Ford EcoSport Review & Pictures

Re: First Drive: Ford EcoSport Test Drive Review

I happened to see all three cars together. I am putting the photos also ..Here are my observations
  1. From the Front, Endeavor and Ecosport has almost similar road presence. With a higher ground clearance, Endeavor poses a more butchy look
  2. Figo looks much smaller that ES and that is the fact as well.
  3. From Side view, ecosport looks much smaller that Endeavor
  4. In the rear, if Ecosport gets a wheel cover, then the road presence wiil be same
Ecosport in simple words just looks superbly stunning .

I think ford dealers are accepting unofficial bookings. Today one of the dealers called up me and asked whether I am looking for only ecosport. She suggested me to go for other vehicles like figo or fiesta because already so many bookings are done for Ford ecosport it seems and she said I need to wait for 6 months to get vehicle delivered.

@victorytiger I think it was to make you go for other vehicles fearing for decline in the sales of figo and fiesta which is more than obvous by many reasons.

@victorytiger i too feel the same as vicky . as everyone or most of the people are aware of ES now they may tend to hold on their next ford purchase which may lead to stock holdings with Ford dealers . so its better to wait until ES arrives .

Good pics anumod,

But I would say or rather differ about road presence of ES vis a vis Endy. ES does look good & has better road presence than hatches, but buddy, Endy is way too big & powerful than ES & can easily bully out the ES. If size (& price) is not an issue, I would pick Endy over ES any day.

The launch date is somewhere after 11th June. But if you are looking for 5 seater, then forget ES as it is strictly 4 seater. Even a mouse will find it hard to sit between 2 normal adults in rear seat. [lol]

There are also confirmed reports that Nissan is launching better looking version of Duster by end of this year. Those looking at proper 5 seater, can surely then wait till Nov & check out Nissan's duster.

@ 350Z,

Great review of ES, as always. Good. [clap]

Ford Eco Sport to launch in June 11.

Ecosports will be launched in India by June 11. According to a report on Autojunction.in, the Ford EcoSport will launch on June 11. After unveiling the car at the 2012 Auto Expo, nearly a year and a half ago, Ford seems to be finally ready to bring it to the market.

The EcoSport’s media drive was conducted in Goa this month where Ford officials finally revealed details such as the technical specifications of the car, the trim levels it would come in and the features list. Ford SYNC and the emergency assistance were also detailed during the event.
Parallely, Ford has been conducting a marketing campaign called the ‘EcoSport Urban Discoveries’. Ford officials had earlier said that the car would be launched after the Urban Discoveries program concluded,sometime in June.
The Ford EcoSport will go on sale with three engine choices from Day 1. The base variant of the car would be powered by a 1.5-liter four cylinder petrol engine, also available on the new Fiesta. This engine will be offered with a 5-speed manual or a 6-speed dual clutch gearbox.

Moving higher up, the EcoSport will be offered with the 1.0-liter three cylinder EcoBoost engine. The EcoBoost engine will be offered only in the top-end trim levels Titanium and the Titanium Plus. A 5-speed manual is the sole transmission option.
The 1.5-liter diesel engine also coming from the new Fiesta will form the more expensive (and sought after) model which also comes only with a 5-speed manual transmission.

Ford EcoSport to launch on June 11?

Good pics anumod,

There are also confirmed reports that Nissan is launching better looking version of Duster by end of this year. Those looking at proper 5 seater, can surely then wait till Nov & check out Nissan's duster.
I do not believe that Nissan's duster will be cheaper than renaults.

can some one tell me how the stearing and blind spot.

it two other reviewa they mentioned stearing is not like the new fieta or figo its some thing like the verna or hyundai type

is that piller on front is too big to cause blind spot

I do not believe that Nissan's duster will be cheaper than renaults.
Why ? Can you explain please ?
I think Duster has spoiled price expectations and strategies for Indian compact suv market. Basically Duster is a sedan with suv looks. But just because it looks like a suv there is extra 2Lac price added it. People are still happily buying it with out any reasoning [evil].

Since its selling hot cake any new additions to this 'class' including Ecosport, Nissan Duster would be priced close to Duster's price [frustration]. I feel even Ecosport will be sold Duster Price minus 1 or 1.5 Lac, which is still too high. If you just take out SUV(Look) from your checklist, there are lots of sedan options(City, Vento, Rapid, Verna....) at the top end varients available still you would be left with some money for petrol!

I wont buy Ecosport at 12 Lacs or Duster at 14 Lacs(OTR in KA). But still the buzz of 'Killer Price for ES' keeping me on the hold.[roll]

well this is going slightly OT but let me try n explain what I think.

Duster has been a huge hit even being from a new company(in india) with small dealer base, had low pricing initially but priced as a premium now competing with XUV's and innova which bring more value for money (in terms of style, road presence, engine power ,comfort and looks) on any given day than duster.

Renault won't allow nissan to prices its version on the lower side as every potential customer for renault would run towards the "new improved duster" from nissan if it is at the same price level or lower, and that would only result in customers buying a better product from the same company at a lower price,why would a company want that, at a time when ppl are happily paying a premium for a product which costs them less than the new one.

It would be kinda stupid to bring out a new product, spend a lot on marketing and other things just to replace a product in the same or lower price band.

I believe nissan's duster would be something (no exactly) like a fortuner to innova.

Better looking, better in performance and very pricy compared to duster.[:D]

The above 4m mark of renault duster and nissan duster will accept the 27% excise duty and nissan Duster wont have much appreciable feature list from what Duster has so one will be prompted to go to higher variants to get good features and a reasonable price tag, that will make Nissan dusters base variant a dummy so higher trims higher price tag so it will be priced higher than Ecosport, Ecosports real competition according to me is VW Taigun, a mini SUV from VW, but it too has negatives like no spare wheel, but advantages are really good, superb design same space as ecosport, excellent interior fit and finish, better low speed ride, 1.0 l 3 cylinder turbo petrol with 120 bhp @ 6000 rpm and 175 NM@ 1500 rpm the same engine found in VW UP GT but since new Taigun just weighs 963 kg 0-100 will be around 9.5s and performance will be amazing and milage might go upto 20 kmpl, so i for one will be waiting for VW Taigun which too is under 4m to get launched in India by 2014 end possibly, Ecosport will remain the tech king for sub 10 lakh the next few years though.

Spotted the ES 3 times since past week in Bangalore, those TN 19 XX cars. Could not click any photo as I was moving.

Though the vehicle has got some good road presence, but it is not as big as Duster.

I will be interested in ES only if pricing is less than Dzire/Amaze, else it is not worth, no matter how one emphasises on high GC & 550 mm water wading. And forget car, do we even walk on road if there is 550 mm water with our amphibious legs ? [lol] Not to forget that cabin space in ES is far less than Dzire. As said before, if Ford is looking at Duster as its competition, it will fail miserably. Ford should rather look at Dzire, Amaze, Quanto, Rio & i20 as its competition.

## The 16" wheels & Microsoft Sync is available only in top end Titanium version, so no point in going ga-ga over it as it is not present across the range.

S Class I absolutely agree with you. I guess its only me and you in this forums who are stating the price should be at Amaze/i20 level. only then it would be a hit.