Theft of Mahindra Scorpio

Well, the thieves are just getting smarter. It is quite possible that some ASS guys could be involved, directly or indirectly (am not blaming M&M but some individuals with wrong choices in life).

I believe there is good second-hand-car market for Scorpios. Another article I read talks about using Scorpio/Bolero/similar vehicles powerful engines in boats? There were similar stories of Yamaha RX 100 engines used for small boats during LTTE days (I own a RX100!). Another story is about increase in Scorpio/similar vehicles theft just before elections?! Whatever the motive is…

Reading online blogs/forums, I learnt that none of the security systems are fool proof though some can pose as effective deterrents. The 'Gone in 60 Seconds' movie isn't just hype; there are some facts. The thieves are targeting at the ‘software’ (the ECU) than the hardware (such as gear lock and/or steering wheel anti-theft lock). Hence I dont believe engine immobilizer alone will serve the purpose.

Security features are an item am considering in my new car. Irrespective of the built in system, I may go for couple of additional systems such as GPS, and hardware lock. I would use all this, day/night, wherever I park. Of course, I would park my car in the basement.[:)]

A trip to US is likely to come up next month. Is there something I could buy to help secure my next car? Some generic device, not specific to any model. GPS device looks good. I don’t trust the Chinese brand (unreliable, short life). Something simple to install and does not mess with car warranty.

Here are couple of pictures, though few years old. The car had original Stanley leather seats, a special identification.

My son on/in the car. He learnt his first driving lessons in this car when he was around 6 years old (steering and gear).

I hope so (fingers, toes, everything crossed). It may be a whilst before cops trace all the vehicles (and rightful owners). Going by the article, the theft seems little old; newspaper says November '12 or before, but mine was lost early Jan. Anyway, hope the interrogation will reveal the network and I find my vehicle.

Thank you mukeshus for the vehicle tracker link. Unless someone tampers with engine/chassis number (it happened to my friends scorpio), hopefully the M&M A.S.S can find it.

I have decided to sell my car, in whatever condition I find it, and whenever.

I have almost narrowed down on my next car btw. Should close the deal tomorrow. Will share the experience for sure.

Manuman, sorry to read about your vehicle theft. I know you have already brought a nice XUV but what is the status here? Have you got your insurance claim?

It is status quo. No luck on any front.

The insurance guy came over and collected lot of documents, including some witness letters from the neighbors (I had to do it for him of course). I think the formalities are done and once the cops give the report stating 'unable to trace', insurance processing will start. It has been 2.5 months; I'll start chasing the cops once 3 months is complete.

Hi Manuman,

It is indeed a big loss. Cars carry a lot of sentimental value rather than only financial one.

What is the number of days after which police gives the certificate of "vehicle not found". What is the next process with insurance? Will they re-reimburse you the full IDV?

Anshuman

What is the number of days after which police gives the certificate of "vehicle not found".
This depends on the local police station. They gave mine after a month. However, You have to visit court to close the case and officially attain untraceable report.

What is the next process with insurance? Will they re-reimburse you the full IDV?
Next step is to transfer the car on the name of insurance firm. Usually they deduct a little amount from IDV as processing charges or if documents are incomplete.

Update, after a long time. Obviously the progress has been slow, as expected.

I was chasing the police folks for last few months for update on theft and final 'untraceable' report. The police had set an expectation that it would take at least 6 months. My visits increased once 6 months crossed (in July '13).

Though I had enough contacts with Police, none helped. The Police took their own sweet time. The Police claimed that there is some change in personnel (inspector moved to a different station, so on) which is delaying the process. I even wrote letter to the ACP and DCP (registered post). Not sure if that helped but finally I received a call this Monday to come and collect the so called C report! I immediately rushed, worked with the admin guys to get the report late in the night.

The immediate next day I visited Bajaj Allianz for claim. It was a refreshing change - it took me less than 10 minutes of paperwork and pleasant conversation (Mr. Sunil, at Bajaj Allianz near Lalbagh / JC road) to close the deal. The next day I received an SMS that my claim is approved. My car was insured for 3.95 lacs, and the approval is for 3.94 lacs!! I was expecting around 3.5 to 3.7, but this is great! As per SMS, I should receive the claim in 3 working days.

Definitely my thumbs up to Bajaj Allianz.

This ordeal is coming to end, at last. But my memories with my beloved Scorpio remains.

Update, after a long time. Obviously the progress has been slow, as expected.

I was chasing the police folks for last few months for update on theft and final 'untraceable' report. The police had set an expectation that it would take at least 6 months. My visits increased once 6 months crossed (in July '13).

Though I had enough contacts with Police, none helped. The Police took their own sweet time. The Police claimed that there is some change in personnel (inspector moved to a different station, so on) which is delaying the process. I even wrote letter to the ACP and DCP (registered post). Not sure if that helped but finally I received a call this Monday to come and collect the so called C report! I immediately rushed, worked with the admin guys to get the report late in the night.

The immediate next day I visited Bajaj Allianz for claim. It was a refreshing change - it took me less than 10 minutes of paperwork and pleasant conversation (Mr. Sunil, at Bajaj Allianz near Lalbagh / JC road) to close the deal. The next day I received an SMS that my claim is approved. My car was insured for 3.95 lacs, and the approval is for 3.94 lacs!! I was expecting around 3.5 to 3.7, but this is great! As per SMS, I should receive the claim in 3 working days.

This ordeal is coming to end, at last. But my memories with my beloved Scorpio remains.
That is really great to know that you are getting the insured amount. even though there is some delay at last you got it.

So after almost 9 months, you could get the relief. Good to know that the insurance company did not further delay the process.

BTW which car did you purchase as a replacement of your Scorpio?

It is good your claim finally got settled and police gave the certificate. Yes it usually takes almost than a year to get it.

Same question from me, what is the replacement vehicle ?

Lost my Scorpio 2 weeks ago (7th Jan), due to a theft.

Parked right in front of my house, in a good residential layout (BDA/BBMP, Bangalore). 2005 model SLX, came with whatever built in autocop security feature. I had invested on stanley leather seats; a year ago changed MRF Wanderer tyres (including spare wheel); changed battery 3 months ago. And topped up the tank on the same day!

I live in an independent house, with basement car parking. I dont park the car in the basement every night, but only on days when I am away for few days. Almost everyone in the locality park their cars outside (its a good broad road, and generally safe). My dad claims he noticed the car around 1:30AM in the morning; when he woke up at 5.30 to water the plants and car (his early morning routine), he could not find the car.

I wasn't too surprised, though I took a whilst to come to terms, 'coz couple of my friends too had lost their Scorpio. I had heard stories about how / why they steal (to power the boat with scorpio engines?). I lost any hopes of finding the car instantly. On a lighter note, my family wanted me to go around the neighborhood looking for the car, just in case the thieves had abandoned the car after removing valuables

One of my friend (who lost his car to a theft in a similar scenario, in Bangalore, 2 years ago) found the car 7 months later. I believe the engine was at the back seat! Almost everything was gone, and he had to spend nearly 3 lakhs to make it run again. Of course, the insurance company did not pay much due to their own assessment method.

Anyway, I lodged police complaint and promptly received FIR by end of the day (Banaswadi police station). The police were generally concerned and very helpful. Thankfully, I have too many contacts with police department, but in my honest assessment, the police never showed 'I dont care' attitude. Probably they would have lodged FIR and would have done the needful even without the contacts. In fact, the police inspector (the guy won a president's medal last year) came home to assess the theft and accepted the complaint at home! Kudos Bangalore Police!

BTW, on the same night, one of the retired Major lost his Scorpio too, few hundred meters away! Within the same police station limit. So the thieves had a field day.

Visited Bajaj Allianz insurance company the following day. I had registered the complaint and claim the day I lost the car. Took both the original keys with remote, RC card, policy original copy, police FIR and complaint, etc. It was a breeze.

Visited Indiranagar RTO on the same day with a letter of 'NOT IN USE' and 'DO NOT TRANSFER' request (a copy of FIR needed). After 15 mins, I had an acknowledgement and stamp on my letter from RTO! There was no demand for 'something', whatsoever.

The RTO acknowledgement, and a cancelled cheque (for bank NEFT form) is needed by insurnace company.

Now comes the wait.... I believe it takes few months for the police to issue Report C, which would state that they have done their best and the car could not be located. Post which, the insurnace company will carry out their process before obliging my claim.

In a nutshell, though I am upset (so many memories!) and feel the loss, I am pragmatic about the loss. Its only a material, and material can be bought. I shall buy a new car (which is a need!) based on my affordability.
This is definitely an uncompensated loss. But, can't help it. It's no mistake of yours, so don't worry.

BTW, the location you mentioned scares the hell out of me. I stay in Banaswadi too, but don't have Scorpio though [:D]

Though it's not a good news, but must be quite healing the wound. And happy to hear that the process with Insurance was seamless and you got just 10K less than the IDV, which is excellent.

Now, forget everything and get busy with the buying experience of the new one. [cheers]