The KTM Duke 200 and I

Thread Starter #46
Eh,you are in a serious trouble buddy.
If you don't mind,then let m ask this question:"Aren't there any premium cars or bikes at your place"?
Why I asked such a question?
Come here to NCR and you will notice that people don't bother to give even a second look to even Harleys and a liter class bike as their are a lot of them as well as all are busy in their own works.But yes,if you are driving anything like a Ferrari,Porsche or Lambo,then you can be in a trouble at red lights.

Just one clear pic of complete bike,none else.

Buddy,as we say in Hindi "Jyada bade kanoon baaz nahi bante(Don't be a very big law follower)".Most of the big bikes,even Yamaha R15s etc here in NCR have no number plates on front,instead all of them have the numbers stuck on front mud guards on white sheet.
And if cops stop them then they have a simple reason "There is no place to put number plate".And hence cops let them go.
And secondly no cop is going to stop your bike as its a BIG bike there and if they do this mistake of stopping the bike then ask them where to put the plate?

The problem is that majority of people here in my area think bikes and bikers are a lesser class. They know about cars, But its almost the opposite when it comes to bikes. And so they act the way they do. There's not much I can do till more people get the Duke and it gets more common around here. The second bike in the district arrived last week said the Showroom people when I went for service.

And regarding number plates, I cant afford to argue with the authorities if I get pulled over for non compliance of norms as me being a lawyer, I just cant say that I didn't know that the norms were such. Cops here are pretty well informed about regulations and most new sub inspectors here are post graduates or have even higher degrees. They even know R1s come with saree guards. And so its too embarrassing to get caught for someone like me if you know what I mean.

^^Ah,a mistake of mine.I was telling YOU to break a law.It was just like banging the head on a wall...(Just like this>>)[frustration]

Rest,hats off to your spirit and honesty towards your work.Else I have seen hundreds of advocates mistreating the cops saying "Tu janta nahi mein kon hun(You don't know who I am)".And cops also seem to be scared of Advocates then.
We have a lot of them here at our place,They don't ride with helmets,they never tie seat belts and what to say about the mighty leader of the bar association here(Adhyaksha,as we say).I know him personally and what are cops?Seriously what are cops and what is law?His son never rides with helmet and if cops stop then phone call goes to daddy..after that cops say in an angry mood to the boy "Go,its your father who is spoiling you and will see its result after some years".

About people thinking bikers a class down...again[frustration].There is nothing like that here.
If you are riding a Pulsar 220,then you can easily threaten any Swift owner.Most of the people here think that "The guy who owns a bike of more than one lac(even Karizma ZMR and Pulsar 220) must be having at least some cash in his pocket".

Congratulations buddy. A very well written review and your bike looks wonderful. Like the color and the back portion is just WOW.

The Duke is keeping me happy alright, No problems till now, Except that I'm getting too much attention everywhere than I need. Kids on other bikes want to race me, No matter what I try to decline. People ask too many questions and literally hold you up when you park it somewhere. I think I should print a review along with pictures and details and carry some 100 Copies with me for giving it out to people who ask questions.[lol]
That's so right. I can imagine your condition and also see you missing a heart beat whenever you have to park your bike and go somewhere.

The problem is that majority of people here in my area think bikes and bikers are a lesser class. They know about cars, But its almost the opposite when it comes to bikes. And so they act the way they do. There's not much I can do till more people get the Duke and it gets more common around here. The second bike in the district arrived last week said the Showroom people when I went for service.

And regarding number plates, I cant afford to argue with the authorities if I get pulled over for non compliance of norms as me being a lawyer, I just cant say that I didn't know that the norms were such. Cops here are pretty well informed about regulations and most new sub inspectors here are post graduates or have even higher degrees. They even know R1s come with saree guards. And so its too embarrassing to get caught for someone like me if you know what I mean.
I had an inkling you would be mobbed near your place, but this sounds like a nightmare you need to manage. Its indeed heartache to be worrying all the time when you park it..i guess there is no escape unless u cover it or something.

On a lighter note:
@Jalex:Why don't you take advantage of this hype your bike has generated?
Touch the bike=20 Rs.
Sit on bike=50 Rs.
Ride the bike on pillion=1000 Rs.
Getting photographed with bike=500 Rs.

Maybe the Duke will get you another within a month.

Thread Starter #51
On a lighter note:
@Jalex:Why don't you take advantage of this hype your bike has generated?
Touch the bike=20 Rs.
Sit on bike=50 Rs.
Ride the bike on pillion=1000 Rs.
Getting photographed with bike=500 Rs.

Maybe the Duke will get you another within a month.
[lol] Someone already told me that but with reduced rates. On the serious note I think if I take it out more often, Then people will get used to it and maybe leave me and the bike alone.

+1000 to that Sir and that's honesty and respect for your job. Salute to that[clap]

About people thinking bikers a class down...again[frustration].There is nothing like that here.
If you are riding a Pulsar 220,then you can easily threaten any Swift owner.Most of the people here think that "The guy who owns a bike of more than one lac(even Karizma ZMR and Pulsar 220) must be having at least some cash in his pocket".
I agree to that buddy. I have seen this a lot in our state. And actually to one extent that's true as well.

@VIpul: Buddy i am looking to buy a Pulsar and since you own a 220 i have few questions for you. Below is the link to my thread since i don't want to own Jalex's thread[;)]

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...-suggest-replacement-options-lml-graptor.html

[lol] Someone already told me that but with reduced rates. On the serious note I think if I take it out more often, Then people will get used to it and maybe leave me and the bike alone.
Eh,how do people steal my ideas even before they come to my mind??[lol]

No one is going to leave you alone that easily,at least for one year.So now you must learn to live with slight heavy heart.

BTW,what about a new pic of complete bike,that I asked for?

Thread Starter #55
Eh,how do people steal my ideas even before they come to my mind??[lol]

No one is going to leave you alone that easily,at least for one year.So now you must learn to live with slight heavy heart.

BTW,what about a new pic of complete bike,that I asked for?
Hope they get me instead of the bike.

I was out the whole day and its starting to rain here, So couldn't get a decent picture. Maybe I'll do a video, Not good with cameras though.

And take a look at the attachment[;)]:

Thread Starter #56
Got a call from KTM India today. It was regarding the issues I had reported to them about the ASC at Trivandrum. They told me that they have taken care of the Customer Lounge and amenities issue at the ASC.

Very impressive p/w ratio and looks like KTM seems proactive and looking to establish good service credentials.

Btw with that power on tap, is it easy for a lame driver to do unwarranted wheelie ? Just wanted to understand if the vehicle behaves aggressively with the throttle in the first few gears

Thread Starter #58
Very impressive p/w ratio and looks like KTM seems proactive and looking to establish good service credentials.

Btw with that power on tap, is it easy for a lame driver to do unwarranted wheelie ? Just wanted to understand if the vehicle behaves aggressively with the throttle in the first few gears
Yes, KTM sure seems to be proactive and they should be.

One can sure pop a wheelie if not careful with the throttle and rpms. Many Dukes seem to be crashing out after immature riders giving it the stick without getting used with the power first. It reminds me of the Suzuki Shaolin around the time it was introduced. A lot of people went into turns on the Shaolin without downshifting in fifth gear as they were only used to 4 speed bikes, only to crash out hard after understeering.

There were three bikes at the ASC that had crashed and were in for repairs when I went for service. One guy managed to bend the trellis frame even. Most of the crashes involve young riders with little or no experience in biking. I myself am still to get to grips with the new seating position and power on tap. Time and experience is the key and that I need a whole lot more.

Any idea about the prices for the above mentioned accident part's?

Thread Starter #60
Any idea about the prices for the above mentioned accident part's?
Have got no clue, Still have to get to know the people at the ASC better to know more things about the bike, The works manager acting like a bureaucrat wasn't helping matters too. However I guess the spares should be reasonable enough as its being manufactured by Bajaj after all.