Looking For An Automatic Transmission Sedan Edit: Bought Sunny CVT!

Re: Looking For An Automatic Transmission Sedan!

@Gurrala JI: Petrol or diesel? If your friend is more than 5'7" in height its tough to get in and out of Honda City.
Can you kindly explain why it is tough for people more then 5:7 to get in and out of Honda city ?
Iam 5"11 I never faced any such issues .

Practically Skoda Rapid very ahead to Vento in term of specifications and comfort. but here in this segment also Verna is the best.
Again can you kindly explain , how and which way is skoda rapid ahead in term of specs and comfort then Vento ?

I am between 5'10" and 5'11" but yet to face any such problem till date.
+100 .

@TSIVipul : as far as I know Hyundai Elantra is new is best in class.And I just said its Altis Diesel is total waste dont have Idea about that.

@Raja: I felt difficult to get into the Honda City getting the head in you should bend the shoulder and even the head tends to get banged.Its not that easy to get in as you get into a Sunny or a Manza or even Fiat Linea for that matter.

Skoda Vs Vento
More wheel base.
Simple dials
Silicon wipers.
Mileage is more than Vento.
Rear legspace is better.
A/C compressor is different.
Engine maping of Skoda is much better.
Driveshaft noise is not noticeable in Rapid.
Suspension is city drive of Rapid is too good but in Vento its very stiff and all potholes you hear DAM DUM only.

@Raja: I felt difficult to get into the Honda City getting the head in you should bend the shoulder and even the head tends to get banged.Its not that easy to get in as you get into a Sunny or a Manza or even Fiat Linea for that matter.
Vipul owns a Honda city , and his height is same as mine he can exactly tell us if his head has banged ever . I have sat in Honda city many times and iam 5" 11 and never faced such problems ever .
Skoda Vs Vento
More wheel base.
Simple dials
Silicon wipers.
Mileage is more than Vento.
Rear legspace is better.
A/C compressor is different.
Engine maping of Skoda is much better.
Driveshaft noise is not noticeable in Rapid.
Suspension is city drive of Rapid is too good but in Vento its very stiff and all potholes you hear DAM DUM only.
Are you sure wheel base is different ? Can you provide some source / link please ?

Here is what I read

Vento and Rapid are built on similar platform sharing common Engine. Know the Difference in Vento and Rapid and know better car choice

Fuel Choices and Transmission

Both Vento and Rapid comes in Petrol and Diesel Fuel in 3 Models each in Manual Transmission. However, Vento comes in Automatic in Top End Model Highline, while Skoda Rapid comes in 2 Models in Automatic - Ambition and Elegance

Engine and Power

Both Cars have Similar 1.6 Lit Engine in both Petrol and Diesel displacing peak power of 105 BHP and peak torque of 153 NM in Petrol and 250 NM in Diesel Fuel

ARAI Mileage

Skoda Rapid Petrol gives mileage of 15 Kmpl, While Diesel Rapid delivers 20.5 Kmpl

VW Vento Petrol gives mileage of 15.04 Kmpl, While Vento Diesel delivers 20.5 Kmpl

Body Dimensions

Skoda Rapid : Length mm - 4386, Width mm - 1699, Height mm - 1466, Ground Clearence mm - 168, Boot Capacity lit - 460, Wheelbase mm - 2552, Kerb Weight - Diesel : 1205 Kg

Volkswagen Vento : Length mm - 4384, Width mm - 1699, Height mm - 1466, Ground Clearence mm - 168, Boot Capacity lit - 480, Wheelbase mm - 2552 , Kerb Weight - Diesel : 1190 Kg

Wondering - Both Cars have similar Engine, Mileage, Body Dimensions, Power and Torque. Know the difference between Vento and Rapid

- Body Exterior Looks - Headlamps, Radiator Grill, Bumper Looks in both Front and Rear of Rapid and Vento.

- The Interiors are even also same. However - the difference is in color tone of dashboard and seats

- Vento however has steering mounted Audio controls with USB and Aux Support - which Skoda Rapid doesnt have in its top end model.

- Skoda Rapid has Chrome Finish on Steering, Gear Knob and Automatic Climate Control Button as against Vento Aluminium Finish

- Rapid gives more choice in Automatic Transmission by having 2 Models compared to one of Vento

- In Terms of Maintenance and After Sales Support - we feel Volkswagen as slight better choice than Skoda.

Source

Skoda Rapid Vs VW Vento.Compare Vento Vs Rapid Difference Better Car

Raja Sir-Our Vento gives 18-23 Km/l in highways.And,Vento and Rapid share same engines.In City,will get 13-15 Km/l.And,IMO,Vento looks better than Rapid.And,one of my friend,who owns Rapid Elegance Diesel,told that my Rapid is giving 16 in City and 18-19 in Highways.But,our Vento averagely gives 18-19 Km/l in 80-140 Km/h speeds.

How's Skoda and VW's cost and quality of service?
Radian-Our Vento's service costed me Rs.11300 in 15K Km service.

RK Sir-Tell your friend to go for Honda City A/T only.As it has Paddle shifts,City is the best bet.Or else,tell him to go for Fiesta Automatic or Ecosport Automatic.Mody Ford has Kinetic Blue and Paprika Red Colors Fiesta Style version.

My colleague and my self test driven the Sunny CVT today. My TD was very short but car was really impressive in every manner. Best part is its huge space inside, steering feedback is good, seat comfort is impressive. Engine behavior and suspension are really good. Car looks really rich and my colleague may finalise this car.

Based on my research and reading Sunny CVT is an awesome car. Nissan claims to have put in the same CVT box in the Micra. I did not consider Sunny CVT since I was looking for a small car that could be driven by my wife.

The older version of Nissan CVT box did have some issues but that is not only fixed but the whole CVT is upgraded to the latest technology called Xtronic. Nissan developed the Xtronic jointly with JATCO.
NISSAN | Nissan and JATCO Develop Innovative, Next-Generation CVT
NISSAN | Nissan Unveils New Generation XTRONIC CVT and New Hybrid System for Front-Wheel Drive Vehicles

I see that Nissan has published loads of technical documents on their CVT. I think they must be looking forward to other Auto makers OEMing their CVTs. I like the confidence (bumping up the warranty to 100K miles) they've on their technology. In spite of several issues with CVT they marched ahead and kept working on the technology and they don't seem to give up. They have put the latest CVT in pretty much all their cars worldwide and it's doing well.

Disclaimer: I've never owned a CVT car. Just sharing my thoughts and a bit of info I gathered.

Thread Starter #40

Initially my colleague wanted to go for Vento and I told him that Vento never looks like a complete sedan to me and from inside also it looks bit small. Only VW logo driving the car and also for budget buyers. I felt Vento AT maintenance would be more some how. Then we shifted to Honda City as every thing looks very reliable and looks and space is good, but My friend was not happy with its GC where he TD the car near his residence where one big speed breaker is located and it hit the car under body when front wheels crossed the speed breaker. After that during the TD of Sunny also it hit the under body as the speed breaker is bit abnormal size, but it hit the body after some time when front wheels crossed the speed breaker and we felt that it may be due to more wheel base of sunny. Finally he liked the space in Sunny and fresh looks as Honda city has become quite common and old now. Also the CVT is something to look at .

We are going to finalise the Sunny CVT today, any quick thoughts on the above story

Heard there's a Sunny facelift sometime soon. Do confirm that before booking one. Added features may have the solved GC issue too.

@Ajay

Yeah there is a facelift coming soon, but some time in 2014 only as our car requirement is immediate. I have checked the facelift features and nothing mentioned about GC there.

So between Honda City and Sunny the GC difference is 5mm, but the suspension setup also matters here. Honda is very reliable but looks dated where Sunny looks fresh and yes the space is like a caaaaaaaaaaaaaar !!

Same colleague owns a Brio Automatic already and quite happy with it, so it is also one reason not to buy one more Honda

@Ajay

Yeah there is a facelift coming soon, but some time in 2014 only as our car requirement is immediate. I have checked the facelift features and nothing mentioned about GC there.

So between Honda City and Sunny the GC difference is 5mm, but the suspension setup also matters here. Honda is very reliable but looks dated where Sunny looks fresh and yes the space is like a caaaaaaaaaaaaaar !!

Same colleague owns a Brio Automatic already and quite happy with it, so it is also one reason not to buy one more Honda
Just had a look at sunny facelift on the web. Its basically a redesign. Much like Micra with a "dikki"[surprise]. Didn't look appealing (am i the only one who feels its not goodlooking?). Nothing on the GC as you rightly pointed out.Book the one currently available. Looks much better. And I completely agree when you say its a caaaaaaaaaaaarrr. Sunny is a beauty

Yes the present one looks better than the facelift Sunny. But face lifted Micra looks good than the old one. Just under the discussion with the Nissan guys right now, will post the final thing after while. Thank you for the information

The present one looks really good. I would not wait for the new one since it's not all that good looking.