What's Hot in Mobile Phone Industry?

I guess I would buy 10gm Gold and in remaining 20K buy a micromax phone.
Maybe someone has misguided you buddy!!!! [glasses]
There is no compulsion to buy the 10gm gold. You can ONLY get the MMX and that too 20K one is not again a compulsion, you can try the 10K one also.

Maybe someone has misguided you buddy!!!! [glasses]
There is no compulsion to buy the 10gm gold. You can ONLY get the MMX and that too 20K one is not again a compulsion, you can try the 10K one also.
yup you are right, but If I had 50 K with me, I would still buy a topend mmx or samsung of 20K and rest invest some where instead of spending entire 50K on highly depreciating asset like a mobile. I would get a seriously decent phone with all possible features in 20K. I would not want to spend more than 20K on an electronic gadget.

@Nitin, these prices are way high when you compare the competitors in the market, what do you feel ??

Do you think people still have that Apple mania
What do you mean by apple mania ?

Nokia 1020 is 50k₹ btw . And Apple charges everything a bit high then competition may it be a tablet , phone , laptop or desktop . There is nothing new in this and still a section of society prefer their products only .

yup you are right, but If I had 50 K with me, I would still buy a topend mmx or samsung of 20K and rest invest some where instead of spending entire 50K on highly depreciating asset like a mobile. I would get a seriously decent phone with all possible features in 20K. I would not want to spend more than 20K on an electronic gadget.
True .

And then we have great SUVs from 12 lakhs to 5o lakhs with all possible features , yet people buy a 1.85 crore ex showroom range rover inspite of knowing it is a depreciating disaster . It's just a matter of choice & preference .

@Raja, my comments about Apple is I was referring to the days when Apple phone(Iphone) launched in India and craze about them. There were not many premium mobiles in that range with such design and the screen and everything and today there are plenty of options available in the market. Yes it is a subjective choice of people at the end

@edios and @Superbad

Now we are checking out LG optimus G pro, S3 too for some extent and a new addition in the list is Lumia 920 as I have seen its price as some 23k today on flipkart.

So we decided to go into the stores and experience mobiles in real and then take a call, so list is open at the moment

@Raja, my comments about Apple is I was referring to the days when Apple phone(Iphone) launched in India and craze about them. There were not many premium mobiles in that range with such design and the screen and everything and today there are plenty of options available in the market. Yes it is a subjective choice of people at the end
iPhone in India was never hit in the past and even in the present it won't be a hit because of the price .

The price of iPhone doesn't decrease like other cellphones after few days in the market it is only reduced when next generation iPhone is launched .

The craze you are talking about is still there all around the world inspite of competition . Like I said there is a certain section of society which only prefers apple products only .

What's the price of Optimus G Pro? If it falls in the list, go for it.
Otherwise, I strictly suggest you to get a Nexus 4.

What's the price of Optimus G Pro? If it falls in the list, go for it.
Otherwise, I strictly suggest you to get a Nexus 4.
The g pro does not come in the price range of 21-23k ₹ I asked yesterday in the mall .

And beside that Edios as freakdude mentioned we are about to go extreme off topic here . This topic can be discussed here ->

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/gadgets-more/13973-suggest-me-new-mobile-phone-thread.html

Which happens to be a appropriate thread to discuss and suggest and ask which phone to buy .

Thread Starter #146
RK, any offering from apple is not for the masses. They have made it clear time and again that its a premium product and target the niche segment. Their aim is to innovate and fill in their coffins with $$ by charging premium.

They have stopped manufacturing iphone 4 (being too old ) and iphone 5 since 5s and 5c have almost similar specs compared to 5. Also iPhone 5 costs more to produce. The tooling needed for the aluminum is not cheap so making the shell plastic allows for better margin.

The 5C being in plastic also differentiates it from the iPhone 5S. further they risk not selling many 5S phones since the 5 would be too much like the 5S but at a lower price.

I would suggest your cousin to buy a 2nd hand iphone 5 or Nexus 4.

online price LG Optimus G Pro E988 for Rs. 27806.0
using coupon code
FLASH1510
on indiatimes shopping

LG nexus 4 Rs. 21159
using the same above coupon on same website.

else on flipkart in their diwali sale.

Thread Starter #148
i have a coupon of indiatimes for 8% flat off valid on mobiles. PM me if anyone wants it.

As a part of our Loyalty Reward Program, Indiatimes Shopping offers you a FLAT 8% Gift Coupon that would make you eligible for buying your dream phone at lowest prices. Select from the brand of your choice - Samsung, Nokia, HTC, Micromax, etc.! Use coupon code xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx at checkout to get this discount.
Wait, if you are not interested in buying a smartphone for yourself, you can also give this coupon code to your friend/family and they can use it by logging through your account - this can be their Diwali gift! :)
Hurry, grab your new smartphone before the coupon expires on 22nd October.
Terms and Conditions
• This is an exclusive coupon which can be used just once
• Discount only applicable on Mobile Phones
• Other Indiatimes Shopping Terms and Conditions apply

Micromax launches Canvas Turbo A250 full HD smartphone for INR 19,990

1.5GHz quad-core processor
5-inch SHARP full HD CGS display (1920x1080p)
Full aluminium casing
2000 mAh battery
Android 4.2.1(Jelly Bean)
13MP AF rear camera; 5MP FF front camera
2GB RAM; 16GB internal storage
Bluetooth v4.0 and Wi-Fi
Integrated Music Hub & Game Hub
Pre-loaded Apps: BBM Download Link, Spuul, Kingsoft Office, M!Security, Blow to Unlock, M!Live, Opera, Hike, FOTA & Games- Jelly Jumper, Fruit Devil, The Darkman
Colour options: Blue, White

the only negative thing is the battery size.
http://www.androidos.in/2013/10/micromax-launches-canvas-turbo-a250-full-hd-smartphone-inr-19990/

1.5GHz quad-core processor
5-inch SHARP full HD CGS display (1920x1080p)
Full aluminium casing
2000 mAh battery
Android 4.2.1(Jelly Bean)
13MP AF rear camera; 5MP FF front camera
2GB RAM; 16GB internal storage
Bluetooth v4.0 and Wi-Fi
Integrated Music Hub & Game Hub
Pre-loaded Apps: BBM Download Link, Spuul, Kingsoft Office, M!Security, Blow to Unlock, M!Live, Opera, Hike, FOTA & Games- Jelly Jumper, Fruit Devil, The Darkman
Colour options: Blue, White

the only negative thing is the battery size.
Must say MMX has got guts. It has been pricing it's phones as Samsung does. [;)]
With these specs at 20K I guess an informed buyer will go for Nexus 4 at just 2-3K more.