Tata Reveals Bolt Hatchback & Zest Compact Sedan (Coverage: Page 10 & 45)

Tata Launches Zest XTA at 8.07 lacs ex-showroom Delhi:
The Tata Zest XTA comes with the features of the XMA and additionally it gets dual airbags, reverse parking sensors and alloy wheels. While the XMA variant comes with a regular ConnectNext Infotainment system from Harman, the XTA variant gets a touchscreen version of the ConnectNext infotainment system. The multimedia system gets additional features like phone controls and voice commands. There are no other changes made to the model. The Tata Zest XTA is priced at Rs. 8.42 lakhs (ex-showroom, Mumbai with octroi), Rs. 8.03 lakhs (ex-showroom, Mumbai without octroi) and Rs. 8.07 lakhs (ex-showroom, Delhi).
Source:Tata Zest Gets New XTA Variant Priced At Rs. 8.42 Lakhs | MotorBeam – Indian Car Bike News & Reviews

I agree to your Uncle, Even my uncle has Maruti 800 and i insisted him to sell his car many times. But he is in deeply love with 800. 800 is the epic car and no one can replace it. It has all the memories of my childhood. Will really not like to sell it.

In terms of buying the swift, its a nice car with good design and styling. But here we are talking about good value for money car and i personally feel its Tata Bolt. As along with Good Styling and Design it is loaded with all features and new technology.
I think you should take your uncle for TD of Bolt ask him to drive and feel the difference and then decide[confused]
Keeping your advice in mind, we went to check out the Swift today. The VXi costs 5.93 lac, which includes extended warranty and MGA worth 3000/-. There was only exchange bonus worth 10000/- available on the petrol variant. Incidentally received a message today from the Tata Dealer offering an exchange bonus of upto Rs 65000/- on the Bolt, talked to my uncle and hopefully someone from the Dealership will be coming to value his Maruti 800 tomorrow. The only feature Swift VXi has above Bolt XMS is the electric folding mirrors, but safety features in the Bolt makes it a very sensible preposition.

Tata Motors today reported 10.69 per cent increase in total sales at 44,225 units in February, as against 39,951 units in the same month last year.
Domestic sales of Tata commercial and passenger vehicles grew by 14.15 per cent at 40,314 units as compared to 35,315 units in February 2014, Tata Motors said in a BSE filing.
Sales of passenger vehicles in the domestic market in February stood at 13,767 units, up 21.56 per cent from 11,325 units in February 2014.
“The trend of growth in passenger vehicles continued with the strong Zest sales and good response to the all-new Bolt,” the company said.
In the commercial vehicles segment, domestic sales were at 26,547 units during the month, the company said.
Exports during the month stood at 3,911 units, down 15.63 per cent as against 4,636 units in the year-ago month.
This is the status of Tata Motors growth in February 2015. It is up by 10.69% MOM driven by strong Zest sales!

Still no official press release from TML[confused]

BTW, as per ndtv auto SVP, Bolt Sport will be launched soon with those body kit as an OEM product itself. No mod jobs will be done at dealership. And there was no mention of a performance brand. It will be like a new variant..!![:)]

CNB @ Geneva Motor Show 2015 - Auto

Hi Folks,

Just came across one for more Review for Bolt Diesel. Mumbai - Lonavla - Mumbai Long Trip by Motor Zest.

Few Highlights
1. "We made Mumbai-Lonavla-Mumbai long trip in this Bolt cruising on the Mumbai-Pune Expressway at speed of 130 kmph, fairly loaded, and even managed to touch 145 kmph at one point. The car feels very stable at high speeds and is aided by the ePAS which tightens the steering.
Throughout our 450 kms odd test ride, the Bolt diesel managed to return a mileage of 15.4 kmpl. Remember we tested it while pushing the car to the limits. With a more sober driving style one can easily achieve 18-20kmpl on highway. In city traffic you could get anywhere between 14-16 kmpl."
2. The engine does make noise at higher rpms but the cabin is fairly damped to reduce the noise levels inside.
3.The turbo lag isn’t that grossly evident and the Bolt does manages to zip through bumper-to-bumper traffic with ease.

Motorzest - Tata Bolt Diesel 1.3L Quadrajet Exhaustive Review | 450 Kms Of City & Highway Test | MotorZest

Tata Bolt B+ Segment Hatchback Already Selling at Hefty Discounts - A flawed strategy

The Bolt is simply not moving off showroom shelves as quickly as Tata Motors would want it to, and desperate measures are in order. One such measure is the hefty discount that has now been officially announced by the automaker itself. This discount is at odds with Tata Motors’ strategy of pricing the Bolt at par with the Swift.
In the case of the Bolt though, the price strategy has resulted in the opposite effect, with many buyers choosing to opt for the larger Zest, and some even shifting towards other B+ segment hatchbacks. In such circumstances, Tata Motors has taken to discounting the Bolt, in a bid to boost sales, and increase differentiation between the hatchback and its compact sedan sibling
Tata Bolt B+ Segment Hatchback Already Selling at Hefty Discounts - The Inside Story | Cartoq - Honest Car Advice

Just curious to know if any of you have booked/purchased TATA BOLT till now? It has been launched around Jan-2015.
Two of my friends had pre booked it, but one changed to Zest and another one brought New Polo 1.5. They were disappointed by prices more then anything else. I don't think the Bolt has anything special to justify its price. Rivals are better. Tata should have provided All New Body, this one looks too much like Vista which I am tired of seeing as cab and private car on roads. This deserved to be a failure. Zest is way better at 30-40k additional money.

Don't you think you are little rude here! I mean, may be Polo may beat Bolt in driving dynamics and engine, but still better at interior quality and space(I would run behind the car rather than sitting in the rear seat of Polo!). Club that with low maintenance and easy spare availability!

Yes, TATA overpriced Bolt with due to over confidence! But now they realized it and they already started reducing price and pouring discounts & offers.

I will buy Bolt over Polo anyday, due to the interior space, ABS+EBD, Mean looking DRL, Awesome HK HU with 8 speakers!

Just compare Polo with Bolt and price difference of Top End diesel is ~1.1L(Chennai OTR price). I get it, Polo is European and Thud and what not, but Bolt is no sloucher. Handling has been improved beyond our expectations and higspeed manners is inspiring.

Don't you think you are little rude here! I mean, may be Polo may beat Bolt in driving dynamics and engine, but still better at interior quality and space(I would run behind the car rather than sitting in the rear seat of Polo!). Club that with low maintenance and easy spare availability!

Yes, TATA overpriced Bolt with due to over confidence! But now they realized it and they already started reducing price and pouring discounts & offers.

I will buy Bolt over Polo anyday, due to the interior space, ABS+EBD, Mean looking DRL, Awesome HK HU with 8 speakers!

Just compare Polo with Bolt and price difference of Top End diesel is ~1.1L(Chennai OTR price). I get it, Polo is European and Thud and what not, but Bolt is no sloucher. Handling has been improved beyond our expectations and higspeed manners is inspiring.
Was Vista a bad design when launched years before? No!!! It had good engine & the best possible space for a hatch, and was decently loaded. It failed because it was Tata product (people mentality) & taxi image of Indica that it inherited.
Similar is the case with Bolt. Sure its a good vehicle than lot of competitors, but again its a modified Vista platform and it still looks like a Vista [frustration]

Nishant is correct, any prospective Bolt customer who will visit showroom is likely to go with Zest as it will cost merely 30-40k, and additionally he will get a sedan (though sub 4 meters)[;)]

Don't you think you are little rude here! I mean, may be Polo may beat Bolt in driving dynamics and engine, but still better at interior quality and space(I would run behind the car rather than sitting in the rear seat of Polo!).
Yes, Polo beats Bolt when it comes to dynamics & performance. But Polo's interior quality inferior to Bolt is something new to me. For me it's just that Bolt quality levels are better then other Tata's and not significantly better to be the segment benchmark.

Club that with low maintenance and easy spare availability!
This is something the owners will have to comment, but having seen past incidence, its 1:1 for Tata & VW.

Offers are there, but there isn't cash discount or price reduction, its just free insurance, exchange bonus, etc which doesn't play with the amount you put to buy. In simple words, You pay Ex-Showroom price which will not be discounted/reduced unless cash discount is provided(which isn't the case with the Bolt here). So you are practically saving nothing, to get that exchange bonus of 25k you have to sell you're car which costs in lakhs. The offers on Bolt are nothing to write home about, unless price cut happens.

I will buy Bolt over Polo anyday, due to the interior space, ABS EBD, Mean looking DRL, Awesome HK HU with 8 speakers!
When you consider just equipment list to buy a car it would be unfair, that's what I feel. Just features won't be enough, overall product must be good in many ways. Then only you'll feel it worth the money you have invested. If you want interior space, instead of Bolt you can buy the Vista at a cheaper price. And if you're looking at features, you can buy the Zest instead of Bolt which doesn't make as much sense as Vista or the Zest.

Yes Polo is more expensive because its a Foreign Brand and it'll definitely have less localization compared to Tata. Even if the Bolt is cheaper it could have been developed as an All New Product instead of making it "New Wine in Old Bottle".

@nishant5858

The point is(was), just don't give statements like

I don't think the Bolt has anything special to justify its price
Polo may have superior dashboard, superior paint job etc, but it is still a hatchback. TATA has come leaps and bounds with Zest/Bolt. Just because it is TATA product doesn't mean they should price it cheaper! That is what I was trying to imply! I understand Zest/Bolt share same platform and pricing is on higher side, but eventually TATA realize it and will reduce the price soon! According to me, a 30-50k(ex-showroom) reduction in price will be a good deal and both Zest/Bolt will have their customers.

I understand Zest/Bolt share same platform and pricing is on higher side, but eventually TATA realize it and will reduce the price soon! According to me, a 30-50k(ex-showroom) reduction in price will be a good deal and both Zest/Bolt will have their customers.
No offence buddy, but once flop always flop, at least in India [;)]