Volkswagen Polo Sedan (Vento!) Coming By Diwali

wow great scoop and exciting features and specs but am not convinced if price is more than 6-7 lakhs! first VW wants people to pay more than 7 lakh price and then limit them with color choices also!! [anger]

Thread Starter #125
Volkswagen India starts Vento Production from Chakan, Pune

The first Vento was rolled out of the VW Chakan Plant today, August 4th 2010. Volkswagen India began production of the highly awaited mid-sized sedan, last evening. Vento, according to Volkswagen India, is the first car to have been designed while keeping in mind the needs and preferences of the Indian customers.

The Vento boasts the longest wheel-base in the premium mid-size sedan segment. If that’s really the case, it should offer great legroom to its customers. “It will be positioned at the upper-end of the country’s mid-sized sedan segment”, reads the press release, which means that the pricing will tilt more towards the Honda City, and not the lower segment which comprises the likes of the Swift DZire.

Source - Motoroids

Went to VW showroom today. The SE said their team is going next week for training about Vento and the car will probably be available by next month. Petrol version starts from 7 lacs. Diesel pricing is directly targeted at City.

Are you sure about the pricing Crazycat? In RSM'S report it says it will target only premium sedans!

BTW if your pricing is correct then my guessing is also correct! So Shynish happy now?[;)]

Yes! VW is one of the few companies who managed to run the show with out debts during the recession. Just like any other German cars, VW is also expensive to maintain. However, It is established so well in Europe that they can offer the service at affordable price. To get to that level in India, VW needs killer pricing (don't need to mention the products as it is always good). When they have some volume, maintenance cost will reduce automatically.

If what we hear on pricing is correct, this is going to give tough time for FIAT, Hyundai and especially MSIL & TATA. We can expect a top end automatic model which may compete with Honda City too.

Went to VW showroom today. The SE said their team is going next week for training about Vento and the car will probably be available by next month. Petrol version starts from 7 lacs. Diesel pricing is directly targeted at City.
If this comes true, then expect long waiting periods on Vento as well.

VW Vento prices
Petrol- trendline 6.99 lakh, highline M/T 8.23 lakh, highline A/T 9.25 lakh
Diesel- trendline 7.99 lakh Highline 9.23 lakh

Source- OD.

Tomorrow is the media drive.

Wow, Thanks for posting the details Siddhant. I should say, That is one fantastic pricing and what the Volkswagen dealer told Crazy Cat becomes true. Now, I just can not resist checking out this car. :smile:

Thread Starter #134
sidhhant, the pricing is bang-on.
Polo is anyway picking-up good, and with this pricing VW will have great market share in India.

Kudos to VW for the mouth-watering prices!

I think, Honda Siel, Maruti Suzuki and Hyundai Motors have to worry more than Fiat India. Anyway, competition is good for customers ultimately. After introduction of Linea T-jet, we will get the clear picture. ANHC will definitely get more impact with considerably reduced numbers after introduction of VW Vento. For Fiat Linea, which is selling around 1000 per month, the impact will be less, IMO.