Tata Safari Storme Review & Pictures

Re: Tata Safari Storme Road Test Review

@ jaydev

1) perfomance - what is wrong with perfomance ? As per the review and many test drives from members all have not uttered a single wrong word about its perfomance . What are your precise expectations ? Please don't come up with 160 BHP and 6 speed auto box because then price will go up and you will crib about it .[:)] beside that it has a ride quality which can put 25 lakhs SUV to shame . Superb n.v.h levels ( class leading according to the review ) and superb engine refinement .
Have a look at 0-100 timing of Aria,same engine,similar chasis,same maker.Amazingly this new one is sluggish of all,may it be scorpio,Xuv and Aria (lol)

2) flexibility - jaydev ask people who have driven the storme and even the review says its nimble to drive in city with best in class turning radius , its a excellent highway cruiser , and a capable off roader what else flexibility you want here ?
A Storme like SUV with 4x4 at 10 lakh is no brainer..alas it dint exist.

3) ergonomics - what is the problem here ? It has extremely comfortable sofa like seats , fantastic driving position , no blind spots superb view of the road ahead too. Here I would seriously suggest you to seat in the storme and then comment . Looking at the pics you just can't comment about ergonomic issues .
You have seen it ,can you let children sit on those funny jump seats ,what purpose do they serve in a million rupee flagship SUV ?

4) equipment list - it lacks all the jaaz and bling I agree and has all the important things one needs , though cruise control and more imp ESP was required and i agree with you here .
Well at least optional slots for an after market upgrade was no brainer again.

And are you seriously comparing a bike with a storme , that bike is not a ordinary bike it is a dirt bike which if iam not mistaken not easily available beside that one needs high level of physical fitness to ride it , and special training too . And 5 people can sit in comfort with ac on and storme will do all that what a dirt bike does inspite of being a 2 tonner .
That ad make no sense to me,it is funny and pathetic. I would rate Ironrocks video where Storme entered a river ,much appealing.

Kindly go through this link and read what one requires to drive a dirt bike , just a small expert

"dirt bike riding is one of the most physically demanding sports in the world ".
Ironic to what one of the proffesional member TSIvipul mentioned a few minutes ago,it looked easy from his advice.

Dirt biking ,SUV and trekking is like Salt ,Mango and Tree. I am no way comparing any of these.(huh)
Be a critic of storme , we need that only then car makers can understand the buyers mind . Subjective points about expectations raised by Manoj were superb , and storme is not a perfect car like any other car but you are going a extra mile in making it look like a useless product which it is definitely not .
Why should we waste our precious time ,Manufacturer itself is least bothered I am afraid or else show us a genuine reason why this goof up after so much of hush hush ?

first people who are calling aria cannot do offroading will be shocked to see video which i will post tommorow.from bangalore trail where i myself was present and drove 4*2 aria to a track which is meant only for safari.

and yes iam not calling aria as suv like what mahindra is doing to quanto.. iam laughing.

its a crossover. the main hinderence is approach departure and ramp breakover angles otherwise ut can do much better than many suvs available in india.

t badge failed to provide carpet like ride quality in fortuner and aria and storme betters innova too.

storme is not ill equipped it has all the basic things not the fancy gadegtry.

Have a look at 0-100 timing of Aria,same engine,similar chasis,same maker.Amazingly this new one is sluggish of all,may it be scorpio,Xuv and Aria (lol)

A Storme like SUV with 4x4 at 10 lakh is no brainer..alas it dint exist.

You have seen it ,can you let children sit on those funny jump seats ,what purpose do they serve in a million rupee flagship SUV ?

Well at least optional slots for an after market upgrade was no brainer again.

That ad make no sense to me,it is funny and pathetic. I would rate Ironrocks video where Storme entered a river ,much appealing.

Ironic to what one of the proffesional member TSIvipul mentioned a few minutes ago,it looked easy from his advice.

Dirt biking ,SUV and trekking is like Salt ,Mango and Tree. I am no way comparing any of these.(huh)

Why should we waste our precious time ,Manufacturer itself is least bothered I am afraid or else show us a genuine reason why this goof up after so much of hush hush ?
Are we really serious here to find 0-100 timings here ? And what purpose is it going to fulfill ?

Iam talking here about normal scenario driving brother and be it bumper to bumber traffic , highways or offroading the storme fulfills all the requirements aptly without breaking a sweat without any problems for a normal Indian driver in supreme comfort .

And what about jump seats ? And the so called 7 seaters SUVs in stormes price bracket can sit people and give no option for luggage . And yes the kids can sit there easily .

I think you are 1 member whose work involves a lot of offraoding , So as per our member vipuls advice which makes you think its quite easy do you think a normal bike can do all the offroading ? I seriously want to know from only you .

About features I agree with you no debate on this tata should have provided a 2 din system no amount of reasoning can be accpeted and also some features which Manoj mentioned .

@ Superbad

The duster was a hibernating frog for you and you debated hard if some 1 called it better option then scorpio. as per your post on duster thread it was cramped too in its rear seats , and now it is suddenly more better then storme that's great [clap].

Guys everyone wait will be over by mid 2013. News from Cardekh.com......
Now this is painful when we think to purchase something and you come to know that there is new version coming with better features, this disappoint you.

@JD, respect your view, but calling the Storme mediocre is going too far imo. Sure, it's a half cooked or rather a confused design, no matter in what all ways fanboys try to justify that. Tata provided all the bells and whistles in the Aria and it still bombed. We feel for them. Now, the failure to provide some accessories / features in the Storme does not overshadow a fact all neutral reviewers have time again emphasized-that Storme is easily among the most well mannered and comfortable big boys in India today.

Why mostly Scorpio owners are tata/storme bashers
I need this answer so that I can continue on this thread

When I was out to buy my ride.
After comparing Scorpio/storme rides .I would not have gone for Scorpio even if it was offered for a lakh less.
I was never a tata loyalist.
There are numerous cars in the market.people buy wat suits them the best.

Performance of Storme is mediocre[lol]

Despite being almost 30 kgs heavier and that much taller than Aria 4x2(hence more air drag) it reaches 0-100 in 14.92 seconds,how that's mediocre is beyond me.[frustration]

1.Class reading ride quality.

2.Good ergonomics.

3. Superb braking(based upon every single review).

4. Evolved and matured styling.

5. Amazing space and comfort which none of the SUVs can beat.

6. Very respectable performance for a vehicle that weighs over 2 tonnes(0-100 in 14.9 seconds).

7. Only proper SUV with low range and LSD in its class.

8. Perfect Value for money,especially the LX variant.

Although I respect the views of people who think that Storme is mediocre,but so far personally Storme has not disappointed me at all in any of the parameters.

My only grouse is that top end shoud have had more gizmos for the feel good factor and that's about it.

Will Storme sell like XUV? Perhaps not!!

But will it be the best selling Safari of all time? You can bet on this.[:)]

THE X-OVER

y mostly Scorpio owners are tata/storme bashers
I need this answer so that I can continue on this thread
+100

Tata motors has made a car called safari storme which has fantastic ride quality , superb space , is easy to drive in city , powerful on highways , and a capable offloader but is less in features now any 1 who decides to buy this car or likes to buy this car or talks good about the car are fanboys .

Then what about some who other then watching it in pictures have not even seen the car in real forget driving commenting about storme and calling it medicore and bad called " tata bashers or storme bashers " ?

When some of us saw the car in real much before its launch and reported it positives , it was fanboys reporting then when car launched and people reported how refined the storme was those reports were called biased , over hyped reports and now when the official review has come still people are arguying and not accepting that indeed its a refined car , so what does it mean ?

The report from iron rock has also highlighted the downsides and negatives of storme in a blunt way and also says that the storme exceeds expectations in some areas .

And by all means storme is not a perfect car , but not bad as many are trying hard to prove it . Infact its a new product its reliability is yet to be been . If it is niggle free and is reliable even if it sells 500 or 5000 units per month it is good . But even if it sells 10000 units and is full of niggles then its a bad product IMHO .

The ones atleast on this thread who are having problems with storme are ones who have actually not even seen the car in real but are ahead in declaring how flop the car is . Can't get more funny then this .

Friends, It is very clear that Storm is much superior in handling and easy driving front and no other thing can compete in this area except Duster for its seating position. But believe me its very very confident to drive Storm in any road without any fear and have full control of the beast and it is not the story with others either scorpio,XUV(I drove it yesterday for a while),Fortuner there is a scary feeling exists.

About bing-bang features list, then Storm is not the vehicle for you, just forget about it. Storm is for the people who enjoy the real driving who want pleasure while driving who want more space, who want a rich feeling, who want people to turn their heads and see this beast. But absolutely you cant say it as a Safari fan boys choice. I have never owned a Safari and I used to hate TATA vehicles and even today for certain things which every body know and also make it a point that I am not looking to buy Storm in near future.

People are not able to understand Storm who have not seen it and driven it, I humbly request them to see and drive AND people who don't understand it after driving it, then their thinking pattern is not suitable for Storm, as simple as this.

We really do not need to debate on this valuable thread again and again, instead share some new information if you come across about Storm and let the owners and prospective buyers to talk more on storm.

One thing is clear to me the way discussion going on here is , most of the people are not happy(not able to digest) with TATA for launching a vehicle like STORM !! [:)]

Some of us are just sharing our views on Storme, a 2012 -2013 launch from a Global company like Tata.Personally I have much more expectations from our Indian Manufactures and wish them to think ahead of time in this competitive world. Luckily Mahindra seems to be on a right track. If Tata too joins the party who is going to be ultimately benefited? If any member/s thinks it is bashing a particular brand, I can't help it. One can't ask for a reason for critisising a product, if they wish they can join the discussion.I hope every one has space here.

I owned a Tata and owning a Mahindra. I wish my next upgrade too is an Indian as I am an Indian loyalist.
Happy christmas all of you buddies [clap]

CarDekho recently brought you the information on the higher version of the recently launched Tata Safari Storme, which is expected to enter the market in July 2013. Our close sources have further revealed information on the specifications of not just the upgraded Strome, but the AT version of the company’s flagship crossover, Tata Aria as well. As per the information we have, Tata Motors is currently working on the upgraded Safari Storme, which will have some major add-ons both inside and out. While inside the cabin, it will additionally have Harman Kardon music system, 10 speakers along with touch-screen navigation system support, there will be some major changes under the hood as well, helping it become even more powerful and sportier in character than the existing version. The upgraded Safari Storme will carry an even more powerful engine, which will churn out the maximum power output of 160-170bhp and around 400Nm of torque, proving it to be the most powerful vehicle of its segment.
Our sources further disclose that there will also be an automatic version of the Safari Storme by the year end, which will again give it a competitive edge over other competitors, who still offer manual transmission. What will make the Storme Automatic even more desirable is the fact that the 6- speed automatic transmission gearbox is designed by the world renowned ZF Friedrichshafen AG, the specialist automotive engineering company. ZF is the same group that designed world’s first 5-speed, 6-speed and 9-speed automatic transmissions and is offering its services to various major auto companies in the world.
This is what exactly I expect from Tata Storme.
But July 2013? [confused]

From July 2010 i am waiting to book Safari.
That time come to know about safari merlin-Storme. Thanks to TAI.
Now this News.

Now this is painful when we think to purchase something n u come to know that there is new version coming with better features, this disappoint u.
Do i wait to take delivery of advance version of Storme in 2013 diwali?

Do i wait till Sep 2013 to book advance version of Storme?
Boss this are speculations . This are just media reports . And if this upgraded version comes it will be expensive too . If you have no immediate need for a car wait till they come with a upgraded version . and if not go and buy it now .

And +100 to Manoj his advice seems perfect because anyway all the bells and whistles if they come will come in top end version only mostly . So if your budget is 15-17 L wait and see .