Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere (Variants Leaked! Pg.98)

Re: Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere: Coverage on Pg.3

differnt colours and space management video of ecosporthttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIg3dgioYBU

Red one looks really good man.. And lotz of space inside to keep small things. Which I badly miss in my PUNTO.

As usual, I liked the one in white or maybe silver it is but why has ford not given bumper in black rather than body colored ??
Also, shift front seat back & it blocks the door opening handle from inside. Atleast this is what is being seen from pics.

Here is a link from Argentina which review's Ecosports. As I said before from my source about the tuning of diesel engine in ecosports, this site also mentions of a small difference in the tuning of diesel engine. As we know new Fiesta power output from the 1498 cc Duratorq TDCi is 90 BHP @ 3,750 RPM and 204 Nm of torque @ 2000 - 2750 RPM. However in ecosports it is 205 Nm of peak torque between 1750 and 2500 RPM. That means power is generated at 250 RPM lesser then fiesta to provide more grunt to the baby monster [clap]

Here is the review:

In 2011, the EcoSport reached the highest percentage of market share in its history, with 13.9% of sales in the segment of Sport Utility Vehicle (SUV) compact. However, after 9 years of marketing, two redesigns (2007 and 2010) and more than 700 000 units sold, the vehicle Mercian profound change to avoid running over time.

So Ford's decision was to produce a new vehicle. Compared with the car it replaces, maintains only the name, affordable compact SUV concept of good quality and one of the engines (although with minor changes). The rest, from the platform that supports it, was developed from scratch.

The site chosen for the regional launch of the new EcoSport was the Brazilian city of Natal, with beautiful beaches and warm temperature in winter. There, the event marked the launch of the product, which in the coming weeks will be in dealerships. So before, had made a pre-2500 units that were sold in 4 days, according to reports from the mark.

In Argentina, the vehicle will come out during the last quarter. However, company officials used the event to provide an advance to the local press. In turn, it was a good opportunity to get a feel for driving a distance of nearly 100 miles and changing topography to the beautiful town of Pipa.

As a global product developed entirely in Brazil, journalists in the region were the first in the world to test it, and I climbed a change was among the invited press to the occasion. Besides Camaçari plant in the Portuguese-speaking country, the car will be built in China, India and Thailand. From these places will sell for more than 100 countries.

Appearance

In the light, stands a very successful design, with aggressive front grille through an inverted trapezoidal large-scale optical and elongated. The concept is inspired by the so-called Ford's Kinetic Design 2.0, used in new models. The future Mondeo (which in America was presented as Fusion), who arrive in our market in 2013-after-European launch, it also incorporates the aesthetic.

The sides clearly identify it with a Sport Utility Vehicle (SUV) and emparentan his image, but with many differences, with the Kuga, a segment higher and higher price. In that aspect, but from the mark did not anticipate numbers, hinted that the value will keep the interesting relationship between product and pricing model replaced. The figure, according to reports, not much higher than the current vehicle.

To design the new car, developed from a different platform to that of the EcoSport it replaces, Ford decided to keep the spare tire in sight, subject to the tailgate. This solution is as loved as hated: but gives it an "off road" and more robustness, is often an element because it protrudes from the body, easily dented car hoods outside during parking maneuvers .

The quality of materials looks good and the joints showed no annoying sounds. However, in some of the vehicles of the caravan finishing details were noted improvement. However, we should clarify that it was pre production units (that means they are made to correct potential failures of termination), according to Ford officials explained. Therefore, it is logical that such problems appear that it is important to clarify, were timely and in isolated cases.

At the wheel

I climbed the version tested by a change-together with journalists of the newspaper El Litoral, Santa Fe, and Crash Test 'was the top model, called Titanium with Flex 1.6 engine. This is a propeller that will be sold in Brazil, as it is suitable to run on ethanol (in that country, that fuel is common). However, the engine has similar features to version 1.6 which will naftera Argentina, which also powers the entry-level Focus. The engine will be sold in our country delivers 115 horsepower at 6000 rpm and maximum torque of 153 Nm at 4250 revolutions.

Associated with a 5-speed manual gearbox, provided a quick and efficient response from about 2000 rpm for the journey made. The gear selector behaved precisely and their relationship seemed very well done.

Of course, in very steep ascents of routes where there are many Brazilian-hills-and circulating with four occupants and the air conditioning running, showed some limitations on its power and displacement. Still, it was never necessary changes to maintain a lower cruising speed, eg 120 km / h in fifth or, in some cases, 110 km / h.

Ride

The ride comfort was nice and the electric power steering works very nice: very smooth at low speed (great for parking) and hardened progressively with speed to give a feeling of safety at all times.

The suspension caught the attention of the occupants in a positive way. That was due to very efficiently muffled irregularities (and the large number of wells) of the soil. A cruise speeds, the EcoSport was firm and had only small inclinations in sharp turns (unusual because of their height and, above all, minimum clearance of 20 inches of soil).

In addition to version 1.6-with-propeller Brazilian industry, the new EcoSport Argentina reach a 2.0 gasoline engine manufactured in Mexico. The latter disburses an output of 143 hp (at 6250 rpm) and maximum torque of 187 Nm (at 4250 turns). It's the same drive that equips current EcoSport, although he made some changes to the electronic.

During the first half of 2013 will arrive a diesel version 1.5 of 90 hp (at 3750 rpm) and 205 Nm of peak torque (between 1750 and 2500 turns).

The tailgate opening is now done through a small button on the handle.

Among the standard equipment from the base version, the system highlights the Sync voice connectivity (device connectivity and voice command developed by Ford and Microsoft, which comes in the Fiesta Kinetic Design) to screen 3.5 inch driver and passenger airbags, Anti-lock Braking System (ABS) on all four wheels, power steering, air conditioning, satellite monitoring of audio on the wheel, slide holder and several generously sized, refrigerated glove box, electric windows front and support for fire extinguishers, among many aspects.

In all cases, the warranty is 3 years or 100 thousand kilometers.

Source: Google Translate

Thanx GOwDA for the info . Are you too interested in ecosport ?

Oh yea! Just holding on my cheque before I test drive ecosports diesel. Or else by this time around I should had Skoda Rapid delivered!

Cool me too waiting [:)] did you take a test drive of the duster ?

Any tentative date of release of EcoSport in India? I am also looking it as 2nd option after Ertiga ZDI (which I will get by Feb2013). EcoSport looks far best than any existing SUV right now.And in India, we should not much worry about Ford services even though if it's expensive.

1 very reliable source I mean seriously reliable source from ford had told me that ford is trying hard for oct- nov launch if not then sure in jan 2013 .

That's wonderful of information, now kindly tell me what would be it's expected price. For top end model I am okay to pay upto 11-12 Lakhs not more than that. Hope 1.5l Diesel engine will fetch at least 15-17 KMPL in Bangalore City.
If mileage will be like 12-13 then I will go with already booked Ertiga. I was following very well on ERTIGA, EcoSport and Duster since autoexpo 2012. Now Duster is ruled out, let c who is going to be winner Ertiga or EcoSport.

Cool me too waiting [:)] did you take a test drive of the duster ?
Yep! I test drove Duster (110 bhp) couple of weeks back. It was good, but not good enough! I really cant say if I liked it or not. Ride, NVH, and power was good. But there is no feel good factor. Felt UNCLE-ISH... [:D] And immediately I drove Skoda Rapid, and man what a droool it is.. was very impressed with its cracking power output![clap]