Honda Brings Mobilio To Take on Maruti Suzuki Ertiga (Details From Pg.18)

Re: Honda Contemplating To Bring Maruti Ertiga Rival: Named Mobilio

To all guys who think Ertiga is underpowered:
Please go through the comparison i quickly popullated for power to weight ratio between other MUVs. [Note: if some data is not correct, let me know so that i can correct it]
Power to weight ratio is something that actually decides whether the Car can pull easily and not the mere BHP count. BHP count, i believe is just to lure the masses.

Ertiga scores high on this parameter [:D], and well thats the reason i say that Ertiga is not underpowered!
I dont know what was the discussion all about. Have not followed this thread regularly. I bumped into the image. I am guessing its the power comparison between ertiga and mobilio.
Mobilio is expected to be out with 100PS (105bhp@4000rpm) 1500cc. And ertiga is 90BHP.
And i-dtec are known for good mileage figures. So it can be counted upon too.

Ertiga is good car and is VFM. One should not compare it with segment best (Innova), as top end model difference is close to 9 Lakhs between them. Remember, Maruti advertise Ertiga as 5+2 vehicle and never 7 seater. Ertiga is better used as 5 seater on regular basis and occasional 7 seater.
Since Ertiga is developed on swift platform, it behaves (handling) like a car and gives millege like a Car (there are many factors behind this though)
Very good comparison man it was an eye opener .
Earlier I too had the feeling why a 89 BHP engine in an MUV but you are right on every aspect.
But yes it is a proper 5seater not a 7seater.
Who said it is not a proper 7 seater?
It can carry 7 people of decent height comfortably. Just that it has monocoque construction with Swift platform and 1.3l engine doesn't mean it is just a 5 seater.
The 3rd row is way more comfortable than any other MPV/SUV within 20 lac range.
Packaging and flexibility are the Ertiga's highlights. Moreover, it is quicker than the Manza and Linea which have same power and are lighter than the LUV.
Now you have to seriously understand these points.

Who said it is not a proper 7 seater?
It can carry 7 people of decent height comfortably. Just that it has monocoque construction with Swift platform and 1.3l engine doesn't mean it is just a 5 seater.
As mentioned somewhere in my post in this thread, i have carried 7 people for a day long trip without an issue. So yes, it does carry 7 people & pulls well.
When i say it is better used as 5 seater, means you can push back the second row till the limiting end and recline the back seat it to a more comfortable angle, and pull out the arm rest and then you feel like sitting in the first class of plane. I mean it!

I agree for the seating comfort what ertiga offers is far better than several other vehicles. The chart numbers may say good figures but my ertiga has fallen apart after 50k kms. a sedan could have been a better drive and ride comfort after several thgousand kms.
My opinion is Ertiga/mobilio can be an occasional 7 seater car and Innova at anyday can be all day 7 seater car.

I agree for the seating comfort what ertiga offers is far better than several other vehicles. The chart numbers may say good figures but my ertiga has fallen apart after 50k kms. a sedan could have been a better drive and ride comfort after several thgousand kms.
My opinion is Ertiga/mobilio can be an occasional 7 seater car and Innova at anyday can be all day 7 seater car.
Why so?
What happened?

I feel the kind of robust feel is not there in my ertiga which is there one and only in innova. Ofcourse it's maruti's well-built to cost vehicle. No offense pl. this is purely my feel and opinion.

To the cost you pay you get the car. It has flimsy built compared to swift. rattles a lot. At this < 10 lacs cost Ertiga fulfills a 7seater's requirement.But im not convinced with it for longer drives. It is not like swift's performance after 50k+ as our family owns swift which has done 48k+ in a span of 2 yrs. Im comparing highway performance of two different segments with same engine.

So when you said your Ertiga has "fallen apart", you meant "rattles" + or "poor performance" on long drives.

Completely agree to your point. I am of the view that a purchase should be a sedan or a proper SUV. No cross hybrid's. Period [clap]

To me MUV's are not cross hybrids. MUV is a different category all together like sedan or SUV.
Do we compare apples with mangos?
Anyway if a comparison is to be done here, its fair to do between MUV's [:)]

To me MUV's are not cross hybrids. MUV is a different category all together like sedan or SUV.
Do we compare apples with mangos?
Anyway if a comparison is to be done here, its fair to do between MUV's [:)]
Did I just compare a MUV to an SUV/Sedan ? I had just kept down my way of looking at a MUV/MPV.

I know apples and mangoes are different and you cannot compare them. But then there are vehicles that are called "Hatches On steroids". Yes, those are the "hybrids" I was referring to. No Offence

Rattles doesn't mean it is falling apart. They are usual interior rattles which are being fixed by the service people and all owners are getting fixed.
That doesn't mean it is flimsy.
How can you compare the much lighter Swift's performance with an MPV even though it has same engine? But, even in terms of performance, it is the best highway cruiser around 10 lacs. In the case, you have something wrong with your Ertiga, just get it checked.

More Details about Honda Mobilio.

90% localization.
Best in Class Interior Space.
Best in Class Mileage.
Space for 7 Passengers.
Longer then Maruti Ertiga.

Honda is aiming for Competitive pricing and will be launched before July 2014.