Ford EcoSport Review & Pictures

Re: First Drive: Ford EcoSport Test Drive Review

How come we aren't getting any leaks on prices..
Ford seems too tight lipped about it. Even with launch expected in less than a fortnight's time.

Amazing write up Vibhor[clap], being a ford user yourself do you think the ecosport stands out from the competitors looking at the current innovative market

Ecosport was much talked about from a long time but sometimes or most of the times we feel any product which is not out in the right time with the right price is really not going to turn out the market making huge numbers, though the product looks better than duster in styling and appeal, how do you rate the vehicle with its built does the thud sound from the door is same as a fiesta

Do you think the top end of the petrol version would deserve somewhere around 10 lakhs, and after you conversation with Ford guys what do you think the pricing would be, when there is such time taken the pricing can go the either ways i still remember the All new fiesta of 2012 though a great product the pricing killed it, somewhere closer/lesser to the vento and rapid would have had more takers i assume

I believe even duster is a let down due to it pricing 14Lakhs OTR bangalore for a top end diesel version [lol] i would have gone for a safari Dicor which has the power under the hood and the 3.0 litre over the 85ps duster, somewhat felt like duster is neither here nor there

Do you feel with ecosport can Ford start turning or ticking more sales figures, the looks and appeal surely does but the pricing and quality would be the deciding factors

Would you buy it as your First/second car ?
The new Fiesta was a market dud because it is the car in that class with least rear legroom and nothing else, in Europe and most other places in the world the Fiesta is a grand success because Ford didnt release it as sedan but as a hatchback which it is actually and unlike the Vento which is completely redesigned to fit a boot the Fiesta sedan is just an elongated hatch so with that less space nobody will buy it what ever the price may be, i am sure if ford had priced the new fiesta lower than the verna itself it wouldnt have been a success in india because the lack of space is very prominent.

Excellent Review 350Z, you covered up all the important things.
I feel Ford has invested a lot of time, effort & money in making it a success but they just need to keep one thing in mind. If it is not priced rightly, the Indians won't appreciate it!
And I feel they would set the price of the base model between 7-7.5lakhs. If its under 6.5-7lakh, Ford has done an outstanding job.

When Duster was launched , its diesel base variant was priced 7.99 Lac(ex-showroom).

Now that same model cost around 8.74 Lac (ex -showroom).

Keeping in mind the boot , the built duster possess , i think Ecosport diesel base variant should cost some where around 7.5 lac + taxes.

Ford can anytime increase the price after the model start selling like hot cake like Renault did in case of Duster.

I HOPE FORD PEOPLE ARE READING ME BY SOME MEAN :)

Members in this forum are doing market research for the price predictions and the product positioning etc. FORD can get valuable news from this thread. But at the end of the day its all about their pricing strategy and to position EcoSport without cannibalizing Classic.

hello Mohit8 do you think Ecosport drives like a Hyundai,honda,Polo etc no, it drives better than the best Hyundai car ever made, better than Honda city, VW vento, polo etc so do you think we are privileged enough to buy such a beautiful handling car from Ford with such a low price tag.

The features to offer, reclining seats,I again repeat the best AC you can get in a car under Rs 15 lakh,the best music System you can get in a car under Rs 15 lakh,The added ground clearance, and fore most of all just look at the sheer design theme going on in Ecosoprt, it looks smashing like a mini range rover Evoque, and do you think Fords design team is mad enough to price it so low so that only the customer benefits, what about the hard work they put on the Ecosport project to keep it under 4m mark and still have the macho looks and best possible legroom, who pays for one of the best suspension setups in a sub 4m car ever built
The 1.0 Ecoboost engine first of all its an import and secondly its the best engine in the world by a wide winning margin over its competitors which included the 1.4 TSI of VW with cylinder shutdown as well.

The the solidity of FORD,I have driven Hyundai i20 its like a plastic car well carved with lots of features and no cabin insulation and superb fit and finish, but please just try closing the door of a Hyundai and a Ford at a time and you will find the Hyundai simply cant match the Fords solidity and thud it makes and that aids better secure feel at high speeds and better NVH levles and as for me except for VW polo there is no direct quality competitor for Ford in my diary. rest all of the cars in the above quoted price range have strengths and lots of weaknesses as well, if practicality is the primary concern Ecosport may not fit a persons imagination as its not completely made for practicality its something more than that i believe a desire to own something thats fairly practical and more importantly an engineering marvel .
Yes you are correct but I am not comparing Ford car to Hyundai, Honda or VW, no companies are having 100% perfect car even Ford also. I just post my views about killer pricing, If they follow Figo like strategy then they will get volume that was my personal opinion only.

Honda is having good interior, quality plastic and award winning proven petrol engine but there is no ACC, not too good music system etc..
Hyundai Verna is having one of the best interior but again we heard Steering is not good, on high speed it is not good etc..

I think it’s not just about pricing, India is all about value for money. If people see value they will definitely pay and I am totally agree with you that Ecosport is having every thing which any one dream under 10 lakh car. I just want to explain that with all features it is under 4 meter, not too good backseat space, average plastic quality, less boot space, may be base model will come with 15 inch wheel (not Alloys wheel), +excise benefit + around 70% localization benefit that’s why I was thinking that your prospective price for base model or 1.5 Tivct is too high.

Lots of people will agree that New Fiesta is very good car in terms of drivability, Music System and in other features also but again it is market dud, reason wrong pricing by Ford at the time of launch and over past one year we have seen that Ford has struggling to sell New Fiesta sedan despite being loaded with exciting features and available at reduced price.

I felt that After Figo launch, they have done the homework but they surprised with Fiesta pricing. Hopefully EcoSport should bring more numbers and this time Ford will not repeat Fiesta history.

It will be good If Ford launch EcoSport at an introductory price of 5.XXXX lacs but after a few months just like what we saw with XUV500 and Duster, the price will be increased.

But still, I may buy this one, if price will be really competitive [;)]

A Ford dealer in Mumbai has confirmed EcoSport will be up for display in the first week of June. Also, test drive will be available from the same week.

There are many reviews out there but I am yet to across a review which gives answers to following:

1. Make and output quality of music system and speakers
2. Comparison of width and leg room available for rear seat passengers with that of Swift, i20, Vista, etc.
3. Rear view seems to be limited. Ease of reverse parking without using reverse parking sensors
4. Apart from fuel and seat belt warning, are there any other warnings displayed viz. tire pressure, etc.

This is my firstpost on the forum. I called up a dealer in B'lore this morning and as per his update the display/td and booking would start in mid June, he also told me ford is planning for a online booking of the car.
The most imp factor he mentioned was the prices would be competitive and Ford cannot have another dud as NFS. He had a 2 day training program for the same car.

What Ford’s EcoSport will bring with it is the technically sound 1 Liter turbocharged EcoBoost petrol engine first time to India. What EcoBoost engine will bring to India is a promise of both power and fuel efficiency at the same time.

For those who are unaware, along with a couple of other engines Ford EcoSport will be powered by Ford’s latest 999cc 3 cylinder turbocharged GTDI EcoBoost petrol engine. Despite its puny size, it produces a fantastic 125PS of peak power output as well as a diesel like maximum 170Nm of torque. Add to this the fact that it has an ARAI certified fuel efficiency figures of a whooping 18.9kmpl!

Interestingly, this is Ford’s first ever 3 cylinder petrol engine. More interestingly, at 125PS per liter, this engine has the highest power per liter as compared to any other Ford’s production engine! Power per liter showcases how efficient an engine design is.

How it Stacks up

Ford is claiming that this 1L EcoBoost engine is

8 percent more powerful than a regular 1.6L diesel engine
7 percent more torquey than a 1.6L petrol engine
Upto 20 percent better fuel economy
If we talk about its torque curves, EcoBoost’s peak torque of 170Nm comes in as early as 1400rpm and and continues till 4500 rpm. This means it has a huge torque band which keeps the car happy and you free from frequent gear changes. According to a graph shared by Ford, in comparison to the regular 1.6L petrol and diesel engines, EcoBoost offers a consistent and long torque band which doesn’t tapper off as early as diesels.

For the records, EcoBoost engine can rev till 6500 rpm until the cut-off sneaks in. Ford is considering this EcoBoost engine as one of the most remarkable achievements for them and a technically sound gift to India. We have driven the EcoBoost powered EcoSport in Goa and our initial impressions do echo similar thoughts.

The EcoBoost drives fantastically well. Though, its not an absolute driver’s delight but it will definitely put many other bigger engines to shame when it comes to outright acceleration as well as absolute driveability! Ford will offer the EcoSport will EcoBoost in only the top Titanium and Titanium (O) variants when it gets launched sometime in June (More Details on EcoSport Variants).

This engine will also power Ford’s upcoming cars in India. So, how much will you be ready to pay for the EcoSport EcoBoost Titanium?

1L EcoBoost is Ford's Highest Power per Liter Engine in the World [w Torque Graph] | MotorBash.com

As always, Raja came with Very detailed and Very elaborate information about EcoBoost.

Yesterday one of my friend visited Nissan service center and got to know that Nissan will start road test for his duster base SUV after 20th June and may be launch in Diwali. It seems in India mini SUV and SUV segment will get more competition in coming months and we as a buyer will have lots of option.

Yes you are correct but I am not comparing Ford car to Hyundai, Honda or VW, no companies are having 100% perfect car even Ford also. I just post my views about killer pricing, If they follow Figo like strategy then they will get volume that was my personal opinion only. ..........
Mohit8 you are absolutely right but the reason for the New Fiestas failure is not its pricing, 3 things killed the Fiesta 1.)Verna and Vento both are more spacious and has biege interior 2.)both have 1.6l engines with much better low end torque, low end torque is so important in our country India because at start stop traffic one dosent have to revv the engine each time above 2000 rpm to keep going which has to be done in Fiesta which is a shame because even the Figo and Ford Classic has better low end response then the New Fiesta 3.) Rear legroom
New Fiesta was a complete flop top to bottom no worries regarding that because it was ford global strategy to release fiesta in India as well but ford should have opposed the global Fords decision because in a country like India the 3 factors that i mentioned above are very very important more than anything even pricing, if Fiesta was priced lower than verna and vento itself it would have been the same situation, Fiesta is a hot seller for Ford in Europe but that wont happen everywhere and Ford tried desperately to reduce price by down Sizing the 1.6 TDCI to 1.5 which further kliled it fun to drive appeal as well, Ford is a sporty brand and if it stays with its DNA it will win, if not and if they concentrate on VFM milage safety etc they will fail, i have seen atleast 2-4 people in kairali ford TVM where they test drove Fiesta and told no power, see if Ford had nothing but atleast power it would have remained atleast as an enthusiasts choice, but as of now not even enthusiasts want it because Vento has the best combination of power and handling so Ecosport being a beffed up FIESTA HATCHBACK its got what it takes to compete the entry level sedans and the premium hatchback segment and even if priced from 6.6-9.9l onroad it should have good sales but if priced under 5.xxx lakh, Ecosport will be a mega hit, something like the SWift which revolutionized the Indian market during 2006

What Ford’s EcoSport will bring with it is the technically sound 1 Liter turbocharged EcoBoost petrol engine first time to India. What EcoBoost engine will bring to India is a promise of both power and fuel efficiency at the same time.
He he Ford is very clever in giving the data sheets the 1.6l Diesel engine they are pointing towards is the 1.6 TDCi zetec series engine which produces 115 hp @4000 rpm and 270 NM @2000-3500 rpm, that diesel engine has huge turbo lag below 2000 rpm and once past it its a beast and milage is very impressive for this engine around 22 kmpl
but what we get here in India is the 1.5 TDCi @3750 rpm 204 NM @2000-2750 rpm, one of the worst tuned diesel engine of Ford, and it has almost 0 torque under 2000 rpm ultra sluggish

I got disappointed with 1 news as well the Autocar india Magazine has the first drive report of the Ford Ecosport 1.0 Ecoboost and they posted a 0-100 kmph time of 13.6s, thats very poor i think, either the magazine is wrong or Ford has tuned Ecoboost wildly for efficiency which they usually do to spoil their products, the video of 0-100 kmph by motorbeam shows 10.8s. I hope with gps it will be around 11.2 or 11.5 s, but the 13.6 s is too slow for a turbo petrol

In a pic to compare with Endeavour & Figo, ES looks similar height of Figo. Are they?
I happened to see all three cars together. I am putting the photos also ..Here are my observations
  1. From the Front, Endeavor and Ecosport has almost similar road presence. With a higher ground clearance, Endeavor poses a more butchy look
  2. Figo looks much smaller that ES and that is the fact as well.
  3. From Side view, ecosport looks much smaller that Endeavor
  4. In the rear, if Ecosport gets a wheel cover, then the road presence wiil be same

Prebookings for the Ecosport are NOT open in Chennai and I called both the dealers in chennai and confirmed the same. I said if the prebookings were open I will straight away come there and give my booking amount but still they politely asked me not to beleive any rumours and promised to keep me posted regarding the bookings stating it will surely open in June.
I think down the line or may be even during launch we can see the Ecosport with beige interiors.