Filling Nitrogen in Tyres

Use of inflating tyres with nitrogen than air

Hi all,
Yesterday one of my friend asked me that have i tried filling nitrogen in tyres rather than air,i said no and i said that this is used for racing cars and he said "are yaar hawaijahaj ho jati hai".i know my friend is a talkative guy and always exaggerate the real things.so my questions are:
What is the basic use of filling nitrogen in our tyres?
Do we really need this?
What change can it make to our drive or car's performance?
How much did it costs?

Nitrogen is filled in tyres just it has some added advantage over air , but kind of negligible.
it prevents oxidation on rims and alloys.
does not heat up that much and so tyre is cooler than air filled one.

till last week i was in assumption that there cant be pure nitrogen filled in tyre .
but after joining manatec 2 week back , on seeing the nitrogen filling machine ,

there is a vaccum thing , to suck the air from the tyre.

ilango[speed thirst];177564 said:
Nitrogen is filled in tyres just it has some added advantage over air , but kind of negligible.
it prevents oxidation on rims and alloys.
does not heat up that much and so tyre is cooler than air filled one.

till last week i was in assumption that there cant be pure nitrogen filled in tyre .
but after joining manatec 2 week back , on seeing the nitrogen filling machine ,

there is a vaccum thing , to suck the air from the tyre.
Finally ilango you too agree.[:)]

I have been telling for so long, I am getting the tyre filled with nitrogen.
Most of them over here show the reading of 99.3-99.6 pure nitrogen.

It also helps in retaining air in your cars tyre for longer, if you have parked the car for longer duration.

Yes vacuum is created to remove the moisture content from tyre, so that inner wall of tyre is moisture free.

I vouch for Nitrogen filling in tyres, and suggesting the same based on my experience.

And for the past 3 months I was driving my car with a nail in the tyre, finally got it checked before the recent trip.
There was no puncture, thank god.

Okay guys,this time I'll also get it filled in my car whenever I go to Delhi.I think it will give me even more advantage because I drive long,quite quick and many times on nearly burning roads of Rajasthan,Delhi and UP.Am I right?

BTW,what is the filling price,is it Rs 200 per tyre or 200 for all four/five?

ilango[speed thirst];177886 said:
its 200 for all four here in pondicherry and free top up when ever needed,
some petrol pump in chennai is said to have 30 per tyre.
I don't think its 30 rupees per tyre. It is 10 per tyre(Checked at Ekaryas, T. Nagar).

IMHO, I would not recommend nitrogen filling as air already contains 78% nitrogen [4th standard science]. Paying a lot extra for that remaining 22% doesn't seem VFM.

I do somehow agree. I did try Nitrogen couple of times and haven't seen any benefits that are claimed. After filling nitrogen, tried checking the air pressure every week (just to check the consistency) and observed decrease of at least 1 or 2 points in every tyre. This is the case with normal compressed air as well.

Nitrogen is nothing but air minus the oxygen.
so the filling stations gimmicks are they dont leak , that this etc.

the real thing is they do not oxidise the rims and alloys.
they get less heated than oxygen.

they too leak/reduce pressure just like normal air.

The above 2 points are mentioned in our manual - manatec N2 filling machine

ilango[speed thirst];184755 said:
they too leak/reduce pressure just like normal air.
Agreed Ilango. But same as normal compressed air? The most important point factored about N2 is FE, which is nothing but due to the consistent Air Pressure.

Is 1 or 2 points decrease in a week, normal in case of N2? or Something to do with my tyres?[confused]

One question:
Let's say all tires are filled with Nitrogen and one tyre got punctured and due to scarcity of nitrogen pumps, normal air is filled. What will be the effect. Can this combination be used 3 with Nitrogen + 1 Normal air.

One question:
Let's say all tires are filled with Nitrogen and one tyre got punctured and due to scarcity of nitrogen pumps, normal air is filled. What will be the effect. Can this combination be used 3 with Nitrogen + 1 Normal air.
Nothing to worry... It's all same. Next time when you get N2, deflate that tyre completely and refill.

One question:
No worries, just fill normal air and run ,

at the time of filling N2 , the machine itself will vaccum and then only fill the nitrogen.

Next month, I am going for Rajasthan tour in my PUNTO. Overall distance would be around 2500 KMs. So it is advisable to get my car's tyres filled with Nitrogen for preventing/avoiding tyre burst in long distance?