All New Volkswagen Jetta in India

VW says they will be launching it in August. It will get the 140 bhp engine with the 6 speed DSG as in the Laura. Its an important car for VW. Recently VW's performance in the Indian market has been very good with cars right from Polo to Vento to the new Passat being successful. The only disadvantage with the new Jetta is that it looks very similar to the Vento from the front side.

I read somewhere that the car is launching on 17th August. I've been waiting for this to launch so that we could replace our Corolla with the all new Jetta [clap]

If that’s the case then I must congratulate you in advance. Even before the release, I’m impressed with the New Jetta and what else could be better to have a real-time owner right here with us on the forum? :smile:

The biggest problem Volkswagen are gonna have is convincing customers to buy the new Jetta over a Vento. I mean, it looks almost like the Vento (except at the rear), the interiors too are not that very different from the Vento and knowing the Vento and its wide-spread capabilities, why would someone want to spend 3-4 lakh rupees extra just for slightly more room at the back and a little more boot space? In fact, the bigger Jetta will be much more cumbersome to manage in traffic-infested cities like Mumbai as compared to the relatively compact Vento. I hope VW has a party trick up its sleeve to help it effectively distinguish the new Jetta from its lesser sibling.

Amaan but for 3-4Lakh you get hell a lot features extra and also a much bigger car and also let's not forget even a better performing engine. Jetta is for those people who look for the extra oomph factor whereas a regular family guy will prefer a Vento.

But having said that we auto buffs know the Jetta is worth its extra cost but whereas a normal person who is looking for a decent car to travel from Point A -Point B with good comfort and good FE , Vento will be his obvious choice. I am saying this because my friend bought a Vento TDI recently exactly for the reason which you have mentioned even though he had a very good budget to buy even a Laura or Jetta.

The biggest problem Volkswagen are gonna have is convincing customers to buy the new Jetta over a Vento. I mean, it looks almost like the Vento (except at the rear), the interiors too are not that very different from the Vento and knowing the Vento and its wide-spread capabilities, why would someone want to spend 3-4 lakh rupees extra just for slightly more room at the back and a little more boot space? In fact, the bigger Jetta will be much more cumbersome to manage in traffic-infested cities like Mumbai as compared to the relatively compact Vento. I hope VW has a party trick up its sleeve to help it effectively distinguish the new Jetta from its lesser sibling.
That’s like saying why would anyone purchase Mercedes Benz E-Class over the C-Class for additional Rs.10 Lacs when they can get the same status of Merc in the latter and also it will be easier to drive in the cities. Although at first glance, New Jetta and Vento appear to be somewhat similar but if we observe carefully, then that’s the trend which is being followed by almost all manufacturers. The Jetta we are going to receive is the new generation model which shares Volkswagen’s family designing cues and its other competitors for example, say Skoda Laura will soon also share the looks with upcoming Skoda Rapid. I'm attaching a pictorial comparison of both the cars below. Except for some resemblance from front, rest of the car appears much bigger and different.

Volkswagen Jetta Front
Volkswagen-Jetta_2011_1280x960_wallpaper_09.jpg

Volkswagen Vento Front
Volkswagen-Vento.jpg

Volkswagen Jetta Side
Volkswagen-Jetta_2011_1280x960_wallpaper_13.jpg

Volkswagen Vento Side
finalnew-mg_33924.jpg

Volkswagen Jetta Rear
Volkswagen-Jetta_2011_1280x960_wallpaper_28.jpg

Volkswagen Vento Rear
Polo-Sedan-Rear.jpg

Volkswagen Jetta Interiors
Volkswagen-Jetta_2011_1280x960_wallpaper_3b.jpg

Volkswagen Vento Interiors
VentoInteriors_1280x1024.jpg

The launch date of New Volkswagen Jetta has been confirmed. It's coming on same day as the New Swift - August 17th, 2011.

Can't say i don't like it, but won't say I like it either. Volkswagen has lost creativity? Or maybe they aren't paying the designers as much?

Almost all of the new volkswagen line up, including the Amarok and the new beetle have very similar fronts.

It was looking good when the polo/vento came out, they had the meanest looking front ends, but now...

maybe its just me then :L

The launch date of New Volkswagen Jetta has been confirmed. It's coming on same day as the New Swift - August 17th, 2011.

wow two exciting launches on same day!! am just hoping vw dont increase price more and new jetta will rock!!

Can't say i don't like it, but won't say I like it either. Volkswagen has lost creativity? Or maybe they aren't paying the designers as much?

Almost all of the new volkswagen line up, including the Amarok and the new beetle have very similar fronts.

It was looking good when the polo/vento came out, they had the meanest looking front ends, but now...

maybe its just me then :L

Agree with you buddy. A common man will easily mistake it for a Vento and so it loses the premium image even after you pay so much more than Vento! Same goes for the new Passat , from a distance i easily mistake it for a Polo/vento if the LED'S are turned OFF.

Alright. Full specifications and information on all three variants of New Volkswagen Jetta are out prior the launch.

Volkswagen Jetta Trendline Specs
Volkswagen-Jetta-Trendline-India.jpg

Volkswagen Jetta Highline Specs
Volkswagen-Jetta-Highline-India.jpg

Volkswagen Jetta Comfortline Specs
Volkswagen-Jetta-Comfortline-India.jpg
Credits: Indian Autos Blog

Agree with you buddy. A common man will easily mistake it for a Vento and so it loses the premium image even after you pay so much more than Vento! Same goes for the new Passat , from a distance i easily mistake it for a Polo/vento if the LED'S are turned OFF.
Dude they are daylight LED and cant be turned off!

I'm sure it's going to be a great car. However I somehow don't like that the Vento, Jetta and Passat will all look similar from a distance.