Ford Figo Aspire Launched in India (Coverage: Pg.21)

Fiat punto is still using the well calibrated hydraulic steering which is a benchmark. The 2014 ford fiesta has an EPS but still it has one of the best steering south of 25 lakhs.

One thing baffles me is why didn't ford go out and market the car and focus only on ecosport ?

If we observe the time when the global fiesta was launched in india and the time it was discontinued there has been lacklustre marketing by ford for the fiesta.

People buy what suits them and if fiat is having only 2 per cent share then that shows that there is a negligible population who consider driving dynamics as a priority before purchasing a car.

Fiat punto is still using the well calibrated hydraulic steering which is a benchmark. The 2014 ford fiesta has an EPS but still it has one of the best steering south of 25 lakhs.

One thing baffles me is why didn't ford go out and market the car and focus only on ecosport ?

If we observe the time when the global fiesta was launched in india and the time it was discontinued there has been lacklustre marketing by ford for the fiesta.

People buy what suits them and if fiat is having only 2 per cent share then that shows that there is a negligible population who consider driving dynamics as a priority before purchasing a car.
The reason is simple, the global Fiesta when launched back in 2011 was over priced when compared to Verna and Vento , so once a product gets a bad image at start there is no way it can recapture market unless it is a Maruti or Hyundai,
So Ford itself knew the Fiesta is not going to make any numbers, in fact Ford itself positioned Fiesta as a brand builder than a car for the moment,
And we see how Ecosport is faring, its doing fantastic job despite heavy competition from Mahindra,Maruti,Renault,Hyundai, so it proves that India needs something like Ecosport which is actually not a true European Ford like the Fiesta,
So now One Ford strategy is up and the ASEAN population will get a new B500 Fiesta which will be based on global 2017 Fiesta chassis but with probably more back seat space,wider cabin,probably lighter built quality to get the best mileage figures as well
Indians didnt want a true Ford to survive in India and hence Ford is making an Indian Ford for us not that true good old European Ford[embarass]

Is there any possibility that we can see a true ford for india in coming years under 10 lakh price bracket ??
No, I dont think we will find another true Ford below 15 lakhs INR,
New Ford Kuga might get launched in India by 2018 with a 1.5l 120 HP,300 NM motor, that will be a great SUV which will face the upcoming Hyundai Tuscon 1.6 crdi,

Hi 1989rs500, Tata has started a new showroom, Trivandrum motors, in TVM. Did your friend had bad experience there? Iam also planning to buy a Zest or Aspire. But the service concern of Tata is holding me back.

Where,
I just know about Mohandas Motors which sucks big time, no other tat dealer that I know of,
If there is a new show room and dealer its highly likely that they will have a good start,
Never try Mohandas Motors, they are really bad,
Anyway could you give any address or contact details of this new dealer?

The on road price between fiat punto diesel top end and ford figo diesel top end is 40,000. Considering use upto 7-8 years, which is a good buy ? Highway and city use 50-50 %. Fiat service is good in hyderabad

It depends on person to person, I have some issues with Fiat,
Like the driving position is not to my taste, then the gearbox which felt tio gruff to my liking,
I didnt like the seat design of Fiat Punto as well, the countour didnt give me a comfortable ergonomic feel,

So a test drive,long one is MUST, on a short drive I fell in love with Linea T Jet, but when Intested Punto for a long 15 km test drive, I felt it didnt suit me,
Also I had a wierd feeling when pressing the spongy clutch of Fiat, it travelled in an arc like motion to the floor rather than a linear motion like in lot of other cars.
Also I hated the terrible turbo lag in city speeds.

So if @kishore108 dosent face any such issue with Punto, go for it,its a fun,safe,and smart, machine,
I for one has some personal issues with it that made me stay away from it and biggest problem of course was service.

My major grouse is safety and driving dynamics, Which the current figo is poor at.

Fiat has both but the engine is lack lustre
I cant say its poor but its just on par with the competition not the special Figo that it used to be, Fiat is the special Fiat it used to be and thats its high point, but I feel its let down by poor engine and some ergonomic issues and service

If Fiat service is not an issue move with Fiat, its an amazing drivers machine, and probably the last drivers car Indian market will ever find.

@1989 rs500, kishore, I have decided to buy zest xt diesel. I very much liked VW polo but the nearest service centre is 200 km far so as this is going to be my first car don't want to take risks. Initially I liked ford figo/aspire models n even booked but after going through lot of posts I came to conclusion that ford build quality is not so great than maruthi, hyundai n ford service here is same as TaTa. I td ford figo,vw polo n zest. Zest is not so fun than polo n not faster than figo but heavier than figo even the doors stronger a bit than vw polo. Still I am lil apprehensive about the quality of zest diesel but thought 9 lak price range it's a safer bet. I don't understand tata move of downgrading Xms varients. I tried searching hard in this forum n team bhp about zest diesel engine issues after nearly 2 years of its launch but couldn't find any except for petrol engine power loss issues. Members, kindly do let me know if any major issues exist with zest diesel. Thanks.

Its the 1.3 MJD diesel its very reliable engine, no question about that, yes go forward with Zest if service is fine, its a fantastic vehicle, you will never regret buying it over the Dzire,Xent,Amaze, between Figo Aspire and Zest, its just service that separates them apart, if Tata is good over there just buy it, its a totally amazing machine that is not doing well in our market only because of some peoples wrong notion of Tata as taxi maker, they are far far from that now, definitely the best Indian brand by a huge huge margin to Maruti,mahindra,Bajaj,etc