Mahindra XUV500 W8 FWD - A Long Term Ownership Report

XUV has crossed 63000 kms now. Tyres were changed around 60000 kms. The OEM bridgestones still looked good but it wasnt performing well, became too hard and grip wasnt as good as it used to be. Got Michelin for all wheels at Rs.18500/tyre. Costs a bomb but ride has improved considerably, as well as grip levels and braking.

Yes they just have to update it by connecting through a laptop. If they have the software then it will only take 15 mins.

But if they don't have the software then they will have to download it first and then update yours. And this might take around 30 mins.
Thanks. It will help calculating mileage properly.

Hi crazycat,
Sorry for congratulating late, but a very detailed and indepth review. [clap] Your beast looks best in white colour which is incidentally also the colour which I am thinking of getting. It has been a while since you upstaged. Please update on your experience with the beast.
Thanks RagMax.

Now a sad part. Our XUV got into an accident. Thankfully, no one got hurt but the XUV. It was raining heavily on the Madurai-Dindigul highway. A Sumo lost grip and went crazy causing a Traveller which was going in front of our vehicle to stop. Our driver slammed the brakes due to that and came to a complete stop. A moment later, crash! A government bus slammed from the rear and pushed our XUV for about 10 feet and hit the traveller ahead. So our XUV got damaged both from the front and back. My mom, uncle, aunt, kid-cousin and driver were in the car, but luckily no one got hurt. What made things worse was the bus driver got down and started hurling abuses at our driver for braking. He came to his sense only after my uncle and mom got furious gave their words of wisdom to the heartless creature. He later apologised that he tried to brake but it didnt work.
The vehicle was taken to Vadipatti police station to complete formalities for insurance purposes. My family was picked up by an uncle who was in Madurai in our Sail U-va. Will share further details tomorrow.

Nice updates here CC.Sorry to hear about this accident.I hope that XUV is performing well without any issues.BTW,where is Vento's ownership review?Im waiting for long-long time.

Sorry to hear about the accident. Sad to see your vehicle on this shape. Any damage on the front side? Crazy bus driver, no wisdom!!.

I've attached more pics. Apparently the driver was busy looking at the sumo fishtailing ahead, he didn't even notice the white SUV with tail lamps on. Before he could brake, the collision happened.

Nice updates here CC.Sorry to hear about this accident.I hope that XUV is performing well without any issues.BTW,where is Vento's ownership review?Im waiting for long-long time.
Everything seems to be working fine. The car was driven to the service center last night. They will put a job card tomorrow and we will know the damages.

Sorry to hear about the accident. Sad to see your vehicle on this shape. Any damage on the front side? Crazy bus driver, no wisdom!!.
Front bumper is damaged. Im worried that headlight mounts could've taken a hit too.

Its so sad to hear about the accident .Its good that no one was injured .
Driver fault is there which is no doubt .BTW how did front got damaged .Did it hit someone ?

Ankit

Very sorry to hear about the accident and see your XUV in such a shape but thankfully no one was injured, thank god. Because the impact seems to a good one.

I hope nothing went wrong within the engine bay.

CC, good to see you here after long albeit with a negative report.

Im so sorry to see your XUV in such a condition. Hope all are well especially Uncle and Aunty!

Sir, sad to know the damages on the front side. Do you have comprehensive insurance? I understand that you are having tough time. Well, both sides of ownership experiences. Me too had rear glass issues, and now sorted out. Check last post.

I dont have that zero depreciation one, realising its a big mistake now. I think the one I have is comprehensive but there will be depreciation for plastic/rubber parts.

CC, good to see you here after long albeit with a negative report.

Im so sorry to see your XUV in such a condition. Hope all are well especially Uncle and Aunty!
Uncle wasn't in the car archit. My mom, Uncle (mom's younger brother), aunt and their 8 month old kid. Driver was driving at the moment.

Very sorry to hear about the accident and see your XUV in such a shape but thankfully no one was injured, thank god. Because the impact seems to a good one.

I hope nothing went wrong within the engine bay.
Thankfully, nothing went wrong with engine bay or chassis, according to preliminary report from Mahindra guys. More details will be available when they start working.

Its so sad to hear about the accident .Its good that no one was injured .
Driver fault is there which is no doubt .BTW how did front got damaged .Did it hit someone ?

Ankit
Front got damaged by crashing into the vehicle ahead.

@Music_Swift, between work and family, I'm not able to actively participate in the forum. I'll try to find some time and do it ASAP.

Hi Crazy cat,

What is the status now? Did Mahindra assess the damages? What is the response from the insurance company? Keep update when you are free. We know that you are having touch time. Keep Cool.

ohh god , just saw this, thankfully all family members are safe - that is priceless, the vehicle can always be mended, i know its a painful experience to see the vehicle this way - but hopefully the service centre brings it back quickly. From the looks of it it doesnt seem to have any mechanical damage, engine bay seems fine , did it twist or damage the exhausts ?

@Mathew, sorry for not updating. The body shop of local mahindra has given a estimate of 5lakhs, although they told over the phone it will be around 4 lakhs. An advance of 1lakh has been made. Dismantling work has begun it seems. Parts will arrive in two days time hopefully. Once they get parts, it will take another 20 days for work completion.

@Iron rock, Every time I see a white XUV, I miss the big guy. The entire family share similar feelings. We even skipped a temple festival in our native at the last moment stating various reasons.

Now Vento and Verito Vibe is trying hard to fill the gap. Waiting for the day to see XUV again.