Jeep Grand Cherokee & Wrangler Debuts in India (Details Pg.9)

Re: Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

This one is :offtopic: but I need some help in deciding it & no better than this thread -

Can anyone suggest some good SUV in price range of 40L ? [confused]
Shortlisted ones are Audi Q3, Merc ML 250 & Range Rover Evoque. Confused whether to wait or not wait for Grand Cherokee. This will be the first premium SUV in our circle, & I have been trusted to do the job. Now I need to be sure I don't mess up 40L.
:help:
freelander will come for 45 2013 model RRE starts from 60 . Start a new thread we will talk there.

:offtopic: I need to be sure I don't mess up 40L.
By posting this on this thread , you have already taken a step toward mess up!!

2013 model RRE starts from 60 . Start a new thread we will talk there.
+100, else , name this thread as storme vs xuv vs OT:lol!:
BTW , @s class Is it possible to TD RRE in Pune ?

This one is :offtopic: but I need some help in deciding it & no better than this thread -

Can anyone suggest some good SUV in price range of 40L ? [confused]
:help:
S Class, I suggest you wait for the Jeep GC to be launched, which should not take a while, assuming mid of 2013. I can't reveal much, but have seen it's pics showing both the interiors and exteriors and trust me, it is one drool worthy vehicle. Prices weren't disclosed but got a vague idea; 25-35 Lacs, since it was being compared with the Q3, X1, yet to be launched All new Ford Endeavor, and the Fortuner.

Also, to follow the GC would be Wrangler. One look at it made me drool. One would expect an off terrain vehicle such as the Wrangler to have bare basic interiors, but again it is of kind one would never expect.

Happy shopping mean time.

Re: Jeep Wrangler & Cherokee Launch Confirmed For End-2013

@2teja -- at 25-35L you have to give a drool worthy interior, it's primary a lifestyle car and it has to be drool worthy. If you are competing with holy Germans and if you don't have badge prestige, you need to convince your customer that you getting something back in the trade off

Have a look at the ford endy, Suzuki GV, Toyota Fortuner or for that matter the BMW X1, and tell me if you find their interiors even close to luxurious. Also talking about Jeep's brand value, it is well respected, people however might be oblivious to the fact that such a company even exists.

I somehow didn't understand why you wrote the previous comment.

Which SUV

evoque wont be available under 40 L i guess. a friend on another forum bought if for 75L.

audi Q3 fits the budget very well though.

Grand cherokee would mean FIAT and by the history of your love to FIAT , sure FIAT is not your choice.
We were quoted 48L for Evoque at Ace Perkins, Pune.

freelander will come for 45 2013 model RRE starts from 60 . Start a new thread we will talk there.
RRE @ 60 ? Then how come he quoted 48L ? Maybe this is higher version model. Not worth bro, the rear seats lack under thing support & space isn't great either.

BTW , @s class Is it possible to TD RRE in Pune ?
Perhaps yes. You can speak with Ace Perkins of JLR. Freelander2 was there though.

S Class, I suggest you wait for the Jeep GC to be launched, which should not take a while, assuming mid of 2013. I can't reveal much, but have seen it's pics showing both the interiors and exteriors and trust me, it is one drool worthy vehicle. Prices weren't disclosed but got a vague idea; 25-35 Lacs, since it was being compared with the Q3, X1, yet to be launched All new Ford Endeavor, and the Fortuner.
The inputs I got is price will be around 40L on-road for Grand Cherokee for Laredo version. They are pitching it against BMW X3, Audi Q3 & may try to compete with Merc M250 too.

Japs are not liked, so Toyota is out, & Ford too is disliked, so no Endy.
Preference is more towards Europeans for now. I spoke about Cherokee & no matter how good it is, I don't think I can convince to buy just launched product from new brand - JEEP in India.

Also, to follow the GC would be Wrangler. One look at it made me drool. One would expect an off terrain vehicle such as the Wrangler to have bare basic interiors, but again it is of kind one would never expect.
Frankly, no one is going to do off-road in it, it is just that this guy like us have lot of sedans & just for change wants something different. This SUV will be driven by his wife too, so Wrangler will be rejected in picture itself. [lol]
SUV should be such that it should be nice to look at it when parked at nice hotel, shouldn't look like muscleman MLAs or MPs SUV !!

Happy shopping mean time.
Thanks. Will keep updated.
Yesterday night, one guy suggested Volvo XC60 to which I said it is Chinese & it was dropped immediately. [lol]

Re: Which SUV

Yesterday night, one guy suggested Volvo XC60 to which I said it is Chinese & it was dropped immediately. [lol]
:eek: What? XC60 and Chinese??
Volvo is know as one of the safest vehicle manufacturer in the world, rather they invented some of the safety features which are being followed by other manufacturers.
http://www.euroncap.com/results/volvo/xc60/2009/355.aspx

XC60 is one of those rare SUVs which hold good reputation in Elk/Moose tests:

Volvo XC60 - Test drive - Elk test - YouTube

Grand Cherokee's high demand pushes Maserati production from Detroit to Italy

Chrysler no longer plans to build a Maserati SUV called the Levante at its plant in Detroit as demand for the Jeep Grand Cherokee soars.

“Due to the high demand for the Grand Cherokee we reallocated the product to Italy,” Maserati CEO Harald Wester said in January at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit.

The Levante is one of three models that Maserati is counting on as it aims to grow global sales from 6,300 in 2012 to 50,000 by 2015.

The SUV will be built from the same architecture as the Jeep Grand Cherokee.

In 2012, when Chrysler and Fiat CEO Sergio Marchionne unveiled a concept version of a Maserati SUV at the Detroit auto show he said the vehicle would be built at the company’s plant in Detroit and applauded the workforce there for being capable of building a luxury SUV.

But as demand has increased globally for the Grand Cherokee and as Fiat has confronted a recession in Europe, Marchionne decided to produce the vehicle in Europe so the company would not need to close its factory in Mirafiori.

Grand Cherokee's high demand pushes Maserati production from Detroit to Italy | Automakers | Detroit Free Press | freep.com

Cost of FIAT-INDIA's JEEP-GRAND CHEROKEE

This news was obtained/gathered from indianautosblog.com

a surprising move, Jeep has decided to launch the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee in Indonesia weeks after the model’s global debut. That makes Indonesia the first Asian market for the updated Jeep.

The Grand Cherokee facelift was unveiled at the Detroit Auto Show in January with a refreshed front fascia and a revised tailgate and rear bumper. On the inside, the new Grand Cherokee gets new steering wheel, instrument cluster and revamped center console with new aircon vents and a 5- or 8.4-inch touchscreen for the infotainment system.

The SUV gets added safety features like collision warning system, select speed control, front parking sensor, etc,. The company claims that the Grand Cherokee comes with as many as 60 safety features.

For Indonesia, the Grand Cherokee would have two engine options. First is the 3.6-litre Pentastar petrol engine that makes 290 bhp and has an estimated fuel economy of 7.2 kpl in city conditions. The engine is paired to an 8-speed automatic transmission.

The other engine option would be the 6.4 litre HEMI V8 which belts out 470 bhp. The engine sits under the hood of the Grand Cherokee SRT variant and makes use of the same 8 speed auto transmission.

The price of the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee in Indonesia starts at 1.17 billion Indonesian Rupiah (around Rs. 65.33 lakhs) for the Overland variant while the SRT version is priced at 1.5 billion Indonesian Rupiah (around Rs. 83.76 lakhs).

Nagesh Basavanhalli, Managing Director of Chrysler India Automotive told Indian Autos Blog last month that Jeep waited for the availability of the new model, which features updated looks and safety features, before firming up launch plans. The 2014 Jeep Cherokee will be launched in India later this year.

If its Indian equvalent price is 65.33L means what will the cost in India be?
2014-Jeep-Grand-Cherokee-from-NAIAS-2013-3.jpg
2014-Jeep-Grand-Cherokee-from-NAIAS-2013-4.jpg

Will Indians Get this car for Rs.63,00,000?

Will it have the indicator,Cruse control and wiper stalks normally or as inverted in Ford,Skoda,VW ect?

India-bound Jeep Cherokee revealed

These are the first official pictures of the new Jeep Cherokee - the first Jeep-branded product to be created from the ground up by the Fiat-Chrysler alliance. It is slated to be officially unveiled at the New York motor show in March, and will replace the company’s smaller SUV, the Liberty, internationally.

Not to be confused with the Grand Cherokee, which is a full-size luxury SUV, the Cherokee is an entry-level crossover that will rival the likes of theHonda CR-V and Nissan X-Trail In Europe. This could be one of two future smaller Jeep offerings for India and will be positioned below the Wrangler and Grand Cherokee.

The new Jeep Cherokee is based on a version of Fiat’s ‘Compact Wide’ platform, which underpins the US-market Dodge Dart saloon, the Alfa Romeo Giulietta and the Fiat Viaggio. The platform is capable of accommodating a four-wheel-drive system, V6 engines and diesels, all of which will be available in the new Jeep. The petrol V6, which is unlikely to make it to India, will be a 3.2-litre version of Chrysler’s 3.6-litre unit.

It will also be the first Fiat-Chrysler vehicle to get a new nine-speed automatic gearbox. This transmission is said to be “the future of the front-wheel-drive and all-wheel-drive world of Chrysler”, according to CEO Sergio Marchionne.

The new Jeep’s styling is a radical departure from the square, chunky look of the rest of the range, and the overall shape is altogether more curvy. But familiar styling cues like the seven-bar Jeep grille remain – although it appears ‘bent’ across the curve of the bonnet. The unusual headlight cluster uses a pair of slit-like lamps that also house the indicators, while a larger pair of lamps sit below these on either side of the grille. There are attractive touches like chrome detailing and LED light elements to liven up the front end as well.

India-bound Jeep Cherokee revealed | News | Autocar India

font looks like stitched lips. Just one word Ugly.
Design of the headlights looks out of the world.