Fancy / VIP Registration Numbers - Info Needed.

Re: How can I get a certain number?

^^^ dude its not possible in AP so its solved. Now we all can joke.
AMG- what? sharam nahi aiti? Micra? Chick car man.

Something is better than nothing. Even Merc SLK is called "chick car" by many people, but I doubt anyone would mind a free one. :lol!:
PS: I can hear lock hammer.

SLK is a chick car. Now I get it,amg will sell the micra and get an alto or something.

Lol guys. Yea, problem solved. And anyways, I wouldn't take the SLK even if it was given to me for free. Its too small and girly. Anyways, Suresh, why is it not recommended to keep TR?

TR here only works for a month. If your car gets stolen with TR then you have to buy a new one as it is very hard to track.

Yes, temporary registration is valid for only one month and it is mandatory to get permanent number. However, I think it is neglected like other laws of lane driving, getting regn. number shifted to other state if residing there etc.

Omg, you guys are gonna end up getting in a huge mess. Leave it, I wont do so much just for a number. And, why is it a big deal if I keep it TR? I kept fortuner as TR for almost a year, and never had any issues at all. I was never stopped or questioned.
What's mess in front of gifting micra to a fellow TAIan? :lol!
I guess by mess he meant the involvement of Lawyers and judiciary. But I may be wrong, because, at the end of the day, :stupid:

It is possible in AP too, my quoted text is applicable to all over India.
Y U no read properly? [cry]

And as for the chick car,
Something's better than nothing.

Something is better than nothing. Even Merc SLK is called "chick car" by many people, but I doubt anyone would mind a free one. :lol!:
PS: I can hear lock hammer.
I wouldnt even mind paying for it, but hey, I am a Merc and AMG fanboy.
Just take an SLK, and pay for the optional AMG kit, like bigger wheels etc, and you have a proper poser. :lol!

^^^ cant believe the you took it seriously. Take a Reva and tune it to make it more manly. better than slk.
merc fanboys[thumbsdown][clown][cry].
now serious part- give more info please,the dude is getting a Q7.

^^^ cant believe the you took it seriously. Take a Reva and tune it to make it more manly. better than slk.
merc fanboys.
You get a SLK for free! Sell it and get some other sports car of your choice! What's wrong with that? :biggrin:
now serious part- give more info please,the dude is getting a Q7.
He had a complete thread in "What car?" section for that.

Okey so I have seen many pics on net with cars like cruze and fortuners and all from PB with old format numbers. The three digit ones. So does that means that the numbers can be transfered only if the parent car is going for a scrap? I mean can one exance one bike series number with a car. Also if it is allowed in mumbai? I mean we have a 6months old Activa with number MH 01 B# 1313. So in future if I buy another car can I transfer that bike series number to that car also keeping my that activa with some other number?

How does the registration number – ‘AK 47’ sounds? That’s what a farmer registered for Rs.7 Lakh for his Honda Activa. Of course, in Punjab. Where else? :smile:

Was in newspaper sometime back. Didn't know it was an Activa though! I was thinking it would be atleast a Merc, BMW or something.

Here's the detailed news.

Hoshiarpur: Punjab residents’ fascination for world famous Kalashnikov assault rifles AK-47 still continues despite the end of militancy in the state nearly two decades ago.

However, this time it is not the popular Kalashnikov rifle that has made news. A farmer hailing from Katowal village paid Rs 7 lakh to grab the number PB-07 AK-47 for his Honda Activa scooter during an auction for auction for vehicle registration numbers at Hoshiarpur in Punjab.

Reports, Wednesday, claimed that the farmer Kulbir Singh paid a whopping Rs 700,000 for his Activa scooter, which costs around Rs 53,000 only.

Not only this, the auction witnessed a fierce competition among 16 bidders who were ready to pay any amount of money to get their favourite number.

Five of them even continued their bids till the amount rose to Rs 5 lakh.

Interestingly, Russian rifle AK-47 (Avtomat Kalashnikova) was the most commonly used weapon by terrorists in Punjab during the militancy days.

After winning the auction, Kulbir Singh told reporters, “I had a clear mandate from my Italy-based brother Amanpreet Singh and US-based cousin Dilsher Singh Dhaliwal, 20, to get the number at any cost. Dilsher Singh had been telling me to get the number even if the bid goes up to Rs 12-13 lakh."

When asked why he was so fascinated with the number AK-$&, he said, “It is a very popular number and is unique. We anticipated that there would be competition for this number and were prepared for it.”

Farmer buys ‘AK-47’ for Rs 7 lakh in Punjab
He added, "Earlier, two of our vehicles also had '47' as registration number but for AK-47, we were prepared to spend any amount of money."

Kulbir, his wife, and two daughters distributed sweets in the neighbourhood after winning the bid. The 38-year-old, who owns a Skoda Laura (PB-38 0001), said he would buy a Fortuner and transfer the new number to the four-wheeler from the scooter.

Farmer buys ‘AK-47’ for Rs 7 lakh in Punjab
Hoshiarpur District Transport Officer PS Gill said the department had expected the bid to go high but not to this extent.

"There was fierce competition among the bidders and the bid rose very quickly as the 16 participants appeared desperate to win it," he said.
Source:Farmer buys

In other words it can be assumed that first he bought this number and to get the number registered he brought an Activa. He later plans to transfer this number to a Fortuner in future. He already has a Laura with reg no. 0001.
Reg. number portability is allowed in North. I wonder when it will be allowed in Mumbai.