Dash Cam: Queries & Discussions

Re: Buying a Dashboard Camera – Advice & Discussions

the seller doesn't have any feedback for the product. and it's retailing for 1300 rs with other sellers. don't think this is a genuine listing.
moreover therr is no shipment options other than the seller's own shipping method. i saw the same link on tbhp , i hope they all get the product. we'll get to know after 30 days
I too got the link from tbhp and have ordered it. Yes, the product has no feedback but the seller has 98% positive ratings so went ahead & bought it.

which other one do you suggest to buy within 2000?

Now the seller has got 750+ orders .

honestly i found this to be a good camera and searched a lot but many others have mixed reviews. yeah when you first posted it , i think it had some 5xx orders. will wait for some time before ordering.

I thought to buy the same dashcam (GT300) from that seller since its so cheap but our customs dept. is very catchy and not prompt. Reasons are: Big box, electronic contents that includes battery and the same item costs 6 times in ebay India (Yes our customs officers are good at searching cost of product online). Its easily detected in X-Ray Baggage Scanner and if we are not lucky, parcel gets held or the officer takes it home!

Seller's own shipping method means no tracking and usually CNZ express is used. If yes, it may either get lost or come to you but you cannot be sure. If it does not reach us in 90 days then its really lost.

Actually its good to use non-registered service that has no tracking so when the parcel is lost, there is higher chances of getting refund when we file claim. If a traceable parcel is lost, it is most likely held in customs and Aliexpress/ebay doesn't take responsibility.

As of GT300 Dashcam, I have researched and found to be good cam for what it costs. Just that builtin battery doesn't last long so continued power is required. I hope you both will get the item soon and kindly post reviews once you do. [:)]

Thanks...
Best Regards

@Dr MUDHAN Ji, Thanks for writing details about Dash cams. Indeed there is something odd about that 6$ dashcam listing as to why its so cheap. I know GT300 Dashcam is good as per user reviews but I don't whether that seller sells original or counterfeits and one has to confirm this.

The Dashcam G30 with Novatek 96650 Chip is available for 1.5k on Ebay India and it costs same in Aliexpress. Also ebay seller provides 1 year warranty. However, I have not researched about this model so cannot say how good it is.

Here is the link and the same in Aliexpress is here. (Single lens camera)

Dr MUDHAN

Yes CRACING. If at all I go for a Dash Cam for my ALBUS, I would prepare only a wide screen format and the Dashcam G30 with Novatek 96650 Chip. The single lens price at ebay.in appears to be a VFM., if it really Novatek 96650 Chip. Actually Novatek 96650 Chip is expensive. The eBAY.in Advertisement shows correct picture of convex lens. I have contacted the seller to confirm.

Original Novatek 96650 Car DVRs Camera Full HD 1080P 2.7" WDR Auto Video Recorder Registrator Night Vision Dash Cam Blackbox-in Car DVRs from Automobiles & Motorcycles on Aliexpress.com | Alibaba Group

Aliexpress 5.jpg

Yes CRACING. If at all I go for a Dash Cam for my ALBUS, I would prepare only a wide screen format and the Dashcam G30 with Novatek 96650 Chip. The single lens price at ebay.in appears to be a VFM., if it really Novatek 96650 Chip. Actually Novatek 96650 Chip is expensive. The eBAY.in Advertisement shows correct picture of convex lens. I have contacted the seller to confirm.
Yes sir, that dash cam looks promising but in case its not as described, we can easily return for refund. Are you thinking to buy that one from ebay India?

Dash cams are still new in market so branded ones are pretty expensive but once demand rises, all major brands make one which we can easily afford. i.e Just like what happened with digital cameras.

I remember, long ago my father had bought Nikon 4mp digital camera for 12k from USA with the help of his friend. Now 20 mp digital cameras with lots of features come under half of that price.

Dr MUDHAN

@CRACING

I agree with you. I expect more models soon. I have enquired about the camera, to confirm specification. The eBAY seller did not respond. I thought of purchasing it only if he confirms.

Honestly, it will be more fun than functional for my kind of driving at present.

I am little worried about the quality of holding suction cup and especially connecting a long wire to connect the 12v socket.

Quality of Chinese holding suction cup is good. I ordered two from Aliexpress, each was costed around INR 180. Using it for my DVR which I purchased in Apr 2013.

@CRACING

I agree with you. I expect more models soon. I have enquired about the camera, to confirm specification. The eBAY seller did not respond. I thought of purchasing it only if he confirms.
okay.

Update: Looks like the seller has ended the listing in ebay India but still 9 were available. [confused]

Honestly, it will be more fun than functional for my kind of driving at present.
Indeed and for me too.

I am little worried about the quality of holding suction cup and especially connecting a long wire to connect the 12v socket.[/QUOTE]

Yes thats what I'm concerned too and thats why I use cigar mobile holder instead of suction cup mobile holder. Wire connection is also a little problem.

I'm also looking for mirror based dash cams, yet to find a good one. [roll]

My first post here [:)]

I am using HTC RE Action camera in my Tata Zest as a dashboard camera. Works wonderfully well with quality sensor & 146 degrees wide angle lens. Have option for 1080p / 720p / 480p video. Does around 2 hours of 1080p video with full charge. Costs around 4.8-5k on flipkart app.

HTC RE Body only RE Sports & Action Camera Rs.4999 Price in India - Buy HTC RE Body only RE Sports & Action Camera Navy Blue Online - HTC : Flipkart.com

HTC Re camera review: Ready to roll - GSMArena.com

You can use it as a standalone camera as well when not used it car. Will post pictures soon to get you guys an idea.

Hope this helps.

It comes with a circular plastic part which I have attached on the car dashboard. I am posting pictures which will make it clear for you guys. I have mounted it on the right side of the dashboard so that it wont obstruct the field of view which driving the car.

Even in the current position. it covers the whole front area very well.

Correction - It can only record in 1080p/720p 30fps & not in 480p resolution. Also it can do 720p 120fps slow motion videos. Has 88 degress wide angle view in video mode. For photo mode its 100 degress extending it to 146 degrees in ultra wide angle mode. Has auto time lapse mode as well.

https://www.dropbox.com/sc/z280z8unlb1nz0g/AAC0iUjHe3SlENWmC5vJXlsea

https://www.dropbox.com/sc/lftzi1fub75dtht/AAB5EW6stKDGAWuzA0h5CmE9a

https://www.dropbox.com/sc/9uteiycgok45hcr/AAC9NaCjF8dYjxGHAOpli6SMa