Tata Sumo Gold GX - An Ownership Review

Thread Starter #46
Thanks for posting pictures.Amruteshwar temple sounds very interesting.It must be about 1000 years old.My guess is based on my detailed study of Indian encient temples. .
I found the Amruteshwar Temple to be very well maintained and untouched. The carvings were beautiful. There was no local guide. I don't think it is maintained by ASI. No background information for an average passer-by like me. The temple surrounded by the Ratangad hills and the backwaters of Lake Arthur is surreal. The source ("ugam") of Pravara river is just below the Shivling.

I am pleasantly surprised that your Gold is giving average of 17kms/lit on highway.I am keen to buy Sumo Gold but afraid of small niggles.Looking for a Japanese option within my budget that is to say less than Rs 10 lacks. Or may be eventually end up with the GOLD !I will further follow this thread and study your experience.
I am surprised too - on the 17 Km/l # on highways. To be honest it is a guess, based on readings on the odometer and the fuel guage. I have never consumed 65 litres of diesel on a single highway trip - for that I would have to go from Pune to Bangalore or Pune to Nagpur & back. I can tell you though, that this is not a gas guzzler - for sure.

And finally, I am only at 2500 kms so far. Let's see how this beast grows up.

twinstar sorry for stealing your thread..i was searching a thread to write my exp with sumo gold gx last week end..the trip was from home town neyveli to ooty..let me start here..there were nearly 10 people in the trip we took two cars..tata sumo gold gx cr4( 2012 model without rear ac) and another was Toyota etios..the passengers was split up into 6 on gold and 4 on etios..I liked to take my safari ex for this trip as the beast has recovered from a repair(read http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...rvice-related-help-needed-tata-safari-ex.html). but my cousing was admant in taking the sumo gold..here is the drive report.

the vechile had amazing pulling power and I can say there is no lag..even better than my safari..with 6 on board..the vehicle was pulling like a mad to 100km..100 kmph comes at around 1800rpm..once you the slot the gears and move on once can realize the 407 engine..it's so toprquey...once we are in NH between salem and avinashi..I decided to push the vehicle and top speed...I was doing at 120@2200 rpm and the etios driven by brother overtook me..i flowered the pedal and the rpm was shouting at 2700-2800 rpm..the speedo was slowly touching 145..i was surprised..i had open roads and so I kept on the pedal..the vehicle hit the top speed of 152 on speedo at 2900-3000 rpm...the speed was more or less accurate as the etios driven my by bro was around 155...it was on neck to neck with the etios..i'm not promoting speeding..just tested the car...

but the story is different is very evident on the ghats..we took the kotagiri ooty road and I never shifted to 1st gear in any of the inclines...it took a very incline near dobabeeta in 2 gear at 2300 with 6 people on board..we took gudalur stretch and here the sumo outshine most vehicle with it's suspension it took bumps and potholes easily...

the vehicle is one year old and has 15000 kms..no squeezes or rattles...okay.

highlights:
acceleration above 130 is not quick...need to give some time so the engine builds pace..
handling is good not the best..talking curves above 45kmph is not the string point..
brakes are the only sour point here...a think abs or better brake system is needed..it's okay..but will leave u dumbstruck under emergency braking conditions..

the ride quality is on par with the suvs/muv in 10lakh range..only bigger potholes unsettle this beast...the vehicle didn't scrape underbelly anywhere during the trip..

even under hard driving...the vehicle returned about 12 kmpl( tank to tank method) and while coming back it was a relaxed driving..driving at 90kmph with ac on 1st blower speed...again tank to tank method..we got a mileage of 16-17...

the ac is okay..but a roof mounted unit is needed...can my cousin fit a roof mounted ac?..he is not happy as tata is offering it now..

I can say this is the best sumo right from the day of it's lauch...anyone who says the sumo is slow, need to drive this car....at the end of trip, I fell in love with the 407...pics are coming soon..i will open a new thread and post pics there..when I get the pics from my cousin

Brilliant decision and great write-up. Congrats for your new Tata Sumo Gold. I driven several times this vehicle and I am happy with it. the only problem I faced is the long play gear liver. But It is a value for money proposition. Happy Miles :)

Hi Twinstar,
Its an amazing review. I'll get my one on tomorrow. I booked blazing red [:D]. Like you I also did couple of test drive of Scorpio, Bolero, Quanto & Duster etc. But none of them impressed me as much as Tata Sumo GOLD.
Personally I also like Tata Safari Storme but its just not fit my budget [frustration]. So happy with Tata Sumo GOLD.
Thanks for your review [clap] which help me to choose Tata Sumo GOLD.

@Tornado Thank you.
Yesterday I got my truck [drive]. Here some pictures I captured in my garage.
Congratulations Sunil for a special SUV .This colour is unique and will never give an image of a taxi!
I have driven Gold for over 2000 kms. I also have driven Fortuner , Safari (not Storme) and Tavera for a long distance. The noticeable point to me is that driving Gold is very enjoyable as compared to the remaining SUVs. May be perhaps because of it's short wheelbase and powerful low end torque. You can have similar experience while driving Nissan Jonga which also have short wheelbase.

@Tornado Thank you.
Yesterday I got my truck [drive]. Here some pictures I captured in my garage.
Congrats Sunil datta for your SUV .

Please kindly start a ownership review of your sumo gold . There are not many review of this SUV around the web .

Review like twinstars and yours will give a perspective to other people on why you guys decided to buy a sumo gold .

Thread Starter #57
Hi Twinstar,
Its an amazing review. I'll get my one on tomorrow. I booked blazing red [:D]. Like you I also did couple of test drive of Scorpio, Bolero, Quanto & Duster etc. But none of them impressed me as much as Tata Sumo GOLD.
Personally I also like Tata Safari Storme but its just not fit my budget [frustration]. So happy with Tata Sumo GOLD.
Thanks for your review [clap] which help me to choose Tata Sumo GOLD.
Congratulations Sunil. I like the color of your truck. It is awesome !! When & where's your first 500 Km+ trip planned ? Do you plan to add any accessories ?

First of all Thank you everybody.[:D]

Before buying TSG (Tata Sumo Gold), I have some requirement in my list i.e. need a spacious big car which can carry people as well as good amount of luggage, should be a diesel car, price need to be under 10 lakh, also maintenance should not be cost much.

First I tried bolero. I always like this car because of its looks and ruggedness, But when I did my TD. I found its driver seats have not enough thigh support and rear bench seat looks good but not so good for people who are taller and inside the car there is not enough space which I looks for. Now I have doubt on long distance travel comfort.:sorry:

Then I tried Scorpio: I Like the car but Its just not suit my budget. And the EX versions have bolero engine. If I buy a Mahindra car than it surely be M-Hawk not DI.

I always love Tata safari for its luxurious and ruggedness, for now it is too expensive for me.

Then I checked Tata Sumo Gold 2013 Refresh model (that's what it called) but confused should I go for it or not. But luckily my wife like it then I read TwinStar's review which boost some confident in me. Did a TD again this time I really like it. Its a different world different feeling you wont get it until you drive it. I'll suggest to all please first drive it and feel it then comment on it. [cheers] A total of four TD I did before buying TSG 2013.

Some of my friend and colleague who never like any TATA car. After driving my truck now they have different view on it.

Till now I drive only 100 km.

@ TwinStar, Thank you. In December 2013, I will do plan a trip to Bangalore-Mumbai-Bangalore.