Experience With My Italian Ride - Fiat Punto 90HP

Thread Starter #76
Hey Vivek, you seem to be overwhelmed by experiences with Punto, which is great but bashing other cars isn't the spirit.

Every car has got some positives and negatives. When you were behind the wheels of a your friend's dezire, every positive trait of your punto was on top of your mind, and naturally you would have started to make comparisons.

A solid build quality makes us feel safe, but reality may be different in case of a mishap. Many factors like angle of impact, strength of impact, seat belts and timely maneuvering play their role during a hit.
The basic rule of safety is 'safe driving' irrespective of build quality.

regarding brakes, even swift owners are not satisfied with them and new swift seems to have improved on this.

Consider a scenario if a swift/dezire fan gets into your car- I am sure he would give a good list of shortcomings in your punto.

My point is please stop being so critical on how maruti is treating its customers. 'Maruti playing with lives of its customers' is a big statement.
It may be a big statement buddy, but i am not against anything not even maruti.
And i think the problem is in our system that they allow these kind of vehicle
getting sold. You can take an example of europian countries, having strict safety standard which is why people like you and me are enjoying vehicles like polo, punto, vento,linea, BMW, skoda, audi. Don't you think in india we should get only these kind of vehicles.

I am not bashing any car, my friend whose car i was driving says that this new dezire is even worse than old one in case of build quality(his family owns both of them, got them as wedding presents).

BTW, i still remember that one of neighbor died in a car accident (driving omni some 10 years back). just because he was driving at 80 kmph and some suv did pushed it a little bit from side and it took 4 overhead turns.

Uncle died on the spot, aunty was serious, and son is now a handicap, only daughter survived safe just because she was in multiple layer blanket.

I don't think it would have been a major accident if they would have been travelling in their amby.

But i still think that if people don't die in many other countries, when a car crash, even at 100 - 150 miles/hour. Then why do people die in india in low speeding cars. That is just because of these profit making companies and government not making any strict rules of safety. Things like abs, ebd, airbag etc, should be made compulsory in every variant.

Swift and dezire are not cheap cars, then why do we expect sub standard material in these cars. We have polo, punto in the same range, if fiat and volkswagan can have robust vehicles then why can't maruti. They have such a huge client base, they can source engine from some other company(don't wanna take name) to secure their clients. Isn't it their responsibility to give robust cars to us. BTW, i also like swift, but won't buy one, ever.

I never saw anything this light even in tata vehicles. Some time back one of my indica totaled in a road accident but everyone was safe except one and that is also because car turned after head on collision with a roadways bus and a tampo hit it from side.

Buddy if we can expect to become rich just after looking at birla or ambani then why can't we have high safety expectations from other cars after driving punto or polo. This is not about punto, polo, fiat or maruti. This is about safety buddy. There is nothing precious than life whether its yours or mine.

As Jayadev said- we do not have any proof whether a strong build causes lesser accidents. We have proofs that accidents are caused by rash driving, not wearing seat belts, helmets, drinking and driving. See this link (an old article) : India leads world in road deaths: WHO - Times Of India

I am not saying that a good build quality is not safe, yes it does feel safe. But in practical scenario the percentage of injuries prevented by strong build would be very less to give a credit to it.

Honestly, I would like you to start a new thread for discussion on this subject. Hope you start it, or I may start it too.

Thread Starter #78
Guys a bad news i wanna share with all of you.

Today while washing my ride, i noticed rusting at the front fender where mudflap is installed.

Guys a bad news i wanna share with all of you.

Today while washing my ride, i noticed rusting at the front fender where mudflap is installed.
I bet that is not serious. it must be from screw holes where paint gets peeled a little bit. me too have it since day one but it stays there.

anyway pics could explain better.

Thread Starter #80
Guys finally after having a lot of troubles at the oberoi cars noida sec 1, i have got the clutch master cylinder replaced at Him motors patparganj.

Guess what guys, now the pick up has become awesome, there is no lag even in 2nd gear. Pull starts as low as 1500 rpm, and i am talking about rapid pull. The whole character of the car has changed now. I am just loving it.[clap]

I dont get it,ccylinder has nothing to do with transmission other than to move the clutch lever. How come you got your turbo lag or pick up improved with that?

Thread Starter #82
Actually its clutch master cylinder. Well I told you, what changes i noticed in the car. But i think clutch is equally responsible for the pickup of any automobile.

But the pickup is evident.

Thread Starter #84
I think bad time of my lovely ride has started now. On dated 3-9-2012 I went to the oberoi cars sec 1 noida.

The SA Vinit opened the job card, after checking the availability of the Clutch Master Cylinder, at 10:20am (though I reached at 10 am). He told me that I won’t be able to handover the car before 5 or 6 pm, I said fine no problem but make sure every other issue is also resolved along with it. He confirmed the same and took the keys. Meanwhile I met to a linea owner Rohit Anand, we became friend in no time, started talking like we know each other since a long time.

Vinit parked my ride in the workshop working area, then I met to Gopalan Sir and he assured me that the work will be completed today, along with some injuries given by workshop people to my ride in earlier visits. I also pointed out the rust issue to him he confirmed to treat it as well. After talking to him I felt assured that every issue will be resolved today and went to the showroom with Rohit to meet Roy and other sales staff.

At about 12 o’clock we went to the workshop to check the work done on our rides, but came to see that our rides have changed their position in the workshop and nothing has been done till now. We started to find the SA, after finding asked him what work has been performed by him, he replied that they’ll start the work after lunch. We said fine do it in the way you like.

We came out of the workshop to have lunch as we also felt hungry. While having lunch we decided to meet Mr. Anupam Sukla(one of forum’s Super Admin). I made a phone call and asked if we can meet today. He instantly replied yes why not you can meet me anytime. It became 2 pm after having lunch and some gossips.

I went to take a look at my punto, but it got hit by a white Manza in front of my eyes 3rd time in the Oberoi cars. Searched Mr.Gopalan and told him about it, after having a look at the damage, he asked someone to see it and the rubbing was done instantly. But the scratches were evident on the bumper.

At around 3pm they were working on Rohit’s linea, but my Punto was still parked and no one was working on it. So I asked to SA about it, he replied that he’ll handover my ride till 6pm to me and Rohit’s linea will be free till 4 pm. I said “fine” and we decided to drive linea to meet Shukla Ji. Passing time was not that hard as I was with Rohit. At about 4 pm we came to know that linea is in the washing bay and could be completed any time, so I asked Rohit to get the billing formalities done, he went to do the same.

I headed to meet Mr. Gopalan, meanwhile I saw my punto still standing unattended. This time I became worried to see the situation, when I asked SA about it, he told me that “I have told you in the morning that it won’t be possible to perform to work on your ride”. I was shocked to hear this as he did not said anything like this to me in the morning.

I was frustrated after spoiling my whole day and was full of anger to see them breaking my trust. I met with Mr. Gopalan outside the meeting room and told him everything, he said meet me in the workshop I am coming in a short while. I went to the workshop, saw the SA with mechanics cracking jokes and after looking me he came and said “Sir you would have to leave your car to perform the work”.

I said you people don’t deserve to service such brilliant machines like FIAT and asked him to give me my ride as it is. He instantly went to get me the gate pass.

Meanwhile I made a call to Gopalan Sir to acknowledge him that I am going without getting my ride unattended he asked “why are you leaving sir”, I replied it’s already 4:15, is your staff enough capable to perform the work by 6pm(closing time). He said just hold on for a minute I am coming, I said “fine”. He came within no time and called the SA, he asked him, I don’t think it was the time to ask this question now, but still……, “is it possible for you to perform the work?”

Guess what guys the SA replied in a proud tone “no sir” and started arguing that he has already told me that it’ll not be possible to work on my ride. Gopalan Sir was speechless/helpless, It was clear by his eyes. That was the time when I realized that, it is really hard for Gopalan sir to operate without Mr. Kapil, who actually knew how to make these people work. I didn’t said anything to anybody except asking for the gate pass. Within no time it was given by Vinit(SA).

I took the keys and headed to the exit gate. When I handed the gate pass to gatekeeper and was just going to press the accelerator he suddenly jumped in front of my car. I shouted are you nuts or what, what are you doing. He said there is not signature in the gate pass then I pointed him the signature of SA, he said I can’t allow you to exit, first go and get the paper signed.

That was the time when I was unable to control my anger, and instantly shouted “does anyone in your workshop has the guts to stop me here, this is not my duty to get it signed, ask the SA about it”. More guards gathered instantly and requested me to wait for a while, meanwhile one of them went to call higher officials. I said whoever handles it, make him come here instantly otherwise you people would not be able to stop me anyhow (highly frustrated).

After waiting for nearly 10 min on the road I asked a guard “if your security officers do not have time to look into the matter, then I cannot wait for them”, he said please sir don’t go otherwise, I’ll loose my job. I said ok but make it quick, he went inside and this time too nobody came till another 10 min, that guard started moving too and fro at the gate. I asked him that I am going and if anybody ask then tell them the Reg. No. of my ride and my name so that they can do whatever they want to. Instantly he waved his hand and said you can go sir.

So guys this was the first shock for me from trustworthy Oberoi Cars Noida Sec-1.

Next day I went to Him Motors Patparganj, got the job card opened. Within next 2 hours they told me the situation with my ride first they told me that they don’t have the part (CMC) in stock, so I asked them to do rest of the works. They tried to do the same. I was looking in the workshop that 3 of the workers were working in the car to find the rattling source in my car sincerely.

In the evening the SA came and asked me to leave the vehicle as they do not have CMC in stock and the source of rattling is still unknown. Then I asked him to give my ride back, as I would be coming when you’ll be having the part. He said we’ll be calling you as soon as we’ll be having the CMC. In a short while he gave me the keys with the gate pass. I came back.

Guys I was really satisfied to see the workers working hard to resolve the issue, though they were unable to find the rattling source but still, it gave me the feeling that they are at least trying to make me satisfy.
On dated 7-9-12, I received a call from Him Motors confirming the arrival of CMC, and asked me to pay a visit on 8-9-12, I confirmed the same.

But I went there on 11-9-12 due to time restrictions. They opened the job card at 10 am and told me that the work may take a little longer I said no problem take your time but resolve the issue and don’t ask me to leave the car in the evening. SA replied don’t worry sir, with a sweet assurance smile.

I must say they did what they said to me, at around 4 pm my ride was in the washing bay and at 4:30 I left the service station, after thanking Soni uncle, Mr. O P Sharma Ji and SA. Every issue other than rusting has been resolved by him motors, as they told me that it’s due to installation of mud flaps, which was done by Oberoi Cars.

Thread Starter #85
Guys yesterday it was my ride did her first high speed cruising on Yamuna Expressway, she was hovering at 170+. She was damn stable at those speeds, with 12.5~13kmpl shown by MID as Instantaneous fuel consumption. I am just loving it guys.

Please do post pics of your beauty on the Express way! Yes, indeed Punto is rock stable at those speeds. Drive safe ! Just imagining a Punto on a highway makes me feel like[drive]

Btw, hasnt 'speed governing' started at the Express way ?

Thread Starter #87
Sorry bro i was not having the camera, and its was a sudden visit to Kanpur, so didn't took any pics. No speed governers are still not active.

Lucky you. Punto is rock solid on higher speeds as well. I did 160+ on Mumbai - Pune expressway. [clap]
Hey Dharmesh, 160+ with Punto and expressway, hope you are not doing it quite often[surprise] take care of Punto and your self and we will do it once again together when we go to meat IR in Pune[:)]