The Definitive Petrol v/s Diesel Calculator

Donot be so relaxed.

GOI already have a plan for this and will increase the diesel price very soon.
But what about parikh comitee recommended one time tax on diesel cars? any updates?

One day , fuel prices will reach a level when maximum people will stop using pvt. vehicles, and India will be a pollution free nation.

I saw a blog written in similar fashion. Hope this doesnt add to the confusion among diesel car buyers.
There are many factors today to decide on what car to own. Compared to a few years ago, these days the fuel price of petrol has skyrocketed from about 55 bucks to a whopping 75 bucks per litre. So is it really high then or is it just a perception that owning petrol cars is now more costly? Lets do a reality check shall we?

A petrol sedan costs on the road in Bangalore, about 8.5 lacs. While a diesel version about 9.8 lacs. For about 50000km of drive irrespective of where you take it and how you finish the distance, and in how much time for calculation – we just consider the distance alone.

We further assume petrol price is 75 bucks, and the fuel economy is around 12kmpl. Similarly diesel is 46 bucks and the fuel economy is around 15kmpl (maybe more though). With this assumption, for a distance of 50000kms we need about 4167 litres of petrol and 3333 litres of diesel. The cost of this fuel is respectively Rs.312525 and Rs.153333 for 50000km of usage. Add these values to the base prices of the vehicle mentioned above and we get a cost of Rs.1112525, and Rs.1133333.

Let us take service costs for petrol to be Rs.1000 for first service, 3000 for second, 5000 for third and 7000 for fourth and 10000 for fifth. So the total here is 26000 bucks. Consider the same for diesel to be Rs.1500, 5000, 10000, 12000 and 15000 and we have a figure of 42000 bucks.

Add this again to previously computed values and we have Rs.1138525 Rs.1175333 for a petrol and diesel vehicle over about 50000km of driving.

If you were to drive about 15000km every year, you will need 3 years to manage this distance. However if you are even more conservative then perhaps 5 years to complete the same distance.

So for the first 50000km the diesel vehicle is atmost about 40000 rupees more expensive to own! Now what then differentiates the diesel from the petrol vehicle is not fuel price, service cost or features – but just the engine characteristics – not even mileage as the arithmetic is more or less close.
source:The math of owning cars – diesel or petrol ? « the Bengaluru blog

[shock]
I saw a blog. Hope this doesnt add to the confusion .

A petrol sedan costs on the road in Bangalore, about 8.5 lacs. While a diesel version about 9.8 lacs.

Let us take service costs for petrol to be Rs.1000 for first service, 3000 for second, 5000 for third and 7000 for fourth and 10000 for fifth. So the total here is 26000 bucks. Consider the same for diesel to be Rs.1500, 5000, 10000, 12000 and 15000 and we have a figure of 42000 bucks.
source:The math of owning cars – diesel or petrol ? « the Bengaluru blog
I am not able to imagine the name of the sedan with such type of price and ASS costs.

i know cost are always three times what its mentioned but its value taken to understand not related to real world . diesel maintenance will always be more compare to petrol atleast after seeing my relatives

I bought the dezire LDI today . No tension of running costs . I Plan to kep car for 10 years . Have taken 3rd and 4th year additional warranty

Congratulations Vaibhav. 10 years a lot of time and I hope you stick to words do not feel the reason to change after 4th year onwards (general trend)
Our last car is 16 yrs old and still we will use along with new car.
Yaar my salary is below 5 lacs cant afford new cars in 4 years.

My new dezire will surely serve 10 years atleast unless i win a jackpot [cheers]

Swift Petrol vs Diesel Calculation

I am just trying to see which is better for 900 KM usage per month. Considering the recent news about diesel de-regularization not sure which is better

I'm considering petrol price as Rs.80 (including couple of expected hikes) and diesel price as Rs.60

Swift ZXI Swift ZDI
Cost 680000 800000
Downpayment 120000 120000
Remaining 560000 680000
EMI 12460 15130
Usage Per Month
(Kms) 900 900
Mileage 12 15
Fuel Cons (Litre) 75 60
Cost 6000 3600
Total Monthly
Expenditure 18460 18730

(Sorry I could not paste spreadsheet cells directly)

But I could not find any cost difference between ZXI and ZDI. I'm not sure if my calculation is correct

Could anyone please provide your inputs?

great work shailinder your excel sheet is very helpful. you did a fantastic job. [clap]

Hi Shailendra, Agree with most of your calculations. Two things that I found weird were:

1. Why is the difference between the petrol and diesel versions of Fabia added to the Extra EMI? I need to add principal to interest and not to EMI right? So for an additional OTR of 1.5 L for the diesel, I end up paying 2200 * 60 * 1.5 = 1.98 L. If that is the case, I save Rs 1 L over 5 years if I buy the diesel variant.

2. Diesel cars are always costlier to maintain than petrol. So given this running, I will easily lose 50-60 K of what I have saved above thus saving only 30-40 K eventually.

Let me know if I am missing something here.