K&N Air Filters

ilango[speed thirst];47619 said:
There may not be exact filter for scorpio , but you can go for universal filter[evil]
I did went to the K&N dealer near Bannerghatta road.
He didn't had product for my car.
After the visit & filling a form i got 2 set of K&N stickers from USA.[:)]

Is it worth going for stock filter change to K&N or others on automatic i10? Will it make any difference?

Also is there any negative impact on engine, engine life etc?

ok my take on K&N filter. Am not an engineer or a technical person but just my observations. If it a free flow filter, it allows more air to pass through it. Also this means more particulate matter.
I did a small test- I held a normal cotton filter and the K&N stock filter against a tube-light. I was able to see the pores through the K&N but not in the normal filter. So it is definitely more porous.
Btw i am using stock replacement filter in my Alto 800cc and it definitely has increased the power upfront. Is it causing any engine damage? frankly I don't know. Hope not[confused]
Am not sure if it is worth spending 3k. But a conical air filter with good plumbing work which actually draws in cold air and not the warmed up air under the hood should be fine. Read good plumbing! Thats the most imp thing.
@amiti- U can try a stock replacement to begin with. If u r not happy then switch back to normal filter.

Is it worth going for stock filter change to K&N or others on automatic i10? Will it make any difference?

Also is there any negative impact on engine, engine life etc?
You can sure go for a K&N stock replacement Filter. Its worth paying 3 to 4 k because it lasts at least for 2 lakhs km as compared to the normal filter which needs to be changed at regular service intervals.
It sure doesn't do hard to the engine but inturn helps it breath better. Thats means more power with less pressure on the engine as the air intake is more free.

You can get K&N stock replacement filters at Reliance autozone. Also if you want to buy it from performance professional..let me know I will get you the right contacts... :)

I have heard that Green Cotton filters (stock) are better than K&N one. K&N requires oil to clean or for maintainance but Green cotton does not required. K&N stock air filter for Alto 796 cc costs Rs.2800/- + VAT (approx.) but probably Green is costlier. Moreover Green is not easy to get. Gurus pl. suggest.
Thanks.[confused]

Green Cotton or K&N..I guess that debate can never end.. can someone guide me to dealer for both in Pune? And Also the cost for the basic fitments? I have a Aveo UVA.

Re: Tata Nano Accessories and Modifications

recently found that the stock replacements K&N filters of linea / punto (petrol) will fit tata nano(correct if its wrong- not sure abt this)

@drifter im too planning for an airfilter. and wat is the ECU(OBD2) Protocol of this car.. planning to use ELM 327 OBD2 Real time scan using android app(torque)

Re: Tata Nano Accessories and Modifications

recently found that the stock replacements K&N filters of linea / punto (petrol) will fit tata nano(correct if its wrong- not sure abt this)

@drifter im too planning for an airfilter. and wat is the ECU(OBD2) Protocol of this car.. planning to use ELM 327 OBD2 Real time scan using android app(torque)
If that's the case then I can send you the test air intake revision.

Don't know the protocol as yet as I still try to get a new or used ECU to send it off to my associates. If anyone can supply an ECU (I pay for all cost involved) I would be happy.