Tips For Long Highway Drives in India

Just want to add following from my recent experience:

Please keep some quick help medicines with you on *any* travel:

1) ORS sachets along with water. E..g, Electral. This is useful in case of dehydration.
2) Tablets for headache, stomach upset / ache
3) Relispray / volini etc in case of joint pains

Note that all this is just so that you reach the safe place for treatment in case there is no one else who could drive the car.

Guys,

Do i need to carry original RC if i travel out of state(My trip: Chennai-Wayanad-Chennai)?. I have only PhotoCopy of the RC with me.

The other documents which i'm planning to take with me is Original D/L, Insurance. Anything else i'm missing?

Guys,

Do i need to carry original RC if i travel out of state(My trip: Chennai-Wayanad-Chennai)?. I have only PhotoCopy of the RC with me.

The other documents which i'm planning to take with me is Original D/L, Insurance. Anything else i'm missing?
Yes, Original RC must be kept, when going outside State. below documents must always be there with you while traveling outside your own state, or within state( Only exception is the Original RC, while within state, u can carry Copy of it)

1. RC
2. PUC
3. Insurance
4. DL

swadesh i think the new rto rule stipulates that original rc be kept in vehicle even in the home state.
not very sure of tbhis one, as in case of theft or accidents, , there are increased chances of losing the Original RC, hence it's always required to be kept safe, rather than keeping with Vehicle. Anyways, Its always better to have RC and other documents in original,

Original RC needs to be with the vehicle all the time along with original License and PUC.
I still doubt that, as I've never shown the Original RC to Police, since last 15yrs of my Driving. Having driven in Delhi, Haryana, J&K, Himachal, Sikkim, UP, Gujrat, Maharastra, Andhra, Karnataka, I have been asked for Papers several times, but never had to show the Original RC, all the time, work was done with Copy of RC.
Just once, RC was asked by a Traffic Police, but when I said that, I have only Copy and Original is at Home. He left without a word !

I own a Grandi10 Petrol. This is my first car and crossed close to 1200 kms. All the drives been in heavy to moderate bumper to bumper traffic in Bangalore.

We are family of four adults planning for a day trip from Bangalore to Tirupati. This is my first highway trip and first for my car too. We decide to night halt at Tirupati post darshan and start the next day to Bangalore.

1) Is it good for the car to be driven on highways as it has crossed just 1200 kms ( and not crossed 2000 - 2500 kms margin ) ?

2) Is it safe for me to take the car on highways as this being my first trip and the only driver of the trip ? Do I need any guidance say for example an experienced co-passenger driver must accompany me and so on ?

3) I am from Bangalore. I see from the map that till Mulbagal, it is a proper highway and post that i.e., Mulbagal to Tirupati, it is a state highway. Is it possible to take this stretch as this being my first highway drive on the state highway and as in state highways, I heard that one needs to be wary of the overtaking maneuvers from the vehicles coming from the opposite side.

4) Can Grandi10 petrol with 4 adults can climb easily the Tirumala ghat roads ? What gear and speed should be maintained from Tirupati to Tirumala and also while coming down to Tirupati ?

Being my first trip, I am confident but at the same time very nervous and responsible as I need to take care of my driving there by to take care of my family too in terms of safety driving aspect.

So, please do guide me whether to pursue the trip through self driving or to go by public/private bus.

I own a Grandi10 Petrol. This is my first car and crossed close to 1200 kms. All the drives been in heavy to moderate bumper to bumper traffic in Bangalore.

We are family of four adults planning for a day trip from Bangalore to Tirupati. This is my first highway trip and first for my car too. We decide to night halt at Tirupati post darshan and start the next day to Bangalore.
First of all Congrats on your first car..

1) Is it good for the car to be driven on highways as it has crossed just 1200 kms ( and not crossed 2000 - 2500 kms margin ) ?
No problem at all. Actually people say you should n't cross the some speed till the engine is set. That does n't mean you cant take your car on highways. but try to maintain the speed less than 80.

2) Is it safe for me to take the car on highways as this being my first trip and the only driver of the trip ? Do I need any guidance say for example an experienced co-passenger driver must accompany me and so on ?
if it is full of four way and surface driving you need not to worry. you can easily take it by yourself. (Then when you will learn yaar). In your case, it seems to 2 way road for some stretch. even in this road if you are not in hurry and you can follow the ongoing vehicle you can aram se go behind without over taking. and next thing is climbing up on hills. That is no big thing in thirpathi since you have two different ways for climbing up and climbing down. So you need not to worry about oncoming vehicles. you can keep going. but you have to handle the curves and climbings. You have to take decision here.

3) I am from Bangalore. I see from the map that till Mulbagal, it is a proper highway and post that i.e., Mulbagal to Tirupati, it is a state highway. Is it possible to take this stretch as this being my first highway drive on the state highway and as in state highways, I heard that one needs to be wary of the overtaking maneuvers from the vehicles coming from the opposite side.
Bangy guys can answer better for this

4) Can Grandi10 petrol with 4 adults can climb easily the Tirumala ghat roads ? What gear and speed should be maintained from Tirupati to Tirumala and also while coming down to Tirupati ?
100%. My sparky which is LPG handled thirupathi neatly with 5 adults on board. Regarding speed it depends upon the place and comfort. but in think there is some speed limits as well time limits in thirupathi. you will be mentioned that you should reach the top or bottom on specific time. if you go before that then you vehicle will be banned in thirupathi. but that is for the fast driving people. this is mainly to control the speed and accidents caused by that. pls go the my thread for speed details

Being my first trip, I am confident but at the same time very nervous and responsible as I need to take care of my driving there by to take care of my family too in terms of safety driving aspect.
That is true. you have to concered about your loved ones. if you suggest, I reqeust to take a experenced driver along with you (if the car permits 5 adults) and you can drive to some extent where you will get some confident on highway and at the same time the expereinced driver may give you live suggestions. and you can see how he is driving in hillly area so that you can observe his skills and do it next time.

or another idea is if you have time try alone with some small hill roads and try your skills. I did with Yelagiri.

So, please do guide me whether to pursue the trip through self driving or to go by public/private bus.

Based on the above points you can take your own decision

First of all, thanks mate for the replies and suggestions.[thumbsup]

First of all Congrats on your first car..
Thanks for the wishes

No problem at all. Actually people say you should n't cross the some speed till the engine is set. That does n't mean you cant take your car on highways. but try to maintain the speed less than 80.
I am a sedate driver and wish to maintain the speeds in the range of 70

if it is full of four way and surface driving you need not to worry. you can easily take it by yourself. (Then when you will learn yaar). In your case, it seems to 2 way road for some stretch. even in this road if you are not in hurry and you can follow the ongoing vehicle you can aram se go behind without over taking. and next thing is climbing up on hills. That is no big thing in thirpathi since you have two different ways for climbing up and climbing down. So you need not to worry about oncoming vehicles. you can keep going. but you have to handle the curves and climbings. You have to take decision here.
It is a mix of 4 lanes and 2 lanes ( State highways). It seems that the last leg of 70 to 80 kms is on the two lane stretch. I am very much concerned about the overtaking vehicles coming in the opposite direction.

Also, with regard to the climb up, I am going to drive slowly and I know about the speed limits with respect to time. They will note the entry time at the toll gate before entering the hill.

Are the hairpin bends too sharp ? Will the vehicle slope backwards while climbing up ? Which gear must be used for climb up ? And which one while climbing down ? How and when to give way for the speedier vehicles in the hills ?

That is true. you have to concered about your loved ones. if you suggest, I reqeust to take a experenced driver along with you (if the car permits 5 adults) and you can drive to some extent where you will get some confident on highway and at the same time the expereinced driver may give you live suggestions. and you can see how he is driving in hillly area so that you can observe his skills and do it next time.
As I told you, this is my first car of the family and I need to take the responsibility. I am the only driver who knows driving. I want to use this oppurtunity to learn and at the same very very concerned about our highways as anything can happen. And also, the problem with the hatchbacks is that they are best suited for 4 people and 5 people on board will make the entire rear seaters uncomfortable.

Also, I do see lot of speed bumps on the highways. As we will be maintaining a considerable speed on the highways, how to tackle or spot those speed bumps ?

Few inputs from my end

1) Yes, you can take your car on highways. Follow speed limits as sometimes it becomes tempting to floor accelerator. Best is to stick at left lane and enjoy highway ride.

2) It’s good if some driver accompanies you as a co-passenger. But still i will suggest you to drive all the way which will help you to build your confidence. First of all do good study of the route and plan your halts in between, if you are getting tired after driving few KMs i would suggest you to take 5 mins break after every 10-15 Km. Don’t feel nervous

3) Always stick to your own lane. If you see somebody coming in your lane from opposite side then initially flash your lights and sound horn, if he still sticks to your lane then just check your RVM and get aside or simply reduce your speed so that the moron can pass.

4) Momentum is the key to climb any slope. Always shift to lower gears as soon as you see pin bends or steep slopes. Don’t shift in between the bends which may result on low revvs stalling your car in mid-way. The gear which you used to climb should be used while coming down as well.

Lastly, enjoy your trip, click photos and write your experiences in travelogue. All the best!!! [:)]

Thanks very much for the replies.
Yes, you can take your car on highways. Follow speed limits as sometimes it becomes tempting to floor accelerator. Best is to stick at left lane and enjoy highway ride.
I plan to maintain the speeds in the range of 70kmph. How to tackle the speed bumps on the highways ?

2) Don’t feel nervous
I feel confident but nervous as well as it's not possible for me to accompany a driver. So I am the lone driver left. Also, I need to be very careful of the moron drivers in the intersections where they suddenly pop out from the connecting roads.

Always stick to your own lane. If you see somebody coming in your lane from opposite side then initially flash your lights and sound horn, if he still sticks to your lane then just check your RVM and get aside or simply reduce your speed so that the moron can pass.
As I said, I am more concerned about the overtaking vehicles in the opposite direction on the two laned highways. The bigger vehicles generally don't respect the smaller ones while overtaking and I have observed that they generally push the vehicle out from the road and if I am in the speeds of say 40kmph, I need to be very much careful when I get down from the tarmac and move aside.
4) Momentum is the key to climb any slope. Always shift to lower gears as soon as you see pin bends or steep slopes. Don’t shift in between the bends which may result on low revvs stalling your car in mid-way. The gear which you used to climb should be used while coming down as well.
I want to drive in 3rd gear in the Tirumala hills. Is it okay ? Do I need to accelerate while nearing the climb up ? or Do I need to shift to higher gears well before the climb up ?
As the vehicle crossed just 1200 kms, would higher rpm's at lower gears have any effect on the engine on the long run ?
If I use the third gear for climbup, I need to use the same gear for climbing down. Right ?
If a vehicle wants to overtake me on the hills, where do I need to allow them to pass me ?
I do see the hairpin bends 16 to 1 have steep and quick curves.Do I need to maintain in second gears with higher rpm ?

Lastly, enjoy your trip, click photos and write your experiences in travelogue. All the best!!! [:)]
Sure. Thanks

1. Rule of the Hills - the Vehicle coming Upwards has the Right of the Way
2. While taking Hair pin Bends, use the Road as per availability. The more road you have, lesser will be the force while going up hill
3. Use 2nd or 1st gear if you feel that Vehicle is loosing Power while going up. And Use 2/3 grea while going down, as this will restrict you speed while on slope.
4. No Issues with 4-5 People in Car, I've personally seen Tata Nano at Gangtok, with 4 People and Luggage to Max !!!
5. Don;t use 3rd gear for Climbing up, Vehicle will end up loosing the power and may slope backwards. So Use 2nd. You'll be comfertable.
6. If a vehicle is asking for pass, then give him Pass only when you have enough space to move sideways. Usually on hills, there are such spaces available near Turns.
7. Never Try to get down from Road !!! On Single lane highways it's little difficult to Over take, but not worth the Risk, untill you get enough Experience.
8. Look ahead and make sure you have enough room to over take before committing yourself into it.
9. Hair pin beds are sometimes Tricky. A simple trick - Use the full space to your left while taking a Hair pin bend (or Right if you are turning left - Visa versa), this will allow you to have more ground to cover and lesser steep !! Longer the Turn, lesser the Incline.

10 - Drive safe, you are with Family, enjoy the Drive itself, not just the Destination.

1. Rule of the Hills - the Vehicle coming Upwards has the Right of the Way
2. While taking Hair pin Bends, use the Road as per availability. The more road you have, lesser will be the force while going up hill
3. Use 2nd or 1st gear if you feel that Vehicle is loosing Power while going up. And Use 2/3 grea while going down, as this will restrict you speed while on slope.
4. No Issues with 4-5 People in Car, I've personally seen Tata Nano at Gangtok, with 4 People and Luggage to Max !!!
5. Don;t use 3rd gear for Climbing up, Vehicle will end up loosing the power and may slope backwards. So Use 2nd. You'll be comfertable.
6. If a vehicle is asking for pass, then give him Pass only when you have enough space to move sideways. Usually on hills, there are such spaces available near Turns.
7. Never Try to get down from Road !!! On Single lane highways it's little difficult to Over take, but not worth the Risk, untill you get enough Experience.
8. Look ahead and make sure you have enough room to over take before committing yourself into it.
9. Hair pin beds are sometimes Tricky. A simple trick - Use the full space to your left while taking a Hair pin bend (or Right if you are turning left - Visa versa), this will allow you to have more ground to cover and lesser steep !! Longer the Turn, lesser the Incline.

10 - Drive safe, you are with Family, enjoy the Drive itself, not just the Destination.
+1
Be very careful at the curves.Stop the urge to overtake on curves.Switch of the AC while going uphill.There is a tremendous difference. While coming down also keep the vehicle in 2nd or 3rd gear.Do not use neutral.Use the lights judiciously in night.If there are fog lamps installed,use that in rain and fogs.

I somewhere read "Carry lots of water and best places to keep is under the seats as they donot occupy space and can be easily picked up"[frustration]

never never keep bottles under the seats as they can roll and come under the brake and clutch pedal causing serious accidents!!!