Decoding Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

Interpreting Chassis Number:: Lets Help

Hi friends..

lets post your vehicle chassis number here and we can interpret its chassis number so that it will help new buyer in knowing month and year of manufacturing

first lets do it manufacturer wise ,once we get full details of decoding of chassis number from all major manufactures from india,we can put a much details thread and ask our beloved moderators to make it sticky

this is for tata cars ..i came to know from other website

credits to original poster

all credits to original posters please

CHASSIS NUMBER CAN BE FOUND ON THE B PILLAR WHEN OPENING DRIVING DOOR,ITS WILL BE DENTED IN ALMOST ALL CARS ,OTHER WISE LOCATE UNDERNEATH BONNET

One can always has the choice of disclosure of their unique number ,instead they can put xxx.main purpose of this thread to know month and year of manufacturing

eg : 600132CTZP78900. instead u can put 600132CTZPxxxxx.

Lets take a look at TATA Indica

Chassis Number :
A typical chassis no. is --- 600132CTZP78900.
The first 6 characters are the model code --- in this case, Indica DLE.

The 7th character --- 'C' in this example --- represents the month of
manufacture, according to the foll. table :
A --- Jan.
B --- Feb.
C --- Mar.
D --- Apr.
E --- May.
F --- Jun.
G --- Jul.
H --- Aug.
J --- Sep.
K --- Oct.
L --- Nov.
M --- Dec.
Pls note that ' I ' is not used.

The 8th & 9th characters together represent the year of manufacture,
according to the foll. table :
Z --- 0
Y --- 1
X --- 2
W --- 3
V --- 4
U --- 5
T --- 6
S --- 7
R --- 8
Q --- 9
P --- 10
and so on.
In our example, the 8th & 9th characters are ' T Z '. Reversing the order
makes it ' Z T '.
As per the table, this converts to ' 0 6 ', or the year 20 06, the ' 20 '
being assumed.

The 10th character represents the Plant location, with ' P ' for ' Pune '.
The last 5 numbers comprise the Serial No. of the chassis.

So, our example no., 600132CTZP78900, means the model is Indica DLE,
manufactured in March, 2006, at Pune, having chassis serial no. ' 78900 '.

Re: Decoding Vehicle Information Number (VIN)

Wildon,
You have been doing amazing work by helping people with VIN. I dont know how you decode it.

I booked an i10 2 days back and getting delivery by Saturday.
got VIN today but not last 2 char for month as sales guy does not have it. car is still in stockyard.

can you decode this MALAN51CLBM887328 in detail including colour?
I know B indicates 2011.

Thanks in advance

Hi Wildon,

You work is been highly appreciated for helping people with VIN decoding.

I booked an i20 on last Sunday and will be getting delivered sometime next week.
I received VIN No which has only the 17 characters.

Can you decode the VIN MALBB51BLBM307966?

Thanks You So Much In Advance

Sorry No information about this VIN for getting the Date of manufacturing. But its a October 2010 manufactured vehicle as per normal decoding procedure.

350Z : I'm not receiving any thread subscription email alerts.

Its a June 2009 Make vehicle.

Wildon as per details below it should June 2008 kindly confirm ?

The VIN code for mahindra vehicles consists of 17 digits, which is divided mainly into 3 sections.
first section containing 3 digits which give details of Manufacturer code.
second section containing 6 digits which give details of general characteristics of the vehicle
third section containing 8 digits which give details of particular vehicle identification. Now the details of all the 17 digits
Digit 1- Continent code ( M means Asia)
Digit 2- Country code (A means India)
Digit 3- Manufacturers code for MnM (1 means Mahindra)
Digit 4,5-Vehicle code for RHD,LHD
Digit 6- 4WD or 2WD (4 means 4WD and 2 means 2WD)
Digit 7,8- Engine code (Different codes for MDI and NEF)
Digit9- Transmission code (N for NGT 530R and L for NGT530)
Digit 10- Year code (2 for 2001, 3 for 2002 and so on)
Digit 11- Plant location (1 for Kandivali, 2 for Nasik, 3 for Zaheerabad)
Digit 12- Month code (A for January, B for Feb and so on)
Digit 13-17- Vehicle Serial No.

OT-The height of chassis no. punching usually varies between 6-7mm

Hi wildon
I had booked my new i20 last week and now i have got my VIN: MALBB51BLBM310032. Please decode the manufacturing date of this car. Thanks in advance.

MODEL NAME : i10 Sportz
ENGINE TYPE : 1.2L KAPPA2 VTVT
ENGINE NUMBER: G4LABM649405
FUEL TYPE : PETROL
TRANSMISSION : 5 SPEED MANUAL
PRODUCTION DATE : 28.03.2011
COLOR : GARNET RED

MODEL NAME : i20 ASTA
ENGINE TYPE : 1.2L KAPPA
ENGINE NUMBER: G4LABM679649
PRODUCTION DATE : 25.05.2011
COLOR : BERRY RED

MODEL NAME : i20 MAGNA
ENGINE TYPE : 1.2L KAPPA
ENGINE NUMBER: G4LABM685179
PRODUCTION DATE : 28.05.2011
COLOR : BERRY RED

350Z : I'm not receiving any thread subscription email alerts.
Me too not getting any alert. sorry for the delay in reply guys.

Hi, wildon, booked a Hyundai i20 CRDI.Dealer has given me a VIN number of MALBB51RLBM320950. Can you help in decoding the VIN. Complete report in PDF will be very much appreciated. If possible help me at the earliest. Thanking you in advance.

Hi wildon ji,

can u pls decode this, I have purchased I10 in june 2011
VIN MALAN51CLBMS899932
CHASIS MALAN51CLBM8999932*D

Experts,

I got the VIN# for my SCorpio today as below .. can someone decode it for me?

MA1TA2HFNB2F52269

Would appreciate your help.

Thanks - Amit