Confused Between Vento / Verna / City Ciaz

@tornado you are right its a manufacturing defect and the buyers are suffering the loss instead of the manufacturer. its only because of this thought i am looking out for other options else i would have never sold the car at first place and i would have been a volkswagen fan for life time. i know volkswagen has recalled many cars voluntarily in the past in other countries because there the laws are very strict but unfortunately in India this is not the case. In India the government is still thinking of making a recall code. i had send mails too regarding this matters to concerned departments but not even a single reply had come. only few companies in India has done voluntary recall. so even a company boosting so much about the quality and german engineering runs away from there responsibility of recalling a defective car. its not only these car manufacturers who are at fault but our system is equally responsible for allowing sales of these cars. and also i need a car which is equally strong as this one so the options are very few like rapid, fiesta and linea.
now why am i bothered about sales figures? lesser cars on road makes you odd one out and you always have a doubt in your mind whether i had made a right decision or not even if you are a car expert. and other main reason is fewer sales figures causes problem of availability of spare parts down the line. and also if they are available the prices will be very high. we had peaugot 309 and we loved that car but the parts would either be not available and if available they were quite expensive in those times.

@jovicud i agree with you. mine and your observation for honda city are same. i have heard about handling issues with verna on high speed in older models and in new 4s they have improved in this area to some extent. thats why i am considering this car. and do post your reviews soon.

@rselva from all of you readers views i think i will drop honda city from the list. do let me know what are the issues with dsg. if you have a link about this matter kindly do share here. have read some reviews about dsg and they said it is best in the segment.

@acechip i saw the pictures on the link you shared. i am also not giving much importance to touchscreen and bluetooth and all but what i want is an abs and airbags as primary features. now regarding quality. brother as i have mentioned earlier that i live near a seashore area and where the cars are easily affected by corrosion so i want a car which can withstand this effect for atleast 5 years. i do not insist on anti corrosion warranty also but atleast views of other people who also live in such climatic area and who are using cars like verna, city or ciaz. i am especially looking for the views of verna users in this regards.

@ a.ashish
Youre Welcome :D
Testdrive the new vento and you'll know the difference it makes. Try the DSG version and youll love it .
There are a lot of options out there and each car is good one way or the other...choose the one which you think will get along perfectly.
Have a great time choosing your car :)

@ajaykrishn will be visiting volkswagen showroom tomorrow if deal cracks than its good if not will visit hyundai showroom and go for verna. although creta is too expensive and out of budget will check out and will see if anyway i can afford.

sorry for going a little off topic. i understand that vw is a great brand and the cars are of very quality. but i dont understand why we are seeing so many issues related to reliability. we are not seeing that with other brands like Honda,Hyundai, maruti etc.
(note: i too considered vento despite the concern about the reliability. but in the end bowled over by creta)

@adithya your point is 100 % valid. and as i had mentioned earlier that because of lack recall code and our present system they are able to sell such defective cars very easily. in other countries they have recalled whole batch of cars which had a PROBABILITY of defective fuel injectors or other defects. in japan they have excellent quality control and the same is carried over to the plants in other countries hence the chances of defective lots are very less. but i have read on internet that even honda had recalled civic in some countries which had a an issue related to brakes.

i also liked creta but there are no official reviews by experts yet hence i am waiting for that before taking any final call.

@abhishekyadav yes rapid is equally good. but new rapid model is going to be launched soon. i saw it on youtube and looks just like octavia. once the new model is launched i am sure there will be a long queue for the buyers outside skoda showroom. and as far as A.S.S. of skoda in gujarat is concerned it is just the same. one of my relative just got his octavia's serviced and he is not happy with it.

@vishnu vichu i too liked the dsg and read about your pocket rocket polo too and its good you are enjoying every bit of it. and as you have a very good knowledge about the automobiles i would like to ask you that i had heard a lot of complaints about dsg with tsi engine in the past so i want to know whether there were any complaints of dsg with tdi engine also in the past and do new buyers are still facing the reliability issue?

@vijay_968 dude either i will buy vento or verna.

yes rapid is equally good. but new rapid model is going to be launched soon. i saw it on youtube and looks just like octavia.
That Rapid won't come to India anytime, that is exclusive to the European Market. That's why the Indian Rapid is similar to the Vento. Skoda doesn't have any plans to launch new car apart from New Superb which is coming by End 2015 or early 2016.

@nishant5858 yes brother you are absolutely right.

And finally booked vento candy white today. but the delivery will be available after around 7 days. since past 10 days negotiations were going on and finally we agreed to a price.

THANKING YOU ALL FOR YOUR VALUABLE FEEDBACK.

@nishant5858 yes brother you are absolutely right.

And finally booked vento candy white today. but the delivery will be available after around 7 days. since past 10 days negotiations were going on and finally we agreed to a price.

THANKING YOU ALL FOR YOUR VALUABLE FEEDBACK.
Congrats for booking another Vento Ashish.Which variant did you book and did you book DSG one?We are in a same situation whether we should replace our Vento with another one since we have met with an accident today and bonnet bumper got damaged.

@music_swift thank you very much. and sorry to hear about our vento. i had booked vento manual highline. few reasons why i choose manual over dsg

1. the prices are high and they are not offering any discount on dsg. though they are giving huge discount on old vento dsg but didnt want to buy old model.
2. i also checked comfortline model but now the interiors are complete black in comfortline which i didnt liked. although s.e. favoured all black interior by saying that even in polo 1.2 tsi model the interiors are all black and it looks sporty. but wife was against all black interior and my opinion is also that it does not look premium.
3. i got very handsome discount on 2015 manual highline model. its more than 64000 rs. including loyalty bonus.

i again choose vento because its build quality is way ahead then others. further there are many minute changes all over the car which makes it even better. the best part of the new vento is its stearing. in pictures you wont get the idea about the new stearing and the switches on it but it is simply top-notch. i really wanted to buy dsg but highline dsg was out of budget.

Hi Ashish

If I have to choose between these three then my personal favorite is Hyundai Verna. From design to car parts everything is good in this car. It looks really awesome and also best in the range. '
For your satisfaction you should compare the features of three and then choose the best according to your need because I think every person has different requirement and different choice.[:)]

@music_swift thank you very much. and sorry to hear about our vento. i had booked vento manual highline. few reasons why i choose manual over dsg

1. the prices are high and they are not offering any discount on dsg. though they are giving huge discount on old vento dsg but didnt want to buy old model.
2. i also checked comfortline model but now the interiors are complete black in comfortline which i didnt liked. although s.e. favoured all black interior by saying that even in polo 1.2 tsi model the interiors are all black and it looks sporty. but wife was against all black interior and my opinion is also that it does not look premium.
3. i got very handsome discount on 2015 manual highline model. its more than 64000 rs. including loyalty bonus.

i again choose vento because its build quality is way ahead then others. further there are many minute changes all over the car which makes it even better. the best part of the new vento is its stearing. in pictures you wont get the idea about the new stearing and the switches on it but it is simply top-notch. i really wanted to buy dsg but highline dsg was out of budget.
Is VW offering ₹64000 on new facelifted which launched recently with features like cruise control or 2014-15 one?If yes will check it.We are planning to exchange the old one and go for new one.Present one costs ₹12.86L on road Hyd whereas DSG TDI costs ₹14.3L on road.

@sarah you are right every person has different requirements and different choice. verna is good but we will be using this cars mostly on highways and verna has high speed stability issues. although much is improved in 4s version but still not class leading. but as far as refinement and features are considered it is the best among all.

@music_swift and @krishnavamshi24 i got discount in facelift version and not the old version. with cruise control. in gujarat on road price is 12.38 lacs with 3rd and 4th year warranty. you will get loyalty bonus 20000 and exchange bonus 10000 further negotiate for waiver of handling charges and accessories. for insurance they will ask for 48000 negotiate and bring down to 34000 (with zero dep. cover) overall it will be a discount of 64000. they also offer 9.99 % loan but because of prepayment charges didnt applied there and got car loan from sbi at 10.15%

for old vento there offer was 70000 discount plus loyalty and exchange but since i was not interested in old model so didnt bargain.