Mahindra XUV500 vs Tata Aria vs Toyota Innova!

Your choice?

my grouse with them is that they launch overpriced cars here. Look at the Fortuner, what is in that car for 25 lacs? what is in the innova for 14 lacs?
Q class quality my friend. [evil]
On a serious note though, actually Fortuner is CKD product hence so costly, Innova's engine comes from JAPAN so it has to be that costly.

Talking about build quality, its not only abt heavy steel panels fellow, if that would have the case than Safari has to be considered as the best build car ,which is not the case, actually its about screwing your body better and using high quality materials inside out, this is where you can not beat toyota, man, you may hear angels speak but won't listen any toyota rattle or squeak, period.

Talking about the build quality of tata and mahindra, except ARIA no tata or mahindra is anywhere close, even in fit and finish department except ARIA both tata and mahindra are way behind.XUV500 as good it is, all the reviews point that its qualty is little lacking for the price, and we are not even talking about Scorpios and Boleros or sumos here.

The only advantage tata and mahindra have is of course VFM pricing.Now lets remove tata from this fight because to be honest they are no were in this battle of becoming India's top UV manufacturer( they are barely surviving IMO), but Mahindra definitely has taken the fight to toyota, perhaps they haven't forgotten that 10 yrs ago toyota launched Qualis which literally destroyed M&M, so they priced XYLO 2 lac rs cheaper than INNOVA and now launched XUV500 almost 10 rs cheaper than Fortuner, its obvious that they are aiming at the throat of toyota, kudos to them.

But it is still to be seen whether they can beat toyota or not , my best wishes to Mahindra in this regard [thumbsup]

this is where you can not beat toyota, man, you may hear angels speak but won't listen any toyota rattle or squeak, period.
:lol!:[shock]

@xover,Are you a toyota fan . How long were you driving a toyota?
Like every other japanese cars ,toyota is no different but yeah better than maruthi and hyundai though.Qualis was worst one.!!!

because , in India ,toyota is ''expensive" to buy so people keep it in good condition.IMO.

I agree toyota engines are good-very good,trouble free and durable but Noise and vibration come as free gifts.
and of course Japanese are very much concerned about their earnings so they are always one step ahead in ASS.
True toyota cars or real good ones, I have not ever seen in India .almost all of them are sibilings of etios and liva ,even Fortuner is kind of run off the mill type for me.

Tata and Mahindra does deserve an apprecaition compared to Toyota..sure.

Toyota thinks we Indians are idiots, and that we will buy things looking at only the weird T badge on the grille and the rear. (And I must admit that we have actually been doing that)

I once had a chance to do a 500 km non stop journey in an Innova, and the thing gets horribly scary post 80.

And about the etios and the Liva, the less said the better.
I mean how much does rubber beading on the doors cost?
Such drastic measures for cost cutting.

And the base version Liva (I guess its J) doesnt even get Power Steering.
A 3.99 lakh car doesnt get power steering. [shock]

And fortuner for 25 lakhs. [lol]
What is 25 lakh worthy in it?

I wont comment about the Altis because I havent sampled it yet.

Like every other japanese cars ,toyota is no different but yeah better than maruthi and hyundai though.Qualis was worst one.!!!
I guess he recently bought an Toyota Etios Liva G Diesel.

And the base version Liva (I guess its J) doesnt even get Power Steering.
A 3.99 lakh car doesnt get power steering. [shock]
And do you know the same version(J) costs 5.01 on-road Bangalore
Is it worth?

They are just luring our people in the name of "Q" Class.But its definitely not.
But what surprises me is that even if the Innova is priced exorbitantly people buy it.

But Qualis was really a good product and even now it is!no matter even its used by 2nd owner or 3rd but it has a great demand in Bangalore mainly because of its engine.
I think because of the Qualis they thought that Indians would buy more if they launched Innova for higher price which then turned out to be a flaw in the market but raised when qualis was stopped.

But Qualis was really a good product and even now it is!no matter even its used by 2nd owner or 3rd but it has a great demand in Bangalore mainly because of its engine.
I think because of the Qualis they thought that Indians would buy more if they launched Innova for higher price which then turned out to be a flaw in the market but raised when qualis was stopped.
Qualis was good in terms of its engine and overall build quality. But ride quality was no where near Sumo.

Toyota thinks we Indians are idiots, and that we will buy things looking at only the weird T badge on the grille and the rear. (And I must admit that we have actually been doing that)

I once had a chance to do a 500 km non stop journey in an Innova, and the thing gets horribly scary post 80.

And fortuner for 25 lakhs.
What is 25 lakh worthy in it?
You are right.
Otherwise they would not have dared to introduce a pathetic car like Etios anbd then call it Q Class.

But you know something - They were successful in fooling Indians with the Fortuner. Prized double its actual worth and still people ready to queue up and buy that Camel like monster paying premium. They artificially created a long waiting list by reducing the production rate.
(Yes it has an agressive front pose and a powerful engine. But nothing else to justify the pricing)

I agree toyota engines are good-very good,trouble free and durable but Noise and vibration come as free gifts.
and of course Japanese are very much concerned about their earnings so they are always one step ahead in ASS.
True toyota cars or real good ones, I have not ever seen in India .almost all of them are sibilings of etios and liva ,even Fortuner is kind of run off the mill type for me.

Tata and Mahindra does deserve an apprecaition compared to Toyota..sure.
Xover was an Aria fan. Did he change[confused]

Innova ride quality is not that good but again the build quality and trouble free mechanicals are Toyota strong points.

But these true Toyota cars are also being re called in millions (over the last two years)

Hi Autosafari,

Not sure about the pricing strategy of Fortuner. But, I am very much sure that toyota didn't artificially create long waiting list.

Initially it was like this, toyota planned to sell only 500 units of fortuner per month and they were available only as CKDs. Not sure how it is now.

But you know something - They were successful in
fooling Indians with the Fortuner. Prized double its actual worth and still people ready to queue up and buy that Camel like monster paying premium. They artificially created a long waiting list by reducing the production rate.
(Yes it has an agressive front pose and a powerful engine. But nothing else to justify the pricing)

Innova ride quality is not that good but again the build quality and trouble free mechanicals are Toyota strong points.

Not sure about the pricing strategy of Fortuner. But, I am very much sure that toyota didn't artificially create long waiting list.
If you have driven or traveled in Toyota Hilux (which is more or less like Mahindra bolero camper ) you will realize that toyota is asking for price two times more than what fortuner deserves.

Thread Starter #53
Q class quality my friend. [evil]
Tell me it was a sarcastic comment please!

On a serious note though, actually Fortuner is CKD product hence so costly, Innova's engine comes from JAPAN so it has to be that costly.
Why should I be bothered? Are you saying that I should pay more for a "phoren" product just because it is "phoren"?

Is it my mistake that Toyota is not locally assembling it? Is it my duty to pay for their royalties?

Talking about build quality, its not only abt heavy steel panels fellow, if that would have the case than Safari has to be considered as the best build car ,which is not the case, actually its about screwing your body better and using high quality materials inside out, this is where you can not beat toyota, man, you may hear angels speak but won't listen any toyota rattle or squeak, period.
See my friend, I prefer heavily built cars.

Problems with wafer thin build quality of toyota cars is that they are soooooo damn fragile, you get scared even when a moped comes to close to your car. In a scorpio, i used to shoo them away!

Do you know how much we have spent on body repairs for the innova? the figure is shocking!

At a signal, a cyclist lost balance & fell on my stationary innova, the fender was bent. Expense - 6k

In pune, a biker rear ended my innova. The bumper literally tore apart. no damages to the biker. Expense - 8k.

And there are MANY more. Pathetic! I can just imagine what will be the fate of the car when it has a head on collision with a 8 ton truck! I know you will talk about modern tech, crumple zones, etc. but trust me, I have seen badly mangled innovas.

Build strength does matter to me. ABS/Airbags/EBD is secondary, first is the basic body structure.

Talking about the build quality of tata and mahindra, except ARIA no tata or mahindra is anywhere close, even in fit and finish department except ARIA both tata and mahindra are way behind.XUV500 as good it is, all the reviews point that its qualty is little lacking for the price, and we are not even talking about Scorpios and Boleros or sumos here.
cmon, tell me which innova can take the abuse a scorpio or safari can take? If i throw around my innova like I do to my scorpio, forget rattling, i think the car will disintegrate (exagerration!)

The only advantage tata and mahindra have is of course VFM pricing.Now lets remove tata from this fight because to be honest they are no were in this battle of becoming India's top UV manufacturer( they are barely surviving IMO), but Mahindra definitely has taken the fight to toyota, perhaps they haven't forgotten that 10 yrs ago toyota launched Qualis which literally destroyed M&M, so they priced XYLO 2 lac rs cheaper than INNOVA and now launched XUV500 almost 10 rs cheaper than Fortuner, its obvious that they are aiming at the throat of toyota, kudos to them.
If the toyotas are sooooo good, why does scorpio give such a tough fight to the "phoren" company?

Its all but just an overhyped myth. We Indians always want to use "phoren" products- be it watches, cell phones, electric appliances or cars. We associate them with good brand value & reliability.

:lol!:[shock]

because , in India ,toyota is ''expensive" to buy so people keep it in good condition.IMO.
Bang on! Nobody abuses the innova. but when it comes to mahindra - chalta hain, mahindra hain!

Everybody complains of the gear lever vibration in scorpio. why nobody complains of the same in innova?

People say Innova is more refined. I can vouch for it that Scorpio & Safari is more refined than innova.

And they are right. I am very very unhappy with my innova. It has got reliability, space, more space & more space. Thats about it. No looks, no features, no performance, bad NVH.

Spot on. Anything above 100 in the innova feels like you are pulling the lungs out of it's engine. At 120 kmph, the engine is soooo loud, that you cant hear the music in the car.

I will give you an example -

At 100 kmph,
RPM of innova - 3000
RPM of scorpio - 2000

A whole 1000 rpm less! At 100 kmph, the innova is at 3000 rpm, very near to its redline! I have comfortable cruised in a scorpio at 140 kmph, even taken it to 160. cant do the same with innova.

People say innova's ride quality is good but safari is leagues better. side ways rocking of innova is very bad. also, armrest of innova is rock hard. so problem is, if you keep your hand on the armrests on a bad road, your elbows start paining.

But nobody complains.... "Phoren" Product.

Xover was an Aria fan. Did he change
Man autosafari your comment sent me into fits of laughter, you surely have a nice sense of humor, anyways no I am still good old Xover (the same ardent TATA fan[:)] ), and no I don't own any Toyota and neither plan to own one in future, nor I am a toyota mark, but yet I felt that people on this forum went little bit too far in criticizing toyota, yes all right they are expensive and their body panels are light, but still you just can not ignore the goodwill they have created in India and world over to become one of world's largest car manufacturer.Hope it clears my standing regarding toyota, cheers [thumbsup]

Guys can anyone post few picture of Aria comparing it with XUV ( i don't have any), it will make this thread a little more interesting :please:.Thanks in advance.

a lame attempt with MS paint -
Thanks buddy, few observations:

1] ARIA looks a little wider than XUV.

2] XUV has got lot more muscle and oumph than ARIA.

3]ARIA loooks a little more sophisticated than XUV.

4]The interiors, hmmm, I know that raj you wont agree with me but XUV's interiors look a bit messy to me, atleast on the pics that you have posted, but ARIA's RANGE ROVER inspired dash looks simple and timeless( please don't say really).

5] Aria also looks a bit longer, though XUV looks a tad taller.

More on it later.

Every mother thinks that her children are the best in the world, even if they may be serial killers.

Bias has closed your eyes my friend.

Thread Starter #60
Thanks buddy, few observations:

1] ARIA looks a little wider than XUV.
you are right.

3]ARIA loooks a little more sophisticated than XUV.
i wont say sophisticated, i would say - classy.

4]The interiors, hmmm, I know that raj you wont agree with me but XUV's interiors look a bit messy to me, atleast on the pics that you have posted, but ARIA's RANGE ROVER inspired dash looks simple and timeless( please don't say really).
really? [evil]

I agree. But then it depends. I prefer the XUV's interiors. Even though it "looks" messy, its loaded with features & small nice touches.

Design wise, I have complains with neither. Miles ahead of the much more costlier Fortuner.

5] Aria also looks a bit longer, though XUV looks a tad taller.
100% correct.

More on it later.
[thumbsup]