Fiat Grande Punto 90HP - Detailed Ownership Review

Thanks @Raj.

I am presently driving a Hyunday Getz(1.3), and even its initial pick up is not too great, but that does not appear to be inconvenient in city driving to me.
Is the initial power even less than Hyunday Getz(1.3), just in case you have driven it sometimes ??

In delhi, the A.S.S should not be too much of an issue (i hope) as there are quite a few workshops available.

A.S.S should not be an issue where you are. It is a great driver's car to own as Raj mentioned. I had TDed the 90HP for around 20 mins which had 12K on ODO and I did not feel any lack of pull in city b2b traffic. It just needs some getting used too and after 5-6K engine works like a charm.

In case 7Lac is getting over budget for you, you can even look at 75HP E+ and may be plan to put a Pete's later which will boost performance.

There is a difference of 40K between 75HP E+ & 90HP.
But as i have seen in reviews, there is a more refinement in 90HP engine, and also lesser noise, apart from more power, so if i will buy GrandePunto, then i feel its better to go for 90HP.
What do you think ?

Any other worthy alternative as suggestion would be welcome.

Also wanted to know if there is any particular dis-advantage in the 3valve POLO engine, versus the 4valve engines. What is the main negative of lesser valves ?

There is a difference of 40K between 75HP E+ & 90HP.
But as i have seen in reviews, there is a more refinement in 90HP engine, and also lesser noise, apart from more power, so if i will buy GrandePunto, then i feel its better to go for 90HP.
What do you think ?

Any other worthy alternative as suggestion would be welcome.

Also wanted to know if there is any particular dis-advantage in the 3valve POLO engine, versus the 4valve engines. What is the main negative of lesser valves ?
Yes 90HP is more refined and gives better performance because of VGT whereas 75HP has FGT. If the difference is only that much, it would be logical to go for 90HP without a doubt. You would get a better machine and better performer.

Regarding Polo are you saying 3cylinders, AFAIK there are 4 valves per cylinder. Anyway yes the 3-cyl does come out as crude and not so refined and lacks in performance but a only a bit. Also the turbo lag is more compared to 4-cyl engines.

Thanks for turnaround guys :)

Recently i have read some rave reviews about two hatches, which are similarly (or less) priced to Grande Punto 90HP.

-Micra -- i have tested, really liked 0-turbo lag, but not the ride
-Etios Liva -- i have not test driven it, so comments are welcome,

Do you think EtiosLiva is comparable/better to Punto90??

Hi Guys,

I am planning to book 90hp punto in 2 or 3 days. Just confused with 2 colors.

1) Bossa nova white
2) Tuscan wine

My heart tells Bossa Nova White but my wife feels it will get dirty in city traffic (Bangalore). Just need your help. People owning White color please pour in your comments

1) How difficult is it to maintain BNW color
2) Over the period of years will it get faded off
3) If there are scratches will it be more visible in BNW than Tuscan Wine?

Thread Starter #458
Tuscan wine looks great but get ready to see swirl marks and other anomalies..Like if not cleaned to shine it will "sure" look Dirty;Problem with black and such dark colour. -the reason I backed and went for BNW.

It is the other way, more scratches are visible in dark colours.

13700km updates

Gave her to free checkup camp in tata showroom. There was no much of issue except Dirt all over and Coolant level getting low (gradually) and rear wiper .
Took the car in evening .
1.The woman sitting at lobby gave me feedback papers before I saw the car and said it is just for a formality in which was checklist for quality of service ,cleaning,service satisfaction etc. -i refused to fill before i see the car.
2.Saw the my own DIY paint on mud flaps were Ripped off.
3.Body mud was taken off but Black specks like that of tar were still visible all over the body.
4. interior cleaning was average.
5. coolant issue was fixed by changing hose connector and clip (charged rs 24 for clip.
5.rear wiper fixed new for Rs.442.
6.new issue had arisen,
'Check glow plug" in the mid, Se told me it was due to issue with glow plug timer which need to be replaced. I was completely loosing my temper and asked him, when i brought the vehical in morning everything was alright ,how come within 4 hours timer went off? he started to explain technical details etc which did not comfort me.

I said right now i am leaving and I will see to it soon. 2/10

In night i went through the manual and and checked the fuse in fuse box. the 50 amp fuse was broken in fuse box...!!!!

Next day morning I blasted whoever came online to talk to me from tata SS,receptionist ,service manager,sales excecutive etc.

By noon the same Service guy called be back apologizing and requested to allow him to take the vehical to SS and fix the issue. I said no i am thinking something simple like putting up a mail to Fiat in Maharashtra .
I told him that I got the info from other resources about this issue is due to blown fuse which is shear mishandling from your side.
I spoke to service manager and he was also like "it may have issues with glow plugs which came up when they resetted ecu while servicing."
I asked him if I can have any trouble while in the way? to which he said NO. not at all in warm places like kerala, but in cold places like ooty you can have starting trouble in morning.
So i said I cannot give you my car for servicing any recent and you can fix it in next service is it alright. he said perfectly alright.

Off late I have been experiencing bit of tighter clutch. No more butter soft as brand new one. How i discovered was i checked in brand new Punto90hp. it did not even feel under feet, Mine I need to push a bit not hard but not luxurious either.
I showed it to service manager for which he said it seems just below "ok" there seems to be little bit of tightness. which could be due to pressure plates.
I enquired if it would give issues like CSC failure or something ,for which he said no ,and I added then you can fix it in second service..he said yeah? 5/10
Fiat niggles anyone??

Front right Alloy rim is bit mashed . Bad roads in kerala ,unfortunate incidents!!!!
Gave her for tire alignment ,mechanic said Be carefull about these roads ,go slow in potholes.Hmmm scary.!!!

Still Going good.
NVH has considerably improved.
She had opened up very much . Very sweet(yes sweet) experience to drive. Smooth shifting,smooth pickup and nice feel. 10/10

One funny incident.

One of my friend who is bit of car enthusiast had a ride with me but he never heard or saw a fiat before...(very silly),He owned toytoa corolla and LC in Dubai and. We travelled around 80 km together in kerala roads. He was much happy to see integrated phone system and voice responce system. Then we arrived at fuel bunk, and i halted at diesal pump. I asked the lady to fill it while trying to see the guage which i couldnt and asked my friend to see if it is zero , he looked at it and started shouting ...hey ,hoy...huh ...stop stp..not diesal no not diesal.....!!! i was shocked to see a sudden reaction from him. The fuel lady also got scared sensing some misunderstanding. he turned to me and said this is diesal pump petrol is that one. i said this car drinks diesal not petrol. the fuel lady was waiting staring at us and asked bit harshly guys what do you want petrol or diesal. i said diesal.!!!
I had an evil contended feeling inside me... LOL. I asked him what happened to you still in Dubai hangover?? He said No, I thought this car is petrol since i sat inside. it does not sound like diesal car. diesal cars will have more vibrations and noisy inside.
With a grunt i answered "diesal cars in dubai must be noisy because they don't know fiat,in India it is very much different and better than petrol car." hehe.
[clap]...I had faced something like this....this guy who was a dubai returnee...was going blah blah about the dubai roads and cars...i was driving my 11 year old zen...thats when i asked him does anyone drive a 11 year old car in dubai??????....That Shut His fuel Lid.

Hi Guys,

I am planning to book 90hp punto in 2 or 3 days. Just confused with 2 colors.

1) Bossa nova white
2) Tuscan wine
I like BNW on Punto. Hence I chose that color for my Punto!

1) How difficult is it to maintain BNW color
Wont lie, IT IS DIFFICULT, especially in rains... that is, if you are too much into a nice, clean & shiny car, like me!

2) Over the period of years will it get faded off
No. Darker colors fade.

Other way round. Scratches will be less visible in BNW.

Re: spare a minute for her!!!

I was about to touch the bypass when i heard a honk- a toyota innova. i knew that car and the guy too. he is a race boy with an innova, red mod swift and pulsar 180 . he passed me swiftily . some thoughts came in my mind ,suddenly i downshifted and floored the accelerator. he was already 100mtrs away by now. i pushed my punto and realized i was gaining on him i peeped into speedo it was already 120 and going up whow!! 130....135......i was getting closer and closer. i think he realized my intentions and pushed . i smiled and thought i am just only halfway i pushed again 140. tailgating him for a couple of seconds i realized he was almost out of breath. i pushed accelerator little deeper 145...150 + i joined parallel to him( punto had much much more left). he might have felt real pain. i slowed down!!!

Hi. jayadev. Amazing words.[clap]I do Tail gating often like you but it not healthy [evil] but we all get cheap thrills out of it. I am new to kannur, Since you are from Kannur can you guide me a good petrol pumps here. Un adulterated Fuel is hard to find. Help me.

Hi jayadev. Amazing words. I do Tail gating often like you.
WOW! Is it something to be proud of?

Because of some chaps like you who prefer to have cheap thrills than care for safety, my dear punto has been rear ended twice for no fault of mine. [frustration]

Sorry if I am a bit rude.

P.S.: Please dont say that you have never rear ended anyone till now. If you haven't, then probably you are waiting for it... Me being a kerelite, we all know how dangerous roads in kerela are, dont we?

Hi Raj,
Its so true what you said. I did all the tail gating:sorry: in my 20"s. now i am in my 40"s, just the words from jayadev kindled something in me. Now driving for me is stepping on the gas and going forward becoming one with your car and understanding the world outside your car to achieve fuel efficiency while remaining respectful and safe.[drive]and about the roads in Kerala. WE DONT HAVE ROADS. its just unpaved cobble stones.