Ford EcoSport Facelift 2018 Launched in India (Coverage Pg: 34)

Re: Ford EcoSport Facelift 2017 Exclusive Spyshots

Other opportunity Ford has with Ecosport is to launch Automatic transmission with all safety features like 6 airbags + ESC + Hill Hold (all of this is available in current) + Cruise Control + reliable torque converter auto transmission (which is missing now) + new engine with 16-17 KMPL fuel efficiency. At present no other compact SUV/Sedan below 20L offering this combination. I booked Ecosport AT 3 times at least and cancelled because of the unreliable auto transmission. Ford has opportunity fill this space and sell in good numbers. I like Ecosport very much but waiting for the above combination. In fact they should launch with both Petrol and Diesel auto transmissions to fill this white space.
Diesel auto is highly unlikely but petrol auto with 1.5l Dragon petrol motor will definitely be there in new facelifts line up

So, two rival Products will lock horns - Nexon vs Ecosport :

# Petrol 3 cylinder engines (no complaint on 3 Cylinder, however, Ford got more power & refinement might be better but Tata's unit is 1.2L turbo charged and eligible for tax discount)
# 1.5L diesel engines on both (Nexon got a better output numbers here)
# Floating Touchscreen infotainment system (Nexon's better with Harmon sound quality)
# Looks are subjective
# Good for 4 adults
# High ground clearance (Nexon's better)
# Loaded with safety features (Ecosport on upper hand with 6 airbags in top trims only vs Nexon with 2 front airbags standard on all variants)
# Loaded with features & gizmos (Nexon got upper hand in this department)
# Wheels & alloys (Nexon got 16 inches shoes)
# VFM- here got the fight pretty interesting and Nexon will win the fight here with aggressive pricing and Ecosport is already placed approx 50k higher than Brezza and Tata will under cut Brezza with at least 40 to 50K which means 1 lakh price difference (approx)

So, it's going to be pretty interesting, who will put better sales on the chart. exciting days ahead [clap]

So, two rival Products will lock horns - Nexon vs Ecosport :

# Petrol 3 cylinder engines (no complaint on 3 Cylinder, however, Ford got more power & refinement might be better but Tata's unit is 1.2L turbo charged and eligible for tax discount)
# 1.5L diesel engines on both (Nexon got a better output numbers here)
# Floating Touchscreen infotainment system (Nexon's better with Harmon sound quality)
# Looks are subjective
# Good for 4 adults
# High ground clearance (Nexon's better)
# Loaded with safety features (Ecosport on upper hand with 6 airbags in top trims only vs Nexon with 2 front airbags standard on all variants)
# Loaded with features & gizmos (Nexon got upper hand in this department)
# Wheels & alloys (Nexon got 16 inches shoes)
# VFM- here got the fight pretty interesting and Nexon will win the fight here with aggressive pricing and Ecosport is already placed approx 50k higher than Brezza and Tata will under cut Brezza with at least 40 to 50K which means 1 lakh price difference (approx)

So, it's going to be pretty interesting, who will put better sales on the chart. exciting days ahead [clap]
Regarding SYNC 3 vs Nexons infotainment there is absolutely no contest man,SYNC 3 wins hands down, true tatas new system is good but SYNC 3 is QNX based and is far far smoother than Tatas infotainment, the and Ford too has upgraded the speakers in Ecosport to new ones which as per media reviews are far better than the ones in WR-V,Creta, the top sellers in Brazil, so I guess the music system mated with new SYNC 3 will never disappoint, for a 1st hand review check SYNC 3 in new Ford Endeavor, its fantastic , as per me one of the best touch screen systems in any car under 15 lakhs

High Ground clearance is applicable for both and I dont see Nexon getting any advantage here because the extra few mms wont matter at all in day to day use and because both dont have AWD

Feature wise too the facelift Ecosport too will be as good or better than Nexon
Here is an official web page from Ford Brazil website that points the features on offer on a Brazilian Ecosport that resembles the Trend+ variant of current Ecosport here in India
https://www.ford.com.br/suvs-e-cros...versoes/freestyle-15/?intcmp=vhp-return-model

Ride quality is a place where the Nexon will trump the Ecosport , I feel the Ecosport is a bit more sporty in nature but it will transmit some bumps into cabin for maintaining its sporty appeal, so ride quality wise Nexon will have an edge

Pricing is where the Nexon will easily take the cake away from Ecosport, its going to be on average 75000-100000 Rs cheaper than Ecosport which will divide opinions, so I say both have a fair chance of giving Brezza some chocking,
And to be frank I am totally confused as well,
I was almost certain that I would get myself an Ecosport 1.5 Dragon petrol with MT or 6 speed AT, but the news that new Nexon is coming with 1.5l diesel and AMT makes me feel utterly confused because diesel+ auto means more easier drive and yet savings too unlike petrol and initial investment too is less with Nexon,
Hats off to Tata for making such an incredible product that can confuse someone like me[clap]

Regarding SYNC 3 vs Nexons infotainment there is absolutely no contest man,SYNC 3 wins hands down, true tatas new system is good but SYNC 3 is QNX based and is far far smoother than Tatas infotainment, the and Ford too has upgraded the speakers in Ecosport to new ones which as per media reviews are far better than the ones in WR-V,Creta, the top sellers in Brazil, so I guess the music system mated with new SYNC 3 will never disappoint, for a 1st hand review check SYNC 3 in new Ford Endeavor, its fantastic , as per me one of the best touch screen systems in any car under 15 lakhs

High Ground clearance is applicable for both and I dont see Nexon getting any advantage here because the extra few mms wont matter at all in day to day use and because both dont have AWD

Feature wise too the facelift Ecosport too will be as good or better than Nexon
Here is an official web page from Ford Brazil website that points the features on offer on a Brazilian Ecosport that resembles the Trend+ variant of current Ecosport here in India
https://www.ford.com.br/suvs-e-cros...versoes/freestyle-15/?intcmp=vhp-return-model

Ride quality is a place where the Nexon will trump the Ecosport , I feel the Ecosport is a bit more sporty in nature but it will transmit some bumps into cabin for maintaining its sporty appeal, so ride quality wise Nexon will have an edge

Pricing is where the Nexon will easily take the cake away from Ecosport, its going to be on average 75000-100000 Rs cheaper than Ecosport which will divide opinions, so I say both have a fair chance of giving Brezza some chocking,
And to be frank I am totally confused as well,
I was almost certain that I would get myself an Ecosport 1.5 Dragon petrol with MT or 6 speed AT, but the news that new Nexon is coming with 1.5l diesel and AMT makes me feel utterly confused because diesel+ auto means more easier drive and yet savings too unlike petrol and initial investment too is less with Nexon,
Hats off to Tata for making such an incredible product that can confuse someone like me[clap]
What you saying about sync 3 is true however I doubt that we will get the same setup (including speakers) in India and if we do then great but I will still rate the sound quality of Harmon in Nexon above than Ecosport's system. Still we need to wait to compare them both after launch and decide, till then all speculations.

Regarding VFM factor then no one can come close to Nexon along with amazing ride quality of Tata cars.

I think this time Tata got a product with all right ingredients or if we say class leading as a whole, will not be wrong. I wish Tata good luck and hope Indian junta will give them chance this time by keeping past aside.

I would choose Nexon any day.

What you saying about sync 3 is true however I doubt that we will get the same setup (including speakers) in India and if we do then great but I will still rate the sound quality of Harmon in Nexon above than Ecosport's system. Still we need to wait to compare them both after launch and decide, till then all speculations.

Regarding VFM factor then no one can come close to Nexon along with amazing ride quality of Tata cars.

I think this time Tata got a product with all right ingredients or if we say class leading as a whole, will not be wrong. I wish Tata good luck and hope Indian junta will give them chance this time by keeping past aside.

I would choose Nexon any day.
Agree with that the Harmon system is superb in sound quality, but the SYNC 3 is far more smoother to operate than Tata Harmon based system
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qr2bvXZRqyc
This is a review of SYNC 3, we wont get all the features but I hope majority of them will be present for India except maybe the BLIS(Blind Spot Monitoring), the Panoramic sunroof, the ESC and TCS for Manual variants,
Premium Sony Audio system is what Ford uses and I agree it wont be as good as Harman system

And the 1 lakhs shorter price will sure give Tata an imminent advantage but I dont think the Ford will find set back as well because its already got a huge fan base, the new interior exterior all have gone leaps and bounds above the current gen Ecosport, so I guess its a win win situation for both brands, and special accolades to Tata for rising the bar so high in the car market, the Brezza is still a big threat as its a more appealing package for an average Indian car buyer, Tata and Ford needs aggressive marketing to stay competitive even though they both have a better product than Brezza.

I feel ford can get back to selling 6 to 7K per month if they carry majority of the features we have seen in Brazil version even if it has to increase the price by 1 to 1.5L. Nexon and WR-V are funky models. Some people like it and some don't like it. Where as Ecosport and Brezza has proper compact SUV looks. In my experience Ford service experience is far better than TATA's. I would like to see both Nexon and Ecosport selling 6-7 K per month denting others. My choice is Ecosport petrol automatic with all safety features and reliable auto. Ecosport competitors does not have proper automatic (not AMT's).

What if I say that Tata is trying to bring 6-Speed pedal shifter GB in Nexon. Then which will you choose [;)]

I feel ford can get back to selling 6 to 7K per month if they carry majority of the features we have seen in Brazil version even if it has to increase the price by 1 to 1.5L. Nexon and WR-V are funky models. Some people like it and some don't like it. Where as Ecosport and Brezza has proper compact SUV looks. In my experience Ford service experience is far better than TATA's. I would like to see both Nexon and Ecosport selling 6-7 K per month denting others. My choice is Ecosport petrol automatic with all safety features and reliable auto. Ecosport competitors does not have proper automatic (not AMT's).
Yes thats true, if Ford can bring 90% of features from Brazilian Ecosport too the car will be a big success as the foundation is pretty damn strong for Ecosport despite being 4 years old, even today after 4 years the Ecosport is an eye grabber which the Maruti utterly fails to do despite being just 1 year old, even though a lot of people hate the boot design and how the tire is mounted somehow it adds to its extra macho factor in Ecosport , I feel that with the facelift Ford will be able to sell 5-6k Ecosport for a few months say till 2018, then again the market will go with newer options or older options like Brezza, thats how our market is never gives proper success to any car other than Maruti and Hyundai

Nexon is equally good man, even if its AMT I say give it a try, because with Nexon one has the option of diesel + AMT, and as far as AMT is concerned sure its far inferior to even a CVT in my book but it eases the calf muscles. Already Nexon is not all about being fun to drive, its more about comfort and in that aspect with AMT the Nexon will be a superb choice as it will cost less than Ecosport even in diesel AMT form. I am a petrol head , still drive a petrol car and thats the big reason why I am looking for an Ecosport 1.5 Petrol, I love the smoothness and love to ring the rpms once in a while which however good a diesel may be lacks that extra high energy pulse. So my point is TAKE A TEST DRIVE of NEXON before being completely hooked on to Ford, sure Ford is a great car but Nexon is unbeatable value for money and I say easily the CAR OF THE YEAR or dare I say one of the best cars ever launched in India by an Indian manufacturer

What if I say that Tata is trying to bring 6-Speed pedal shifter GB in Nexon. Then which will you choose [;)]
Its confirmed man, its an AMT, I wish Tata had given a smaller version of Hexas 6 speed AT for Nexon, but due to cost constraints they have kept AMT as Nexons AT

Sir, I said 6 speed pedal shifter which is from Tamo Racemo. An amt unit with amazing thrill mated with petrol 1.2L turbo charged unit with increased torque

Am really excited, would want to own the first piece out of production line if Tata is bringing it to mass market.

And regarding Hexa's At unit, the cost of the 6-Speed u it is near about 7 lacs itself which is like more than the rest of the Nexon's cost. So not possible.

Sir, I said 6 speed pedal shifter which is from Tamo Racemo. An amt unit with amazing thrill mated with petrol 1.2L turbo charged unit with increased torque

Am really excited, would want to own the first piece out of production line if Tata is bringing it to mass market.

And regarding Hexa's At unit, the cost of the 6-Speed u it is near about 7 lacs itself which is like more than the rest of the Nexon's cost. So not possible.
No need to address me sir @ Kasscon
Now regarding the 6 speed paddle shifter in Nexon, I guess thats almost not possible as Tata has Rcaemos paddle shifter developed with Bor Warner and some other British companies which means such a technology in a Nexon is almost impossible
But an AMT will do just fine for Nexon and will suit its character as well , its just that AMT isnt sporty at all, but with large engines the AMT might do well , its with small engines AMT struggles as torque is an issue, with large motors with 250 + NM like in Nexon,I guess AMT might work fine

AMT with paddle shifter or not doesnt matter
AMTs are crude and jerky and I still dont get the obsession of MSIL, TML, Renault/Nissan with AMTs

Nothing beats a good torque converter , ask Hyundai

But hey again, AMTs are better for our traffic conditions than DSG/DCT at least
CVTs cannot be added to high torque diesel engines and also have rubber band effect
So they arent too bad but Racemo or not doesnt matter neither does paddle shift

AMT with paddle shifter or not doesnt matter
AMTs are crude and jerky and I still dont get the obsession of MSIL, TML, Renault/Nissan with AMTs

Nothing beats a good torque converter , ask Hyundai

But hey again, AMTs are better for our traffic conditions than DSG/DCT at least
CVTs cannot be added to high torque diesel engines and also have rubber band effect
So they arent too bad but Racemo or not doesnt matter neither does paddle shift
Thats why I feel Ford has a fair chance here, the new Ecosports 6 speed AT ie the 6F15 is a torque converter with paddle shifters
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZGXWXshmus
See 16: mins 40s mark they show the new 6speed ATs and its paddle shifters a rare combination that only Honda offers as of now, but sadly that too is a CVT
So Ford if they bring up this same combination to India, it will be a superb automatic car

Thats why I feel Ford has a fair chance here, the new Ecosports 6 speed AT ie the 6F15 is a torque converter with paddle shifters
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZGXWXshmus
See 16: mins 40s mark they show the new 6speed ATs and its paddle shifters a rare combination that only Honda offers as of now, but sadly that too is a CVT
So Ford if they bring up this same combination to India, it will be a superb automatic car
Definitely !! of all the non-Japs, Ford certainly has struck a balance of quality, after sales etc
So much, Id take them over Tata,Mahindra, VW personally

The DCT was a poor decision for India imho
Give the ecosport a TC AT diesel and they will own the segment !!

Definitely !! of all the non-Japs, Ford certainly has struck a balance of quality, after sales etc
So much, Id take them over Tata,Mahindra, VW personally

The DCT was a poor decision for India imho
Give the ecosport a TC AT diesel and they will own the segment !!
Thats the issue no torque converter AT for diesel, they still are mulling petrol + AT combination, not just here in India but all over the world they never had a torque converter + diesel mated , the new Endeavor too has a ZF based 6 speed AT which is a torque converter but in 2.2 diesel versions they have the 6R80 automatic transmission which is not a ZF, so I guess they have the inventory but not willing to put a torque converter like 6F80 or its downsized ones for small cars like Ecosport , Fiesta,Focus etc

Ford has cut off its ties with Getrag after the teeming issues with Getrag DCT 150,200,400 transmissions, they still use Getrag Manual and a special Getrag transmission for the super car Ford GT, for all others they have shifted to tried and tested torque converters, the wet clutch DCTs used in cars like Focus TDCi,Kuga TDCi,Mondeo TDCi,Edge TDCi etc still remains but with advent of new ecoblue range of diesel engines ranging from single to twin turbo setup they too will change over time, in short Ford is shifting back to reliable transmissions but the relevant thing is I dont see India getting a new diesel+torque converter AT combination for India anytime soon