advisable to buy 2012 model from the dealer, How they maintain vehicles in stock yards, What are the chances of vehicles giving niggles, is 1 lakh rs a good deal for Ertiga VDI 2012 Model?

Thanks in advance.

My friend is willing to purchase 2012 model Ertiga VDI. He is getting very good price deal. Almost 1 lakh rs Discount. Dealer is saying vehicle is in very good condition.

My question is : I have not seen stock yard. I Don't no about how they maintain the vehicles. Can any one enlighten me on, is it advisable to buy 2012 model from the dealer, How they maintain vehicles in stock yards, What are the chances of vehicles giving niggles, is 1 lakh rs a good deal for Ertiga VDI 2012 Model?

Thanks in advance.
AKARSH ensure that battery and tires are changed,cause both has specific life span.

Stock yard?
Depends on dealer ship i can say.
My personal experience,i went for PDI for my Ertiga,Vasai,mistakenly i went to another stock yard Sai service instead of spectra.Get the worst word here,the stockyard was large,no shade,cars were in pathetic condition,covered with dust,bird ****,and weirdly parked,as there is no user.
Simple question,who said ertiga had waiting, they were in 60/70 nos,of each color,and variant.

My car was there spectra,from 2 weeks, so went there,i noticed that color was chipped of due to bird ****,on the top.Bought into notice of the guy,rest it was done. after 1st service.

Got delivery of my ZDI after second service yesterday from Adhi cars. Had asked for oil & filter to be changed at 5K itself since it wasn't replaced in first service as well. It feels a lot smoother now. Got AC filter also fitted (Maruti should consider providing this as standard in all variants).

They had dirtied the interiors very badly. And worse thing, no one seemed to have inspected the cleanliness of the car, which gives an impression rest of the repairs would have also been done carelessly.. Planning to switch the service center for next service.

Thanks in advance.
Hi Akarsh,

Does it sound something fishy to get 2012 model Ertiga, in 2012 it had the considerable waiting period till March 2013.So there might be some issue that previous buyers have rejected it. If I were at your place would not have risked 10 lakhs for saving 1 lakh and most important peace of mind. Anyway these days dealers are passing some benefits like cash discount or something else so I guess the effective saving will not be more than 75K. And for long term ownership risking 10 lakhs for 75K is not so worth. Please wait for some expert suggestions. If not then PM some of the senior members like

Gurrala
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/members/gurrala74-1717.html

or

Raja
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/members/raja-4631.html

or even 350Z

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/members/350z-2.html

or Akash

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/members/akash-144.html

You can blindly follow their advice.

@Akarsh

Without any further thinking and doubts, drop your idea of buying that 2012 Ertiga. There are number of reasons for this.
Like, it was selling hot in 2012 and there must be a serious reason that car was left there
I have seen many dealers stockyards(maruti) they are not covered most of the places and vehicles are just left like that in a open to sky ground which get abused with dust,rain,winds,heat etc.,
Tyres,battery must have been dead by now
just for 1Lakh benefit do not loose 9Lakhs peace of mind [:)]

Ertiga is an awesome car. Drove one Ertiga to Ooty. I was thoroughly impressed. Superb design, super stable, excellent braking, quiet robust reliable engine, smooth stick, good speed, good suspension, quality interiors (including the music system).

Worth paying the full price and buying a brand new Eritga. You sure will keep it for a long time - and enjoy every ride.

Thanks in advance.
First of all, I fail to understand why a diesel Ertiga failed to sell for almost a year when it has got such huge waiting periods. The most likely reason might be that it failed PDIs. It is not advisable to go for this car.

Stock yards are mostly barren piece of land where new/used vehicles are parked. During a sale the car is driven to the dealership where it is washed.
I've not seen stock yards but a friend of mine has seen it and reported.
When I bought my brand new Toyota car, I saw it when it had arrived from the stock yard. It looked aweful (dusty/dirty). They cleaned it nicely a day before delivery.

May be it is not a good idea to buy a car which is in stock. Better to order and wait for the delivery. Chances are the car won't be sitting in the yard for too long.

First of all, I fail to understand why a diesel Ertiga failed to sell for almost a year when it has got such huge waiting periods. The most likely reason might be that it failed PDIs. It is not advisable to go for this car.
Hi Akarsh,

Does it sound something fishy to get 2012 model Ertiga, in 2012 it had the considerable waiting period till March 2013.So there might be some issue that previous buyers have rejected it. If I were at your place would not have risked 10 lakhs for saving 1 lakh and most important peace of mind. Anyway these days dealers are passing some benefits like cash discount or something else so I guess the effective saving will not be more than 75K. And for long term ownership risking 10 lakhs for 75K is not so worth. Please wait for some expert suggestions. If not then PM some of the senior members like

Gurrala
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/members/gurrala74-1717.html

or

Raja
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/members/raja-4631.html

or even 350Z

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/members/350z-2.html

or Akash

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/members/akash-144.html

You can blindly follow their advice.
I agree here with both of you . 2012 was the peak of ertiga sales infact people were even willing to pay premiuim for ertiga diesel .

All in all I suspect the car to be a test drive vehicle , because I don't find any logical reason on why a dealer has a 2012 piece of one of the hottest selling car .

I could understand if this was a tata aria or fiat cars but ertiga its hard to belive .

Your friend might also relatively get less resale value of a 2012 model .

In all probability the car must be in a very very bad condition .

Still if you want your friend to go ahead tell him to go and visit the stock yard atleast and check the vehicle before giving any sort of monetary or any type of commitment to the dealer .

and I will PM our senior member Tornado who is quite expert in such deals and situation . And also senior member Superbad and dharmesh .

Incase you find the dealer guilty kindly compliant about him to maruti Suzuki India , its because of some dealers the brand name gets tarnished .

I completely agree with what some friends before have mentioned too. It is not worth saving 1Lakh - there is no way a VDI could have remained unsold with dealer from 2012 (> 8 months). Even if there is problem with the car, the nagging thought will remain in your mind & haunt whenever even small issues show up..

Thanks in advance.
no point in getting a year old vehicle which was hot seller in its segment at that time.
even if it was an unused vehicle, the engine is at standstill for a year which would result in harder tyres, low battery, low lubrication, too many mechanicals which might give problems in the long run for lack of usage, maintenance (considering its lying in the yard).

if it is not lying in the yard, the dealer might be pulling a fast one by (maybe) repairing a dented/accident test vehicle by restoring it to as good as new condition.

just too many risks, for a partly advantage of 75k .

I was also offered Ertiga VDI model of 2012 during my visit to showroom after my test drive. They were giving 60k discount. When i asked is it after normal discount offer that was 40000 25k plus 15 exchange bonus. They said no all together. I straight denied the offer and asked them if they want to sale this car in need 1 Lakh apart from normal discount plus changing tyre, battery, engine oil, break oil and all other old liquid. Even we sale or exchange after 5 year and so they will take 30000 depreciation per year so again loss of 30k while selling or exchanging the old car. As senior member Mr Akash has pointed out why ertiga of 2012 model is left first of all even with such huge waiting list. The reality speaks by itself. I do not recommend to go for Ertiga 2012 in July august of 2013 as it can be now considered two year old because form September onward maruti dealers has to clear old stock of 2013. If your friend is getting what i had asked in my case and dealer is ready to give such discount and replacement your friend can go for it subject to strict PDI with some very experience person. Other wise your friend deal will be a looser deal.

Any way i was not interested in VDI first of all but when dealer gave an option I gave a thought for it with my demand and they refuse and i am happy with my Superior White Ertiga ZDI of May 2013 model. I have to send my ertiga for 1st service in two three days and i am over all satisfied with my ertiga as of now.