Ford EcoSport Review & Pictures

Question for Petrol Ecosport owners, I have not bothered with engine guard since Ford has fitted this only for Diesel Ecosports to protect the Diesel Sump. The 1 year service is due at the End of October. Is this something I should consider fitting?
The diesel one doesn't have a sump guard,its just an insulating blanket. I would HIGHLY recommend you getting an engine guard to protect the sump from debris. It's available as an accessory for around 8k.

Guys,I'm finally going for an Ecosport Ecoboost Titanium O. Here she is, albeit a little dirty: IMG_20150915_140316_edit1.jpg

Congrats theFerrarifan or Doge, your ride looks amazing.

People complain a lot about Ecosport handling, but my Ecoboost is not so bad, my personal feeling is that the lighter engine plus Hydraulic engine mounts make for slightly better cornering experience that the 1.5P and 1.5 D variants.

Is it July 2015 manufactured?

In another forum you mentioned you revved the test drive car to 6K RPM in gears 1,2 &3. That would equate to 49Kph, 90kph and 144kph. Did you really do 144kph in 3rd gear in the Test drive car?

The diesel one doesn't have a sump guard,its just an insulating blanket. I would HIGHLY recommend you getting an engine guard to protect the sump from debris. It's available as an accessory for around 8k.

Guys,I'm finally going for an Ecosport Ecoboost Titanium O. Here she is, albeit a little dirty: View attachment 179908
Congrats for your new ride Theferrarifan. Wishing you loads of happy miles and memories in it. Kindly give your reviews of her as I'm eagerly awaiting for the refreshed variant but am confused whether to take the diesel or the Ecoboost as both these engines are awesome. Can someone help me out with this?

Congrats theFerrarifan or Doge, your ride looks amazing.

People complain a lot about Ecosport handling, but my Ecoboost is not so bad, my personal feeling is that the lighter engine plus Hydraulic engine mounts make for slightly better cornering experience that the 1.5P and 1.5 D variants.

Is it July 2015 manufactured?

In another forum you mentioned you revved the test drive car to 6K RPM in gears 1,2 &3. That would equate to 49Kph, 90kph and 144kph. Did you really do 144kph in 3rd gear in the Test drive car?
Thanks. Yeah,it is July manufactured as per the VIN.The TD car had a leaking turbo I assume,because she reached 100 in third gear at around 5.5k RPM. That TD car was slower than all TDCI's that I have driven.

Congrats for your new ride Theferrarifan. Wishing you loads of happy miles and memories in it. Kindly give your reviews of her as I'm eagerly awaiting for the refreshed variant but am confused whether to take the diesel or the Ecoboost as both these engines are awesome. Can someone help me out with this?
I'll post a detailed review once I cross 1000 Kms. If your running is less(which I assume is less since you are considering a petrol car) then I'd recommend you to go for the Ecoboost,it's more fun to drive. But you would have to make a lot of gear shifts,as the Ecoboost has a lot of lag. This can be a pain in traffic. Also,the diesel had a slicker gearbox. But this is compared to the 90PS TDCI,the updated engine may make the performance difference negligible. I drove the Aspire diesel and it felt quite sprightly but the Ecosport is a lot heavier.

Now I've ES Titanium 1.5 L Petrol version for the past 8 months and these are my observations so far.
Positives: 1. Very high ground clearance-means no more grating the bottom while negotiating pot holed roads!
2. Great stability at higher speeds in country roads or in 4 laned NH. 3. Attractive mileage- Mine is petrol version. It gives 11-12 KMPL in city drive conditions and 17 KMPL in Highways. All with AC on. Without AC add 1 to 1.5 Km extra.
4. Though looks large, can be squeezed in narrow lanes, heavy traffic with ease since steering is very light!
5. Ford sync allows you to do everything by voice. Dialling contacts, changing songs etc...
Negatives: 1. Ride quality is little on the stiffer side at slower speed in very bumpy roads though one gets used to it soon!
2.For Ford sync to recognise, you have to talk in funny accent like a foreigner speaking hindi in a bollywood movie
3. Finding parking space when going to congested parts of city! That's all folks! It's a poor man's SUV as it costs 2 lakhs lesser than currently available other good SUV's and a very good one too!

I'll post a detailed review once I cross 1000 Kms. If your running is less(which I assume is less since you are considering a petrol car) then I'd recommend you to go for the Ecoboost,it's more fun to drive. But you would have to make a lot of gear shifts,as the Ecoboost has a lot of lag. This can be a pain in traffic. Also,the diesel had a slicker gearbox. But this is compared to the 90PS TDCI,the updated engine may make the performance difference negligible. I drove the Aspire diesel and it felt quite sprightly but the Ecosport is a lot heavier.
That's great Buddy. You can assume that I'll be doing around 1500 kms monthly buddy. And an annual run of maximum 20000 kms. So does it make sense to go for Petrol. And my usage will be 50% City and 50% Highways, unlike my Vento which does 80% Highway and 20%City. And the roads in Madurai City are really narrow and full of traffic and still they follow traditional transport like tricycle so which one do you recommend me buddy?

@Rajecosport : Great to see a TAI ger from Madurai buddy. Do PM me your contact and location details so that we can have a small meet soon :)

That's great Buddy. You can assume that I'll be doing around 1500 kms monthly buddy. And an annual run of maximum 20000 kms. So does it make sense to go for Petrol. And my usage will be 50% City and 50% Highways, unlike my Vento which does 80% Highway and 20%City. And the roads in Madurai City are really narrow and full of traffic and still they follow traditional transport like tricycle so which one do you recommend me buddy?

@Rajecosport : Great to see a TAI ger from Madurai buddy. Do PM me your contact and location details so that we can have a small meet soon :)
Get the TDCI,its a better all rounder and the difference between the Ecoboost and the diesel is not a lot. The 100ps update will make it quite better to drive too.

Did anyone get the Ford Rear view camera ? Any reviews ? If i get Autocop / RD's camera installed from my local accessory shop, will it effect the warranty ?

Also, on a side note, their is a 556MB Sync Update, downloading it right now, will update you all once done. According to the source from whom I recieved the information about this update it will bring the ability to 'comprehend' Indian accent on Sync.

Did anyone get the Ford Rear view camera ? Any reviews ? If i get Autocop / RD's camera installed from my local accessory shop, will it effect the warranty ?

Also, on a side note, their is a 556MB Sync Update, downloading it right now, will update you all once done. According to the source from whom I recieved the information about this update it will bring the ability to 'comprehend' Indian accent on Sync.
This one is failing everytime after 1%.
If you get to download it, please post it somewhere

Yeah, the display is housed in the IRVM and the IRVM is electro chromatic( auto dimming). It's very identical to the ones in Hyundai's. Available for 12K.

Guyz,

Seems there is a problem in my car (1.5L TDCI). Today morning while checking the engine oil level i noticed the oil level is slightly below the minimum mark. Immediately i rushed to FSC. They checked and told that the car needs a thorough check up. Then only they can make any comment. If they cant diagnose the problem they will contact FORD.

Just 2 months back i checked the oil level, at that time it was normal (in between maximum n minimum level). Also there is no oil leakage and no smoke from exhaust.

Can you guys please throw some light.