Honda Brio: Love @ First Drive (Long Term Ownership Review)

Thread Starter #166
2nd gear is indeed notchy, not just in your ride, but across the range (i assume all Brio based I-vtec will have the same problem).

Regarding the AC, do get it checked while servicing.

Meanwhile, my 2 cents, if you are driving alone, close the passenger side vents ~ more air flows towards Driver side. This is what i do [clap]. And the best part is --- when the Home Minister enters, after a while she wonders why the AC isnt cooling and starts cribbing. [evil][lol]

Brio rs when in India
Not much is known. It's better to wait for the new generation next year instead of getting a face-lifted one towards the end of this year. The Indonesian face-lift looks odd, as if the Brio has been given a helmet to wear on the bonnet. It looks confusing. Some websites are saying the face-lift will come to India year-end. But what's the point. Only saving grace could be the new dashboard and ICE (from the photos of the Indonesian version). Still the dash looks like Lajpat Nagar after market fit.

How about Polo VW.. Im getting good discount

Hi friends,

I am planning to buy silver honda brio 2015 model. But I got little confused about which varient to go. As per my budget I am stuck with SMT and VMT. Dealer tells me VMT came with airbag. But when I go through online AB available in top end version VX. Can anyone guide me which one I have to go. I drive long distance some time so only safety things bother for me. And fog lamps also not available in VMT. For only alloys and ABS I have to go for VMT. I not happy with stock tires and alloys also. I am thinking for aftermarket bigger alloys and tires. It gave brio much aggressive loook. Please guide me.

Thank you

@krishnakes VMT is good enough but it has no airbags as far as I know. Last time I checked a month ago in Delhi Lajpat Nagar dealership VMT had no airbags. But it's got ABS-EBD. And in 2016 OTR of 6 lakh only for the reputation of iVTECH is a bit expensive without airbags. So if you're madly in love with the engine only then it makes sense to buy Brio this year. I still suggest wait for new generation next year. If they still keep the same engine but change the rear styling and add some gizmos then it will be nice. Hold your breath :-) I am also eyeing the Brio. Will wait it out. Tiago didn't grab me though it's a nice car in all aspects.

Thanks roadrunner. For my budget I found brio is OK for me. Do you have any another suggestion in brio VMT budget range. I need a small car with enough highway performance. Bcoz i keep traveling kerala to bangalore for visit my family. I am not a great fan of TATA. There build quality I don't preffer. I have other car in mind below
MS Swift
HYUNDAI GRAND I10
MS Celerio

Any suggestions always welcome.

@krishnakes This was expected. It would be difficult to make Honda fanboys switch to Tiago though for all practical purposes Tiago is a good car. I am guilty myself. But don't let unfounded Tata fears bog you down.

If you insist on really getting a Brio the alternative in your budget is of course Swift for power and handling. Both are highway capable hatchbacks. But to keep Celerio in your list when there's Tiago in the market seems like a mistake. From what people who have driven Tiago are saying it does well on the highway too. Except it has a three cylinder motor. While Brio and Swift have four, hence more refinement.

I have an i10. It's not good for highway runs. So your options in your budget is Brio or Swift.

It's a bit of a gamble. If the new Brio comes with the same engine then you can buy the current one if you don't mind the basic dashboard and the rear looks. After all what matters in day to day driving is more of the engine and less of plastic gimmicks :-) Brio won't let you down on this.

The more I think about it I might get the Brio in the next three months. Ha ha

Thanks for your feedback. Actually I need a car now. So only confused to buy which one. For me car should be strong enough to go long distance in a stretch so only I was not consider celerio and grand i10. In this case brio and swift almost same. New swift look sporty inside out. But considering some features I like it crossing my budget. Today going for check swift. See you back then.

Hello All,
I want to buy pre owned 2year old Honda brio in Hyderabad; my budget upto 3Lacs
please provide your thoughts on usage of Brio
1) Fuel Efficiency - How much one can expect from a 2 / 3 year old petrol car?
2) Maintenance charges - How much does it cost?
3) Any niggles in Brio car till date
4) Honda After sales??? - Any one from Hyderabad
5)if there is anything feel free to include

Cheers!!

Hello All,

Cheers!!
First of all welcome to TAI the only reason i joined TAI as i see many Brio owners were already boarded here, Ok i am kidding there were other reasons too. Let me try answering your questions.

1) Mine will be completing 3 years in another two days and i do get a satisfied FE in Blore maniac traffic. I eaisly get 12.5 to 13.4 kmpl with AC on all the time. My last tankfull gave me avg of 13.2. Worst FE i have got till date was 9.2 as per mid for a 13km ride where it took around 1.3 hrs to cover the same.
2) Honda has become greedy with 6month 10k kms service interval and it cost fairly between 3 to 5k based on major and minor service. Remember i do get wheel alignment and balancing done from their service centers.
4) Not sure of HYD folks can help here but do chose your advisor wisely. As my car always goes to same center but i dont get same advisor everytime. Last time wheel balancing was not done well and car use to wobble at 100+, i gave strict instruction to do check same and share the results with me. They did fixed and car is running smoothly now as like new one.

3) its fantastic car you need to understand the behavior to enjot the peppy pot as people do say about its pulling power in low gears. I must say Brio has given less trouble than our i20(diesel) to us

5) do check out the boot space as slowly we realized we need a bigger car but instead of trading brio we will be trading i20 as nobody in my family wanted to part ways with brio

Thanks for your response, BrioLover!
seems like your family is attached to this cute looking car.
i read quite a few posts on its peppy engine and its performance; Boot will not be deal breaker for me. mine is a nucleus family so no problemo.
i have couple of questions:
- which model is yours?
- How much is ideal to pay for 2014 model?
- is it true that after 3 years cars go under major service maintenance?
Appreciate your time!

Cheers mate.

Thanks for your response, BrioLover!
seems like your family is attached to this cute looking car.
i read quite a few posts on its peppy engine and its performance; Boot will not be deal breaker for me. mine is a nucleus family so no problemo.
i have couple of questions:
- which model is yours?
- How much is ideal to pay for 2014 model?
- is it true that after 3 years cars go under major service maintenance?
Appreciate your time!

Cheers mate.
You can get the service maintenance from our fellow member(Nitin) itself, He has listed till date service cost of his Brio. Mine is 2013 model and yesterday we completed 3 years of companionship.
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/ownership-reviews/8647-my-honda-brio-smt-rallye-red-45.html

Thread Starter #179
Hello All,

Cheers!!
Welcome Aboard to TAI. Hope you have a wonderful stay here.

Regarding your shortlist, i would say a good one to end up with, if you are looking for a petrol car, to run in the city, and the occasional Highway trips, provided you travel light.

Now, lets give my two cents to your queries.

The Peppy Pot has been "Loving me back" since almost 4 years (complete by June end), and has given 12-14kmpl with AC in city limits, and 20-21kmpl on highways. And with i-Vtec one could definitely vouch it to give a better efficiency compared to other Petrol engines in the same segment.

Please read post#157 of this thread where the complete history has been mentioned. Current ODO reads just over 38k kms.

Nothing so far, touch wood.

To be honest, i've been travelling across the southern part of our beautiful Country, from Navi Mumbai to Bangalore and now in Pune, every service center has been good, no unnecessary stuffs pushed by Service Advisers if we are aware and sure of what we want.

Before you buy, get the vehicle service history from Honda, check every inch of the car, get test drives done. Also, do check the prices online for second hand beauties. Again, my two cents, if you could get hold of a model with ABS and airbags, do not think twice. Safety first, always!

Take care & [drive] Safe!

Thread Starter #180
The driver side disc seem to have rust spots, the other side isnt bad. This happened after the machining of surface which was done last year while changing the brake pads. [anger]

Will drop in at the service center to check and take necessary precautions, with monsoon almost set to enter our country in a few weeks from here.

Anybody else facing this issue? [thinking]