Tata Safari Storme Review & Pictures

Re: Tata Safari Storme Road Test Review

Who is comparing Storme to Fortuner, in which post? No need to bang your head.
Kindly take the pain of reading the thread, you will find a lot of them. Words like 'overpriced 'T' which can't match the ride of Storme', hehe...there is a lot more which makes that 'overpriced' T still rule its segment.
Storme is being compared with Scorpio and Duster(here I will [frustration]).
What it should be compared with BTW?? Actually there is no real competition for Storme IMHO.

For me XUV have created it's own market and Storme has long way before it can catch up with XUV in terms of sales number. So my request was and also now is that please can we have fruitful debate or pros and cons of Storme. And yes comparison with other cars, no one can avoid it.
+100[clap]

Kindly take the pain of reading the thread, you will find a lot of them. Words like 'overpriced 'T' which can't match the ride of Storme', hehe...there is a lot more which makes that 'overpriced' T still rule its segment.
Just went through the thread, Sorry I found some instances, but I think comparing with Fortuner is uselss.

What it should be compared with BTW?? Actually there is no real competition for Storme IMHO.
+1000. But the price of Storme LX comes near to price of Scorpio SLE, that's the only reason for comparison.

[clap]
I am afraid if it is to be considered as stand alone product. or to be compared to old Safari,but that would be like an own goal in a football match.

Two major thing which categorize a car for a segment is IMO price and performance.

Price is just above Scorpio but Performance tad below.[roll]

Who is comparing Storme to Fortuner, in which post? No need to bang your head. Storme is being compared with Scorpio and Duster(here I will [frustration]). For me XUV have created it's own market and Storme has long way before it can catch up with XUV in terms of sales number. So my request was and also now is that please can we have fruitful debate or pros and cons of Storme. And yes comparison with other cars, no one can avoid it.
+1000

No 1 has compared the big T , only on 1 point it is compared and is the ride quality and storme has a better ride quality then fortuner .

Xover brought fortuner and pajero in this thread only to make a point about disc brakes which are provided in storme and not in pajero and fortuner inspite of being very expensive. He too never compared anything else then this.

Compared to xuv the storme has superb ride quality and powerful presence ( subjective) and a 4x4 option . Other then this xuv has a clear advantage here .

Scorpio well good low end response and a nice free revving engine and everything rest storme outclasses it , ( this is a fact which some members are not ready to accept)

Duster well some people found it a frog and what not are suddenly prasing it . i love the duster for what it offers but find the storme a much better option .

I am afraid if it is to be considered as stand alone product. or to be compared to old Safari,but that would be like an own goal in a football match.
+100..

Two major thing which categorize a car for a segment is IMO price and performance.
That way Storme VX can be compared with XUV and LX with Scorpy. Now XUV kills it any day in performance and VFM scale, yes..Scorpio takes the beating.
BTW, these are introductory prices and I am sure the prices will rise once the car is launched throughout the country.

Price is just above Scorpio but Performance tad below.
Not too much below, but slightly.

Thread Starter #115

Dear All

Firstly my sincere apologies i have been missing since friday out and about - was told 21/12 was apocalyptic so only took a single ticket out, had to figure out how to return back, so took a little while :tongue:

Also a big thanks to Akash and Vibhor - thank you guys for all the help in structuring the writeup!

Many thanks again for your comments, i will attempt to answer all queries, if i miss out anything please be kind enough to remind me

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a very fulfilling year ahead.

@ iron rock

Btw have you given feedback to Tata motors regarding your experience with the storme ?
Not yet Sir, but if they ask i will give the most detailed feedback i can to help them.

@ IR

Now please answer few of my questions:

1. You drove Storme till 140 kmph it seems,how's the handling,stability and body roll at those speeds?

Yes as part of the test review we do try to test some limits (offcourse after adequate preparation) - so yes the Storme was driven to 140 and beyond to its limits. Its stable though i found the steering vibrations which when held tight didnt feel as much , body roll exists especially at hard cornering but for a BOF its fine you cant complain. Just dont compare to the monocoques and you'll be fine.

2. Is Storme composed when someone tries a sudden lane change at 100+ speeds?
As long its not super abrupt its fine, it can comfortably switch lanes well beyond 120, but again do understand the strength of the vehicle and then play with it. For a BOF i wont expect more for this segment.

THE X-OVER
I think by rear he meant the middle-row. Yes, it is a universal issue with the Safari, it was there in TCIC, in 3.0L DICOR, in 2.2vtt DICOR and so sad to hear in Storme too. The lock mechanism of the middle row does'nt work. Infact after driving 2+l kms in my TCIC the seats never used to lock and whenever I braked they just used to drop if none was sitting. Really annoying issue.[frustration]
Yes i meant second row, sorry if i confused -This is where Tata needs to dig its heel deep and address some items. The good part is it shouldnt be too hard for them to fix it. I found 3 Storme's having this issue and a new one not having - so not sure if this has been addressed eventually, let the ownership reviews confirm.

@ IR : good job!! I approve every thing. Now completed 1800KM in my Pune - Rajashtan trip in STORME..no issue at all. no niggles. fuel avg 13.9, 14.4, 14.1 my last 3 refill.
Many Thanks sir, coming from you it means a lot as you have more experience of the Storme than me and you are much better placed for a long term review.

Special thanks for sending me the copy of the 4x4 manual - hope to catch up with you soon in Pune.

Very nice review IR [:)]
And special that's for giving me opportunity to have hand's on this Red safari storme.
Btw, You have not taken any video on that ground ?
Most Welcome Sujit, the turning circle video is from that ground

A Storme like SUV with 4x4 at 10 lakh is no brainer..alas it dint exist.
Bang on! if not 10, atleast under 11 - that would make it juicy for the offroaders!

@S Class, to be perfectly honest with you i did think a comparison with the XUV would be nice and after the Storme drive it would be easy for me to do it - i could be very precise, but having spent 4-5 days with it, I did realise its 'different' thing all together - a direct comparison didnt make sense to me(we can do it for the heck for it) but they have altogether different DNA.

@superbad,jayadev all others, there is nothing much left to answer you queries after the answers from IR here

I would again say something experience it and post something I reiterate it !!

To be very precise here, sorry if I am harsh a bit

@Vipul : drove it but not able to gauge its capabilities properly and have a perticular stand on Storm, may be I blame his age for it, yes it matters very much and also the experience.
@Jayadeve : You need to drive it and come up with something solid, until then, all your posts are just treated as assumptions by me with only playing around with data available with you.
@Superbad : A big sorry to say something about your experience of Storm, it is very clear to me that you are not able to digest the facts and rest is complete vague according to me

Apart from this if you want something very realistic, then please ask Sanjay about Storm and no more debate is required between us !! I suggest one thing, be bit sensible while writing about something and comparing about something which is best in class and superb riding dynamics !! If you still do not understand then I am sorry I do not have anything more to convince you

@superbad,jayadev all others, there is nothing much left to answer you queries after the answers from IR here

I would again say something experience it and post something I reiterate it !!

To be very precise here, sorry if I am harsh a bit

@Vipul : drove it but not able to gauge its capabilities properly and have a perticular stand on Storm, may be I blame his age for it, yes it matters very much and also the experience.
@Jayadeve : You need to drive it and come up with something solid, until then, all your posts are just treated as assumptions by me with only playing around with data available with you.
@Superbad : A big sorry to say something about your experience of Storm, it is very clear to me that you are not able to digest the facts and rest is complete vague according to me
How does driving helps in improving true specifications of the car?
It is sluggish against the rest and dint prove VFM 4x4 suv yet .

Apart from this if you want something very realistic, then please ask Sanjay about Storm and no more debate is required between us !! I suggest one thing, be bit sensible while writing about something and comparing about something which is best in class and superb riding dynamics !! If you still do not understand then I am sorry I do not have anything more to convince you
Thank you .

Oh, boy! Heated debate, eh? Next week the December sales figure will be out and then we will come to know if the car has captured the imagination of the buying public or not.

@ All,

It is a humble request, please keep this thread clean. This thread is supposed to help prospect buyers of storme by keeping them informed about pro's and con's of it. Whereas this has gone to a state where there is only mere personal clash. We had this enough in Storme breaks cover thread & now here!

If ppl want to have storme compared with its competitors - there is already a thread for it "Storme versus competition". We shall have a healthy & extensive comparison there.

Don't put your assumptions / perceptions based on different auto reviews here without experiencing it in the flesh, because each and everyone of us have access to the same online materials and can come up with n number of conclusions ourselves. So you don't have to do it here, by doing so, you don't add any value to the thread or to anyone who reads it.

Please give some space for the current owners of storme (especially) / people who drove it to record their views extensively here, which is the actual intention of this thread.

@Friends and those who doubt if I am able to know the vehicle(I may know it lesser than them, but still I guess I know enough of it). Here is a piece of writing I have picked up from an another thread and this time I'll ask Iron Rock himself to check its authenticity:-(Points on looks can be subjective and hence they can be neglected but on performance, there is nothing subjective but just observations...)

Good bits: Some parts contain direct comparo with the outgoing model(2.2 vtt Dicor) and hence some opinions regarding design etc are subjective.

Design elements, fit, finish and quality:
  • First comes design, new look gave this SUV more character. Pakka SUV look it carries now.
  • A lot of new details and neat touches like Storme engraved on the chrome strip etc give an upmarket look.
  • Addition of projector headlamps is a welcome move.
  • Neat rear and twin exhaust treatment though may not liked by some, but I give it a ..
  • New side profile is something which really looks better and with the addition of new skirts and new pull type door handles, overall the vehicle has got a modern SUVish look(my subjective opinion).
  • Coming to interiors, you will find a better..in fact class leading fit and finish now. everything feels very well put together.
  • Though doors lost those A/C vents, but not they look more upmarket and of course quality feels better too.
  • Rest the wooden finish looks good and new wheel is also a welcome move(at least for me). Rest seating comfort etc was same as before.

Leave the show and let's consider GO:

• First of all the first highlight, the Varicor engine- more refined and smoother than before.
  • New gearbox, feels slick and positive now(from positive, shifting action feels better now). Clutch is also fantastic, light and comfortable.
  • Really better braking, no doubt.
  • New chassis feels more rigid and this is easily felt while giving sudden steering inputs and similarly weight shedding can be easily felt.
  • Though hard to digest, but vehicle feels a bit agile now.
  • New suspension has given it that 'perfect' ride balance, though low speed ride is still slightly bumpy but still there won't be anything wrong in calling it class leading. Same is with NVH, simply fantastic.
  • Handling is also bettered now, with a more responsive but quite neutral steering. Overall impression is on a positive side.
  • Turbo lag is significantly reduced and same is with body roll.
  • Better all round visibility offers ease of driving, low dash also helps here.

Bad bits: (Note: Subjective opinions can vary from person to person)

Design elements:
  • Exterior panel gaps(note: I haven't said interior) feel a bit too big. Close the doors or on the bonnet, wherever they are they are BIG or WIDE. Wide enough that you can even put your finger in between, especially the ones between lower parts of the front and rear doors. Tighter panel gaps would have increased the appeal even more.
  • Either fuel filler cap is out of place or the skirting is, that particular area looks odd(my subjective opinion it is).
  • New alloys are okay but 17 inchers would have done wonders.
  • Coming to interiors, not to say but Tata has missed an opportunity for sure. The dash still looks bland and of course under-equipped too.
  • Though design language is good but still there are a lot of plane-jane parts. It looks more of a workhorse dash instead of a 12 lac SUV's dash.
  • I hope no one will feel bad if I call it a 5 + 2 seater, but not a 7 seater.
  • How can we forget our favorite - single DIN ICE?
  • A/C vents look and feel flimsy and rear ones feel downright cheap. Just like an aftermarket addition(subjective opinion it is).
  • Front seats didn't feel as well contoured as of competition..eh, let me call by name, XUV Five double oh.
  • Severely under equipped car it is, all you get is A/C, power steering, power windows and an ICE(let's forget other small bits). Though if you count then you can add things like arm rests, a clock, tachometer, stalk mounted controls, bluetooth connectivity etc for personal satisfaction.

Leave the show and let's consider GO:
  • The wheel still touches thighs, though it doesn't do while driving but what if you are in a jam or parking?(I have mentioned 'it doesn't touch while driving' there too and here too, so jump on me only if you feel that I wrote 'it always touches').
  • No dead pedal!! First of all the narrow footwell and then dead pedal also omitted!!(Again my subjective opinion)
  • Gearbox is good but gear ratios don't feel as good, there is still hesitation. Not to say, but still it never feels like there are 140 horses and a twist of 32 kgm.
  • Though turbo lag is reduced but still if you compare with other cars then there is still enough of it.
  • The vehicle weighs 2000 kilos and feels too. There is still enough body roll and agility is still not upto the mark, but yes, the vehicle is more agile than before.
  • A sixth gear would have been a welcome addition, slight altering with initial ratios to give a good acceleration and top 3 for cruising would have made me happy at least(subjective opinion).
  • Torque spread still feels shorter, I mean a wider powerband would have been a boon(subjective opinion).

Above lines contain nearly all I have found in Storme and I think many approved it. The only thing I forgot to add in god bits was a 'light clutch, which I have added now.