Datsun Go+ Launched at a Competitive Price Tag (Rs.3.79 Lacs)

Re: Datsun Begins Testing Go+ MPV in India

Though i wasn't following the news on the Datsun Go+ i knew it is a low cost car but never knew the 7 seater is just a virtual one and very impractical!!

Also i don't see any video reviews showing the leg space in the last row, perhaps the camera man isn't able to squeeze in[confused]

Would've been a better seller if it had come in diesel engine.

Which type of customers are Datsun aiming without providing AC?Today the standard of even an entry level hatchback customer has changed.He will ask for atleast AC in it.Come on Datsun,this is not 2005 but 2015 and a modern india.
The purpose of releasing the lower variants in the market is a knack of giving the lowest price tag, in today's world nobody would buy the car without aircon unit and even the company knows it too!

In my personal experience, the salesman too show the top end model only, they reveal the info of basic version only if you are kneen and push you to buy the top end many a times.

Though i wasn't following the news on the Datsun Go+ i knew it is a low cost car but never knew the 7 seater is just a virtual one and very impractical!!

Also i don't see any video reviews showing the leg space in the last row, perhaps the camera man isn't able to squeeze in
Although our review is yet to come up but sharing a shot of the third row with an occupant of height well-over 6 feet. I'm 5'11" and ended up with a similar fate.

Datsun-Go-Plus-3rd-Row-Passenger.JPG

sharing a shot of the third row with an occupant of height well-over 6 feet. I'm 5'11" and ended up with a similar fate.
Vibhor, you and me will never be able to fit in 3rd row[lol]! When I tried to enter the 3rd row while clicking pics at dealership, my head banged. I am 6'1". I felt more like a prisoner being made to sit legs folded. Minimal thigh support.

Rest I'll share tomorrow after covering the Delhi's official unveiling. My pictorial review of the Datsun Go+ will be up by Saturday. Most likely test drive one will be there by Sunday.

Although our review is yet to come up but sharing a shot of the third row with an occupant of height well-over 6 feet. I'm 5'11" and ended up with a similar fate.

Oops! this isn't acceptable for a seven seater car then!! GO+ = (-), if i happen to buy this, i'll buy the Go only. Well it will qualify for station wagon.

Datsun has launched the Go+ at a rather competitive price tag at an event held in Mumbai:

> Datsun Go+ D: Rs.3.79 Lakhs

> Datsun Go+ D1: Rs.3.82 Lakhs

> Datsun Go+ A: Rs.4.15 Lakhs

> Datsun Go+ T: Rs.4.61 Lakhs

Re: Datsun Go+ MPV: Now Launched at INR 3.79 Lacs (Ex)

After attending the SIAM exhibition, my next important coverage of the day was the New Datsun Go+ MPV launched today starting from INR 3.79 Lac (Ex Showroom). There are 4 variants in all, i.e, Base Model D, D1, A and finally top variant T. The model reviewed by me is the Datsun Go+ (T) in Petrol. No Diesel or AMT variant is offered at present.

So, here is my pictorial first look review of the Datsun Go+.

Photo0177.jpg

Technical Specifications

The Datsun Go+ is powered by 12 Valve DOHC, 3 Cylinder 1.2L Petrol engine with Electronic Gasoline Injection System that gives a power of 68PS at 5000 RPM and Torque of 104NM

Photo0188.jpg

Transmission and Braking

The variants of Go+ have 5 speed Manual Transmission with front ventilated Disc Brakes and Rear Drum Brakes.

Photo0182.jpg

Overall Dimensions

The overall length of GO+ is 3995mm and Width is 1635mm. The height being 1490mm with a Wheelbase of 2450mm. The GO+ ground clearance of 170mm and turning radius of 4.6m

Photo0198.jpg

Photo0196.jpg

Photo0189.jpg

Steering Wheel

The Go+ has power steering in the Top model rest all have only normal steering.

Photo0181.jpg

Tyre

The Go+ has 155/70 Tyre with 13" rim size. No alloys options from OEM in any models of GO+.

Photo0187.jpg

Seating

The GO+ is too practical in this way. The seating capacity is 5+1*. The fabric in the seats of the Top model was average and the comfort was also average only with legroom in both rear rows being just "OK". A person of 50 kg and 5'5" can sit in the 3rd row. No armrest provided in front seats.

Photo0180.jpg

Photo0184.jpg

Photo0193.jpg

Photo0194.jpg

# Continued in next post.

I was surprized to see a 7 seater for 4lacs something but as I read on, It dawns upon me.

This is nothing but an estate with makeshift space to send your step-kids in! I guess a human more than 4 Ft tall won't even fit inside well.
There is ultimate lack of safety and Basic features.

No Revv meter
No Music system
Small headlamps
very skinny 155/70 tyres. Thats the size of my i10~! Heck even i10 tyres are 155/80R

ABS..err! Whats that?

Head Lamp and Tail Lamps

The headlamps are normal halogen lamps without projectors or HID in any variant of Go+. Though there is headlamp beam adjuster and "follow me home" feature in all variants. Talking of the tail lights, the squarish tail lamps are OK that's all.

Photo0179.jpg

Photo0183.jpg

Photo0208.jpg

The Boot Space

The GO+ has a boot space of 48 L with 3rd row up and 347 L with 3rd row folded.

Photo0186.jpg

Photo0209.jpg

Suspension​

The GO+ has Mac Pherson Strut Suspension in front and Torsion Beam Type in the rear.

Safety

The least said is better. No variant is equipped with ABS, EBD or Airbags. At least the Mid & Top end variant should have the ABS and driver airbag. In the name of Safety, seat belts are provided in all 3 rows.

Features of Go+ (T) Model

* Front Power Window

* Power Steering

* AC ("A" model also has AC)

* USB Port and accessory socket of 12V

* Additional Brake lamp

* Front Speakers. (Provisions of speakers are there in lower models)

* Body colored Bumper and Door Handle.

* Passenger ORVM.

* Option to install rear power windows.

* Black Pillars

* Heater

Photo0212.jpg

Photo0211.jpg

Photo0192.jpg

Photo0199.jpg

Wiper​

The wiper is speed sensitive and come with intermittent function. Quality of blade is OK. There is only a single wiper with dual arms.

Photo0207.jpg

Front Grille

The front grille is a honey comb grille and comes with Silver finish in D and D1 model where as Chrome finish comes in A and T variant.

Photo0178.jpg

Spare Wheel Mount

The spare wheel mount is located beneath the rear bumper like we have in Ertiga and Scorpio.

Photo0210.jpg

# Continued in next post.

Internal Lighting

There is only one roof lamp provided in all variant of Go+ above IRVM which is manually adjustable.

Photo0201.jpg

Auxiliary Lamps

No additional fog lamps provided in any variant of Go+

Photo0190.jpg

The Roof

Though paint quality is acceptable yet the roof misses out on corner molding that gives a untidy look.

Photo0195.jpg

Photo0197.jpg

The Brochure of Datsun Go+​

Photo0202.jpg

Photo0203.jpg

Photo0204.jpg

Photo0205.jpg

[;)] Surprised to know that the claimed FE of Go+ is 20.6 km/L

Some final pics of the Datsun Go+​

Photo0206.jpg

Photo0191.jpg

Photo0185.jpg

So friends, I hope you like this review. Though its not a official one! My test drive review of Datsun Go+ shall be up by this Sunday.

I may sound a little harsh here, but does this vehicle deserves to be a flop ?!
Hello Puneet, In terms of safety of-course this car lags behind its chief rivals i.e Mobilio, Ertiga and Enjoy. Not considering Innova as its a premium MPV. As of the price, its a competitive situation since Go+ begins at 3.79 Lacs and goes till 4.61 Lacs (Ex Showroom). In terms of sales, we need to watch out for sales report by Vibhor in March which shall show sales numbers of Feb-2015.

My guess is, Personal ownership of this vehicle will be 50-50. However, In commercial segment here, I think Go+ A & T Variant can find takers.

Just two questions:

Which one is more VFM and now which one of the below you recommend more?
GO+ OR Wagon R
I know both the vehicles are in different segment,but considering their somewhat similar pricing.