Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

While I do agree that Japs are more experienced and matured and even agree that even if Indian manufacturers are given that leverage to overprice the cars, they may still not make quality cars like the Japs, I do feel Indian consumers do badmouth or criticize local manufacturers a lot more than they deserve.

Lets take the XUV and Innova for example. XUV is a lot more advanced, has a much more powerful engine, is more refined, equally fuel efficient and has more features. Still the Innova is more expensive than the XUV. And it still sells. Naturally, to be competitive, M&M has to price their XUV below the Innova, which they did. And to do that inspite of all the extra features, they have to cut corners. That is what reflects in the overall quality of the vehicle. Still for that price, they offer us a very good package.

Now coming to Raja's discussion on even if Indians are willing to pay a premium for Indian manufacturers, they still cant make a good car because they lack that experience. Well, I partially believe that and partially dont. I believe that because I have seen one vehicle (Aria) which was priced at a premium but still was not very reliable. On the other hand, I have not seen too many examples of Indian products being offered for a premium to totally disregard the fact that Indians can make quality vehicles, but at a price.

While I do agree that Japs are more experienced and matured and even agree that even if Indian manufacturers are given that leverage to overprice the cars, they may still not make quality cars like the Japs, I do feel Indian consumers do badmouth or criticize local manufacturers a lot more than they deserve
The bolded text in your post is my point .

Rest part are opinions which differ person to person which come sometimes from personal experience or observation or whatever reasons.

Lets take the XUV and Innova for example. XUV is a lot more advanced, has a much more powerful engine, is more refined, equally fuel efficient and has more features. Still the Innova is more expensive than the XUV. And it still sells. Naturally, to be competitive, M&M has to price their XUV below the Innova, which they did. And to do that inspite of all the extra features, they have to cut corners. That is what reflects in the overall quality of the vehicle. Still for that price, they offer us a very good package.
Here you yourself are showing us the process / strategy involved and adopted in making cars by mahindra . I.e load the car with features, but to be competetive cut corners .
which reflect overall quality and which has direct co-relation to overall reliability of the car .

Now coming to Raja's discussion on even if Indians are willing to pay a premium for Indian manufacturers, they still cant make a good car because they lack that experience.
They still can't make " RELIABLE " cars relatively compared to Japanese due to lack of expereince which the Japanese have for years is my point .

There is a difference between not making good cars and not making reliable cars .

The Bentley is a good car but not reliable .

Pls read my multiple posts quoted below in the end regarding this " reliability " part , Because your post is making a altogether different impression about my post which I have not meant or actually said . [:)]

You are free to prove what I said is wrong with regards to reliability .

Well, I partially believe that and partially dont. I believe that because I have seen one vehicle (Aria) which was priced at a premium but still was not very reliable
On the other hand, I have not seen too many examples of Indian products being offered for a premium to totally disregard the fact that Indians can make quality vehicles, but at a price.
Well we have 2 premium and flagship product offering from both tata and mahindra .

one like you said charged premium yet was not reliable and another one is xuv which in your own words cut corners w.r.t to quality to be competitive , which in return not proved to be reliable .

So it actually supports my point which iam trying to explain tornado that indian car makers can't make reliable cars " at this moment " compared relatively to their japnese counter parts because

1) they don't know how to make one in spite of charging premium ( aria)

2) they cut corners w.r.t to quality to be competitive. ( xuv )

And This is what I have been saying exactly .

Can this be changed ? ofcourse it can be ,are both tata and mahindra taking effort ? ,hopefully yes , but then it will take time that is what iam saying since it does not come all of sudden it needs consistent practice of following certain rules which the japnese have been following for years and years which has given them a worldwide reputation of being reliable .

And like you said some bad mouth when it comes to indian brands , the ones who do bad mouth are generally the ones who are irritated because of the above reason . and some remain to be silent . Some belive that inspite of niggles they are getting great features so stay happy .

Below are my quoted posts so you and readers have a idea once again about what exactly iam saying regarding the subject of reliability of Indian and japnese cars .

And also they are quite old in this entire business of making cars relatively compared to tata and mahindra hence have a vast expreince in making cheap , mid level , high level and luxury level cars .

. The point tornado raised was that " tata and mahindra can make equally reliable cars if they charge premiuim like Toyota and Honda " .so my response was specific to that point .

and so my point is even if they charge , that reliability may not come ( at this moment atleast ) .

Saying Reliability will be offered by tata and mahindra if they get same premium like Toyota and Honda can be a expectation a wish but its not a guarantee.

It is a blend of expertise followed consistently for years in the process for making cars which has now become a part of their identity and culture .

Mahindra and tata will reach there eventually maybe very soon but at this moment they are not there . And if some 1 like our member suhas , ask us which SUV to buy xuv or storme it is important to make them very clear about the real picture becuase we don't know if they look for emotional attachment with car like you who is ok with niggles or want peace of mind . ( means no unplanned visits to a,s,s for solving niggles ) .

I personally at this very moment atleast will not buy a Innova over a xuv or storme but then its my personal thinking .

But while suggesting something to someone we need to put the facts were they stand today which in return can help them in making a informed decision , help them set reasonable expectations which will eventually lead them to have a better ownership experience of the car they choose .
Tornado its is not about money here pls understand . It is about the expertise of the very process required to make reliable cars which is there but not yet matured and it comes out of expreince .
All the problems which you have listed happened because the system is not matured yet . ( example if tata and mahindra have tested their cars for lakhs and lakhs of Kms across the length and breadth of India dint they knew brakes make screeching noise or are ineffective and doors of storme rattle because of hinges ? Or they did testing on premium spares and in the end provided poor spare parts ? )
There is a difference in trying to make a reliable car and actually make one ( applies to both tata and mahindra ). The japanse when relatively compared actualy make one and tata and mahindra try to make one .
If tata and mahindra follow this philosophies I do not know ? and even if they follow the Japanese will have a edge since they have been using this practice for many years hence will have a advantage and expreince in implementing them.

The Indian automobile industry is in the same state as the Japanese where in the late 70's and early 80's, they made unreliable cars then. The japenese have atleast 5 decades experience of building cars and hence have reached a state of perfectionist. The indian counterpart is fairly young. hardly 2 decades of experience.

Building technology does take time. For instance, let me give you example of Mahindra

M & M did not have the technical know how to handle such an ambitious product, they devised an entirely new concept among Indian auto companies. Roping in new executives who had worked in the auto industry in western countries, such as Dr. Pawan Goenka and Alan Durante, the company broke the rule that says automakers must design, engineer and test their own vehicles while spending millions of dollars in the process.

The new Mahindra Scorpio SUV had all of its major systems designed directly by suppliers, with the only inputs from Mahindra being design, performance specifications and program cost. The design and engineering of the systems were carried out by suppliers, as well as testing, validation and materials selection. Sourcing and engineering locations were also chosen by suppliers. The parts were later assembled in a Mahindra plant under the Mahindra badge, being a well-known brand in India. Using this method, the company was able to build from scratch a new vehicle with virtually 100 percent supplier involvement from concept to reality, at a cost of Rs 600 crore ($120 million), including improvements to the plant. The project took five years to move from concept to final product. The cost was estimated in 2002 to be Rs 550 crore.

Now this isn't a bad move, but then this way company is relied on suppliers too much.
Tata gave a shot at making diesel engine, and was successful but the engine was somehow crude.

Indian automobile industry is still learning to walk and it is not fair to compare it with Japanese giants, but then i don't see them that far behind. They have caught up in the past few years and with global acquisition made by Indian cos they might just leap forward in years to come.

PS: if i had my way, i would pick up a 1.4 Dicor and give it to mahindra to tune it [;)]

Talking about Aria and Xuv, these are the first major effort to make a technologically advanced car, we can term it as beta version or 1.0. There shall be improvements as they get feedback.

Latest update from a owner

After 4 months and 3800 kms... Following are the issues I had with Storme and I am really sad and angry...

1) Hand Brake failed: Issue happened within the first week itself after purchase. The first issue I faced was the failure of Hand Brake. Once I apply the Hand Brake, it will not take affect and the car will still be rolling. I accidently found the issue when my friend put the car in Handbrake in a slope but the car was still rolling down. Luckily we were still inside the car and applied the foot brake to stop the car. I soon took it to Kulathunkal Motors and they fixed it.
2) Left Indicator completely failed: Left side indicator was not working at all. Kulathunkal Motors replaced the complete kit and it started working fine.
3) Left turning Radius increased: This issue happened last month. When i turn the car in the left direction, the turning radius was very large. Right turning radius was fine. Kulathunkal motors fixed it and they said something was loose in the left wheel.
4) Smoke in the Interior when AC is turned on: When i drive the car and if it is stuck in heavy traffic, smoke will enter the cabin through the AC vent. I showed this to Kulathunkal motors but they where not able to find what the problem is. I still have this problem and its very uncomfortable to drive the car in traffic because of the smoke.
5) Clutch Burned out: Last week i had a very bad issue. The car suddenly stopped moving. We showed it to Kulathunkal and they said that the clutch burned out. Service center checked and told me that clutch had burnt off completely. I can't believe it. They are asking 12K to get it replaced.

I have complained to Tata Motors and waiting for a response. This was just the last of the series of issues I had with the Storme. Car is with the service center now.. I hope I don't have to pay anything.

It is unfortunate to see how the companies have been taking customers for ride after spending hefty amounts.

Couple of weeks ago, there was a Visitor to my neighbors house came in XUV. He was upset at his vehicle and literally cursing in loud voice. I saw him trying to pull the vehicle in to APT and there was heavy burnt smell. I thought of checking with him straight as I was on verge of making my choice. Later on my wife came to learn from her friend that the vehicle was one from initial lots and looks like they have been facing issues right from the day one. Despite M & M continuous efforts they still seems to be facing recurrent issues. I can certainly understand their frustrations.

Let me bring a different perspective not specific to above two incident but problem more in general.

Are our driving skills are really up to handling SUVs? As many of us learn from Petrol cars, is switch between petrol to diesel is that seamless? Any specific tips or observations on Clutch usage, gearshift and brake application so on so forth. Now a days with the level of refinement it is hard to figure out a difference between petrol and diesel engines .
FYI, I started my baby steps with Mahindra old jeeps, then to petrol. There is notable difference when comes to driving these vehicles.

Is the gap between knowing and doing trigger some of these issues?

BTW, companies should not take this as an excuse to release under tested / poor quality vehicles[;)]

maybe true , there are instances of clutch burn on both the storme and the XUV.

it has got to do with using the torque of the car efficiently. going on lower gear when in traffic, avoiding accelerator input at crawling speeds (in higher gears).

this should reduce the overall abuse on the clutch.

new news hence posting it here

Exclusive! Mahindra XUV500 improved | News | Autocar India

Mahindra & Mahindra (M&M) has done a Microsoft with its Mahindra XUV500, which means it has debugged its flagship SUV and brought out the XUV500 version 2.0 or, what M&M likes to call, the ‘zero-defect’ vehicle. So, what’s been done? There are a whole host of subtle improvements to enhance the way the car feels and sort out the issues the original car had.

The braking system, for example, has been completely re-engineered to essentially counter the complaint about noisy brakes. M&M has upgraded the whole brake system with better quality brake pads that improve feel and don't groan when used constantly. The brake booster and ABS have been recalibrated too, in the process. Have these changes worked? A short drive in the latest Mahindra XUV500 revealed that though the brakes now work noiselessly and are quite effective, the top half of the pedal travel still feels spongy and hence, the brakes lack initial bite.

M&M has also worked with clutch supplier Valeo to improve the reliability of the oil seals and improve clutch operation. However, this is one area where M&M still needs to work on as clutch operation is still not as progressive as we would have liked and you have to concentrate to engage the clutch smoothly. Also, the gearshift still feels notchy especially when selecting second gear. Plus, there’s still a fair amount of torque steer under hard acceleration which tugs at the steering wheel. This is hard to eradicate thanks to the unduly high half shaft angles (for better ground clearance) that can’t be lowered without major re-engineering.

What truly impressed us is the improvement in perceived build quality. The latest Mahindra XUV500 feels tauter and much better screwed together. M&M has worked hard on eliminating squeaks and rattles by carefully matching different materials and panels on the dashboard and interior trim. But what has really improved the torsional stiffness of the Mahindra XUV500 is closer spot welds in the body-on-white. Though this has increased cost and a bit of weight, it has resulted in a far stiffer body structure, which is essential in our rough road conditions.

The suspension too feels more pliant thanks to better bushes, which have taken the harsh edge out of the ride. However, the Mahindra XUV500 still lags behind its rivals in terms of overall dynamics
take it as ever improving QC or correction to their underlying pitfalls

Storme LX does not have the following features which the XUV W4 has -
Rear AC vents
Height adjustable driver's seat
Arm rest
Rear wash and wipe
Airbags

The Storme LX has the following over the XUV W4 -
Puddle lamps
Ignition key slot light

Let the W4's pricing be revealed first, to form a fair comparison.

Rear AC vents
Arm rest
Rear wash and wipe
Airbags

Puddle lamps
Ignition key slot light

Let the W4's pricing be revealed first, to form a fair comparison.
Well although you dont get over head AC vents, you do have AC blower at the floor level for second row seats. This does the work pretty well.

Rear AC vents
Arm rest
Rear wash and wipe
Airbags

Puddle lamps
Ignition key slot light
And XUV got front facing 3 rd row seats [:)]

Well although you dont get over head AC vents, you do have AC blower at the floor level for second row seats. This does the work pretty well.
XUV has got AC vents in the third row buddy. Even the top end Storme lacks that but I guess the roof mounted AC vents will provide some relief. But the floor mounted AC vents are useless for the third row occupants.

And XUV got front facing 3 rd row seats [:)]
And that! For whoever feels its important.

That said, the W4 seems to be as equipped as the top end Innova (except alloys), the only difference being that the Innova is about 6 Lacs more expensive.