Failed Cars in India

Yes, there is a jump in the sales figures but that is more so because of the new year (nobody really buys a new vehicle in the year end, so Jan figures are always a big improvement over December figures). But when the XUV can sell 2286 units in the same month, Innova can sell 6794 units (!!) and even the much more expensive Fortuner can sell 941 units in the same month, Aria's figures does not seem too good.

Hmmm yes Aria can be regarded as a flop definitely now! I thought only price was pulling back Aria. But i seriously don't understand why people neglect the Aria? Even XUV comes from an Indian manufacturer and it also has its fair share of early niggles.

So why trust Mahindra more but not TATA?

Yes, there is a jump in the sales figures but that is more so because of the new year (nobody really buys a new vehicle in the year end, so Jan figures are always a big improvement over December figures).
Aria's figures does not seem too good.
The only reason of a little higher number is the price discounts it had offered, and probably many would have got the 2011 model, where people would have got a huge discounts and who needs the car without waiting.

Anybody here can give us info that Aria is being given discounts only on 2011 make or for 2012 make also?

So the real conclusion stands on Feb sales.

Hmmm yes Aria can be regarded as a flop definitely now! I thought only price was pulling back Aria. But i seriously don't understand why people neglect the Aria? Even XUV comes from an Indian manufacturer and it also has its fair share of early niggles.
First impression is the best impression, think about the initial pricing strategy Aria came, so people only would have known the pricing, so keeping that in mind too many would wash off that from their list

More than the pricing, I believe, buyers are hesitant to choose Aria for MUV’ish design regardless of how capable or feature loaded it is.

Some not yet rectified like Iron rocks XUV which had some electronic sensor problem.[lol] You had some niggles but rectified already isn't it?
Styling has something to do with Aria's bad sales? [confused] Aria should have come out with a RR FACE. (MACHO)

Hmmm excellent point there 350Z , i almost forgot that point. Even many people come walking to me asking the price and when i say 18Lakhs they immediately say "Ohh i will buy cheaper Innova instead!""[frustration] No matter how hard i tell them how much advanced Aria is over Innova , it's useless!

It's like comparing a City and Civic or a Vento and Jetta![frustration]

Vishwas agree to your point also. And also not many people were aware of the discounts despite numerous ads.

Hmmm yes Aria can be regarded as a flop definitely now!
Wish we have more honest & blunt TATA fans/owners like you on the forum.

I thought only price was pulling back Aria. But i seriously don't understand why people neglect the Aria? Even XUV comes from an Indian manufacturer and it also has its fair share of early niggles.

Five reasons -

Mahindra has relatively fewer & less serious issues compared to TATA. I would expect lesser number of breakdowns in XUVs.

Secondly, Mahindra's A.S.S. is a trifle better than TATA's.

Thirdly, XUV customers are getting a VIP treatment from Mahindra whereas TATA treats Aria's customers the way they treat Nano's customers.

TATA is a much bigger brand than Mahindra but whether some agrees or not, Mahindra's brand "image" is much better than TATA's.

Lastly, Aria has already had a bad reputation with respect to issues, lack of spares & service & A.S.S. being ignorant towards the car.

Anybody here can give us info that Aria is being given discounts only on 2011 make or for 2012 make also?
The discounts were only on the 2011 cars.

More than the pricing, I believe, buyers are hesitant to choose Aria for MUV’ish design regardless of how capable or feature loaded it is.

I have always felt that the Aria is a very handsome car. It looks classy & very royal.

Even many people come walking to me asking the price and when i say 18Lakhs they immediately say "Ohh i will buy cheaper Innova instead!""[frustration] No matter how hard i tell them how much advanced Aria is over Innova , it's useless!
These are the people who look at the insignia/logo on the car first & then the actual car. In most cases, they know & understand nothing, so leave them at that.

Vishwas agree to your point also. And also not many people were aware of the discounts despite numerous ads.
Thats not true. It was probably advertised through every source of media.

Yes Raj you and me know all these minor stuff but if you ask any common man to choose between the XUV and the discounted Aria with almost equal price tag , i am 80% sure he will choose XUV! Why is that? Is it because Aria had a poor start and negative first impressions? Also i am not sure if a common man will be aware of the early niggling issues in both Aria and Mahindra.

Whatever be it , i am enjoying my Aria and maybe i am a bit lucky to have not faced any serious problem so far!

^^^ As i said, the reason for that is the perceived brand image.

And its not just with the Aria, its with any TATA, be it the grande over the xylo or be it the Safari over the Scorpio.

Ignore what some TATA loyalists say on the forum, if you have a word with anybody in the open world, 8/10 will prefer a Mahindra over a TATA. Even used car prices of Mahindra has been much higher to that of TATA. I have been searching for a used Scorpio but the prices for a decently maintained vehicle is so high that I can buy a brand new Xylo or Bolero for that. But for much lesser, I can get a used Safari.

TATA does have a bad reputation in the market today.

I dont think it has anything to do with the first impression. In that case, the Jazz should have been a dud but after the price revision, it is selling like hot cakes.

To be very honest, even I feel that for 10 lakhs, the Aria is a G-R-E-A-T deal but my DAD would not buy it... because its a TATA.

.Thirdly, XUV customers are getting a VIP treatment from Mahindra whereas TATA treats Aria's customers the way they treat Nano's customers.
Even this will contribute for People's hatred towards car,company and love towards XUV,Fortuner,Innova.

The discounts were only on the 2011 cars.
So confirmed it made the 253 units higher than the last month only for discounts and people who only loved the aria and waiting for this moment to come.

Thats not true. It was probably advertised through every source of media.
Whereas i saw these ads only on newspaper and internet.

I know how bad TATA'S re-sale value is , i gave my Safari for 3Lakhs! I haven't owned a Mahindra before so i can't comment on the re-sale value.

So it can be said TATA does not have it in them to take the premium segment?

They definitely have, but the timing is which they shouldn't have released the ca,r and the pricing also made a huge point in buying because within a lakh or two they would miss the fortuner.

Both Mahindra & TATA at this moment does not have it in them to become a premium manufacturer IMHO. They need to make an entirely niggle free vehicle & improve their A.S.S. for that. Secondly, Indians also prefer "phoren" cars when they are paying upwards of 15 lacs. I hope that changes in the future.

Regarding resale value, I have a buyer in Kerela who is ready to buy my 9 year old, 2 Lacs kms driven, 5 generations old Scorpio for 3.0 Lacs. We are expecting 3.5 Lacs.